We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend a night or two” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Melia Ponce

Save Saved
You added Hotel Melia Ponce to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Melia Ponce
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Calle Cristina | P.O. Box 1431, Ponce 00733, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Mocha & Panorama
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Ponce
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a night or two”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel because I needed a place to stay that was close to the town plaza. The hotel has furniture that seems between the 50s and 60s and my sister and I loved it. The rooms are small, but very clean, and serve the purpose for a traveler to get out and explore the area.
The only down part about it, and reason for four stars, is that they said they had wifi and after many explanations, they told me they only had service at the lobby. A simple yes or no might have been good, but I guess some people get really worked up over Nonessential things like wifi and they tried to explain to me everything. Will book it again if I have to stay in Ponce.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    85
    40
    19
    8
See reviews for
39
81
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location but the room is like a Motel 6. They charge $10 extra for a cooler and it took about 5 hrs and reminding them four times that we were still waiting for it as we had food that needed to be chilled. I was charged $137 for one night. I didn't hate it but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmeliamgmt, Owner at Hotel Melia Ponce, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We sincerely apologize that it took so long to get you a refrigerator. We were extremely busy during your stay and short of refrigerators, however, that is no excuse. Because of this situation, we bought more refrigerators today (January 8, 2013). Thank you for your input. It is very helpful to us in order to provide our guests the best customer service possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Ponce was a surprising town for us during our December trip to Puerto Rico. You will find art deco buildings all around the central plaza, and Hotel Melia is a leading example of the architectural design. Really wonderful staff here and the only reason I didn't give them 5 circles are the outdated (but very clean) rooms.

Pluses:
+ Hotel staff were some of the best anywhere - and we travel all around the world, so this does not come lightly. The front desk hosts were welcoming, provided recommendations of places to visit in town with personal insights to each, and had good dinner ideas on the dreaded Monday night when everything seems closed in Ponce. Maids, parking attendants, and breakfast waiter/waitresses always greeted you with a smile and asked if everything was ok.
+ The gorgeous art deco facade, hallways and sitting areas - really a beautiful building
+ Great rooftop view of the city and the mountains. A perfect place to start your day with breakfast.
+ Right on the central plaza, so easy to walk to many great places. Plaza was decorated beautifully for Christmas

Minuses:
- Rooms were very outdated. They are clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were a bit better than the sleeping area. They were doing renovations when we were there, so I suspect that some of the rooms will be updated soon.

Other:
= Breakfast was a little better than other places we had been previously in Puerto Rico. Bagels, donuts, cereal, fruit, yogurt, coffee, and juice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmeliamgmt, Owner at Hotel Melia Ponce, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Our newly renovated rooms in our historic 1915 section will be completed in 3 to 4 weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We pulled in for one night during our road trip around Puerto Rico and was able to get a room right away for $120/night w/ tax that also included continental breakfast. The hotel was right on the Plaza Delicias at the center of town, easy to get to from the highway, and has cheap, secure parking next door for $3/night. Staying on the plaza was great because there's usually something going on especially during the weekends. We stayed on a Sun. night and there was a large outdoor festival with live salsa bands.

We chose this place based on Lonely Planet's description and it was right- the lobby is polished and beautiful, the rooms not as much but still very pleasant, spacious, and clean, and the bathroom was modern with nice tiles, plumbing fixtures, and hair dryer. There's also a beautiful roof deck/garden with a screened dining area on the 4th floor where breakfast is served. The continental breakfast was ok: coffee, juice, cold cereal, and some pastries.

The best experience of our stay was the staff. I wish I had gotten the young concierge's name, but he greeted us every time we came and went, and gave a restaurant recommendation for dinner that turned out to be great. When we realized we left our phone charger in the previous hotel and asked him for directions to the nearest walmart to find a replacement, we printed out a google map for us and showed us the best way to get there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel is a bit rough-around-the-edges and is showing it's age but the trade-off is an abundance of charm and a superb location. Parking is on-site and in an attached/secure lot for only $3/day. Staff are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was surprisingly good. Ponce is a very interesting city with quite a bit to see and this hotel makes for a great base.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our family of 3 adults stayed at the Hotel Melia for one night during a 3-day jaunt around Puerto Rico. We chose the Hotel Melia because of its convenient location in the center of Ponce, where we wanted to walk around for a few hours during the morning after our stay. They had a private parking lot for their guests (cost was $3 per night) so we didn't have to worry about city parking like we would have if we had stayed outside the city. We found the hotel to be somewhat historic (rather than just another roadside chain hotel) and we liked that aspect. But the room we were given (which may not have been one of their better ones, as we used booking.com to reserve) has seen better days and hasn't been well maintained. Cleanliness was OK and the personal service provided by the desk clerk was excellent. The free continental breakfast was just average -- nothing special. The Hotel Melia served our needs and had a perfect location, but we wish the owners had invested more in maintenance. The one truly amazing thing about our stay at the Melia was what happened as we were returning to our room from breakfast -- we ran into a professional acquaintance from Seattle who was also staying at the Melia for one night and doing a very similar trip around Puerto Rico. We had no idea he and his girlfriend would be there, nor did he expect to run into us. What an amazing small world it is!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I usually do not book rooms in chains and thought the Hotel Melia would be the best choice for Ponce. If given a "do-over", I would have steered clear of this property. The hotel is in need of a lot of TLC, despite the grandeur of the lobby. You will want to skip the free continental breakfast. Check-in staff were quite pleasant and parking is a bargain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Melia Ponce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melia Ponce

Address: 75 Calle Cristina | P.O. Box 1431, Ponce 00733, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melia Ponce 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Melia, a historic landmark surrounded by colorful and picturesque monuments, museums and the social night vibes. Located in the heart of downtown Ponce, walking distance to several touristic and cultural attractions such as: Ponce Art Museum, Serralles Castle Museum, Ponce History Museum, the Fire House Museum and many others. Enclosed in the City are numerous culinary and entertaining destinations that are most popular in the Southern Region. Hotel Melia has a total of 70 rooms, 5' depth swimming pool, 2' depth kiddie pool, 4 conference rooms with capacity for 12-75 persons, 2 venues for special activities with capacity for up to 150 persons, Bistro and Lounge for breakfast, lunch, brunch and tapas & cocktails. We also offer catering, room service, business center & services, parking, free Wi-Fi. Airport Information: From Hotel Melia to: (PSE) Mercedita International Airport, Ponce- 3 miles (8 min.) (SJU) Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, San Juan- 72 miles (1 hr. 18 Min.) (BQN) Rafael Hernandez International Airport, Aguadilla- 70 miles (1 hr. 27 Min.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Melia Ponce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hotel Ponce
Melia Ponce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Melia Ponce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.