We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Relaxing Time at the Hilton Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1150 Caribe Ave., Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$159 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Norwich, Vermont
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful Relaxing Time at the Hilton Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with an old college friend, who lives in Puerto Rico. She had recommended this hotel in Ponce for its quiet location and fabulous breakfasts. Our room in the Executive Tower had a sea view and a balcony. The beds were blissfully comfortable with good linens and down duvets. The bathroom had a great shower and good toiletries, as well as the usual amenities.

The Hilton Resort has open-style, modern architecture and spectacular gardens lush with tropical vegetation. The poolside scene was particularly attractive and landscaped with comfortable loungers and double beds for sunbathing. The beach just beyond the pool area was long and narrow. Unfortunately, swimming in the ocean was not possible because of dangerous rip-tides.

Breakfasts were included in our special hotel rate for an additional $10.00 per day for the two of us. I heartily recommend finding a rate where breakfast is inclusive, as they include eggs and waffles cooked to order, fresh fruit and juices, cheese, sausages, bacon, good breads, bagels, and Danish pastries. We ate in the outside restaurant for one of our lunches, but watch out for the birds. They are likely to swoop down and steal something from your plate! I also had an excellent venison dinner at La Cava on my last night here.

All in all, a wonderful, relaxing stay at the Hilton Resort!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    302
    129
    64
    29
See reviews for
262
257
16
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

There is much to like about this hotel, however the cons are numerous too. As I neither golf nor care for casinos, the 'resort' aspect of this hotel left much to be desired in the end. The staff was generally lovely and the rooms very nice. If I had been here for a conference and had a great rate I would have been pleased.

But for leisure travellers it was really only average. I think golfers might raise it a star. We were very self sufficient, which is good because the concierge / front desk was never all that helpful.
I loved loved loved my first visit to Puerto Rico and to the island itself I will returm. I was still glad we stayed in Ponce - but not the center of town - for this trip. But if I return to the island I will not come back here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Overall experience was very good! We had a relaxing time at the pool, very clean and well kept. Not the nicest beach we have seen. Beach was small and needs to be raked. We walked down a way and lots of garbage. La Cava restaurant was awesome!!! Food and service was top notch! Sushi restaurant also very good experience!
Rooms were decent and clean. Slept amazing in the king size bed! Air hockey table kept us up a few nights. Should really be shut down at midnight.
Golf course was really nice too.

Room Tip: Stay away from the air hockey table - very loud at 2 AM or they should shut it down at midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pros:The rooms were very spacious. The rooms were updated with everything you need. The price was reasonable. The BBQ dinner was very good. It had plenty of options and all of the food was fresh and delicious($18 per person). There was a small casino in the hotel with a little bit of everything. The first floor room had a nice view of the beach and a nice grassy area for the kids to play. The pool area was very nice. The pool was clean and sufficient. There were kid pools and fountains for kids. The pool bar/grill was a good price and very close.

Cons: This beach was probably the worst I have ever saw (Maybe Athens beach was worse with big rocks everywhere). There was a per day parking charge and a 14% hotel fee(what did the additional charge cover?) The hotels outside appearence is a little run down. The property is also a little run down.

The overall stay was nice. I would not stay here again though. The hotel was just average, the beach was horrible, and the surrounding area had limited attractions.The hotel stay was just so-so not as nice as most resorts. I am glad I saw the area but I have been to much nicer resorts for comparable prices.

Room Tip: The ground level is nice. It is probably not as safe but the resort was safe for the most part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear piasan:
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent stay and that you found our rooms to be spacious and our prices reasonable, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us.

I truly apologize if you were disappointed with the condition of our beaches and for the additional parking charges. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I sincerely apologize if we were not able to deliver this for you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that I will take your comments into consideration to improve our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that next time you are in town; you consider staying with us again.
Jose Caro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I spent Easter weekend at an oceanfront room in the executive tower of the hotel. The room was clean, comfortable, quiet and well appointed, with an ample balcony. The service was excellent, and the food was very good. The hotel was completely full, so we got to truly appreciate how well managed this property really is. We will definitely return whenever we get a chance.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The pool area was pretty , the food was good, drinks were yummy, and the staff was friendly. We had a room that had a view of both the pool and the beach. We also had our own little outside patio which was nice. By the way...the beach was rocky, full of seaweed, and cloudy....not the kind I enjoyed swimming in. Stick to the pool...as long as you don't mind sharing it with a bunch of little kids. There are stray dogs wandering around but don't worry, they won't approach you even if you call them.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with Pool Side. You can walk right outside your back door to the pool (but you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel may not be for everyone, however, if you are looking for a place to totally unwind and just simply relax I would encourage it. It is also a wonderful place for families with children as there are many activities to do. We were at the main pool for a few days and it did get a bit loud with all the kids. It was spring break afterall for many of the families there. We then decided to go to the pool at the Costa Caribe club which is a short shullte away and the peace and tranquility were amazing. The ocean breeze and service was all fine. I thought the food xcellent and the price very fair. Lunchg buffet for $18.00 was a very good value considerig all the different selections available. I also thought the dinner buffet at $29.00 was also a geat value and the food very good. The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. stayed in the Executive room a great balcony and view of the Carribean. The room was spotless and had plenty of space to walk around as well as nice dressers for clothes. Plenty of storage. Slept with the doors open and listened to the crashing waves. This was a vacation where we just wanted to relax and enjoy the climate. pool and beach. All was accomplished. The Casino was also very nice and left with a few $$$ in my pocket. If you are looking for a place with a lot of action and nightlife, this is not it. However, if you seek, good food, relaxing atmosphere then I highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Address: 1150 Caribe Ave., Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extensive beachfront resort strategically located minutes from downtown Ponce, with easy access to most business and tourista attractions and landmarks of the South and Southwest Puerto Rico regions, like Castillo Serralles, La Guancha, Guanica Dry Forest, Cabo Rojo and Ponce Museum of Art, Ponce Airport and Sea Port. Amenities include direct beach access, championship golf course, 24/7 full service Casino, fitness center, rooms and suites with balconies and ocean views, and an ample range of meeting and banquet venues with business center support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ponce Golf And Casino Resort
Hilton Ponce Golf Hotel Ponce
Hilton Ponce Hotel
Hilton Ponce Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.