We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1150 Caribe Ave., Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Florida City, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The location is right on the beach We stayed . There are also anice swimming pools, a casino, and many oder activities. The breakfast is good (natural juices and fruits). The staff is very helpful . There were a number of families with small children (family places) very security Our room was spacious with an ocean view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    261
    120
    52
    27
See reviews for
231
226
13
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cloquet, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great family friendly atmosphere and lovely beach. Our king room overlooked the ocean and promised to be an enjoyable stay. Had a small refrigerator,but would have appreciated a microwave in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Relaxing and quiet. We knew going there it was the more subdued side of the island. We went for R & R and weren't disappointed. The resort is older but clean. The staff is helpful and friendly. We would definitely go back if we were seeking more R & R. The great thing about Puerto Rico is that most of the island is easily accessible by car. And exploring is a must. Lots to see and do.

Room Tip: Had a patio room which allowed us to sit outside and enjoy a morning coffee, or an afternoon cocktai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here for a portion of our "let's get away from snow" vacation. The location is right on the beach. There are also swimming pools, a casino, and a golf course. The food is wonderful and reasonably priced. The staff is very helpful . There were a number of families with small children, and the children were having a ball! Our room was very clean and quite spacious with an ocean view.

The young lady at the front desk gave us excellent recommendations for things to see in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor away from the rooms that allow pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The resort is a great value when compared to the San Juan area resorts. Ihave stayed here many times, and the quality never varies. The staff is exceptional. Good food and service and the rooms are exceptionally clean. Only downside is a less than sterling swimming beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was a Great property that we enjoyed very much. Easy to get to and wonderful pool area. The food was excellent and the people accommodating. It was a wonderful area to use as a base to explore the island. We were there a week and it was never over crowded. The rooms were very quiet and the view of the ocean was wonderful. Nice walking areas, a good fitness room and business lounge as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We spent a week at the hotel in February. It was our first trip to the southern part of the island. The drive through the mountains from San Juan was very interesting with beautiful scenery. We were very impressed with the hotel. The reviews complaining about the condition of the property are off base. The hotel common areas, pool, and grounds are in very good condition. They are not brand new, but well maintained.

We stayed in the executive tower. The room was very nice, and appeared to be recently renovated. The casino is right in the hotel, but we didn't use it. The executive lounge is closed for renovation, and will probably be closed for several more months. As a diamond VIP member, they gave us free breakfast for me, my wife and son. Periodically the restaurant host would threaten to charge us for my son, but when I said I was a diamond member, they would back off. There is plenty of parking, but they do charge $10 per day.

The Restaurant: We primarily eat breakfast there. It was excellent; though quite expense $20 each if not a diamond member. They had everything (fruit, cereal, omelets, waffles, beads, etc.). The food was great and it was never crowded. The only downside is that some people don’t like buffets. We had burgers at the pool which were good and reasonable price. Outside of that we eat out.

Pool & Grounds: The pool area is also excellent. Plenty of chairs always available (no need to stake out your chair in the morning). There is also a good mix of sun and shade. I like sun and my wife likes shade. The pool is large and never crowded. There are 2 hot tubs, both of which are usually too hot for a tropical climate. One hot tub has annoyingly powerful jets that detract from the experience.

Kids Activities: They have a huge number of activities for kids: Mini golf, basketball, tennis, large size chess, volleyball, etc. You can borrow equipment whenever you want.

Beach: The beach is OK, but not great. Again some of the negative reviews are off base. The beach has grey sand, not beautiful white sand. Right at the surf line there are a few pebbles. Between about 10-20 feet into the water there is seaweed on the bottom. If you go about 20 feet in, the bottom is nice sand. There is enough surf to play around a little, but not big waves. You can walk far on the beach, but they do lock the gate a sundown.

Golf: The golf course is great and very reasonably priced. The course is in good shape and not crowded. It also has beautiful views of the ocean on one side and the mountains on the other.

Room: We had a 2nd floor room at the far end of the executive tower. The room was large and well furnished. It looked recently renovated. My wife didn’t like the tile floor, she prefers carpeting. It is a bit of a walk the lobby & pool area, about 5min. We liked the secluded part of the hotel. On Saturday night there was a big party in pool area, but it was very quiet in our room. The maid service was fine. We had beautiful view from the balcony.

Overall, we had a great and time and would go back.

Room Tip: The executive tower is very good. A little further walk, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Address: 1150 Caribe Ave., Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extensive beachfront resort strategically located minutes from downtown Ponce, with easy access to most business and tourista attractions and landmarks of the South and Southwest Puerto Rico regions, like Castillo Serralles, La Guancha, Guanica Dry Forest, Cabo Rojo and Ponce Museum of Art, Ponce Airport and Sea Port. Amenities include direct beach access, championship golf course, 24/7 full service Casino, fitness center, rooms and suites with balconies and ocean views, and an ample range of meeting and banquet venues with business center support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ponce Golf And Casino Resort
Hilton Ponce Golf Hotel Ponce
Hilton Ponce Hotel
Hilton Ponce Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.