We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at Ponce Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1150 Caribe Ave., Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night & $100 Credit
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Certificate of Excellence
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Stay at Ponce Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Spent a few nights in the Ponce Hilton just before Xmas. Our family of four enjoyed the breakfast which featured a huge, sumptuous buffet which included eggs made to order, including omelets. The resort had a dance show in the center area on one of the nights we stayed which we enjoyed. The dancers ranged from age 9 to about 28 years old. Very well choreographed.

There is a casino at the hotel, but it is unobtrusive. We enjoyed the 16 hole mini-golf. It was one of the more diffciult mini-golf courses we had ever encountered. The golf course closes early (was it 6pm??) so be sure to ask the hours. There were also bikes, tennis, pool with slide, water area which kids love where the water sprays up from different areas where you stand. It was all so delightful--including the hammocks placed here and there between palm trees offering quiet places to rest. The sandy beach was small, with cushioned chairs nearby.

The room we stayed in had a balcony overlooking the pool. I believe all the rooms have balconies and are beside the pool. The balcony had a small table and two chairs so you could enjoy your coffee and newspaper in the morning. Free wifi was also to be had and a television with lots of channels--both English and Spanish.

You definitely needed a car to get to town. We went every day we were here to King's ice cream which is across the street from the famous firehouse. Try the coconut ice cream--superb. The ice cream is made daily. The store next to Kings has plenty of well priced souvenirs of PR including viejigantes, and dominos. I prefer this store to some of the tourist shops in San Juan.

We stayed in San Juan last year for Xmas, and enjoyed it, but the stay at Ponce was quieter, and the pool area was lots bigger. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    317
    136
    69
    30
See reviews for
288
267
18
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

While in Ponce visiting family, we stayed at the Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort. They have everything. You can rent a bike and ride all over the resort or play putt putt golf, play life size checkers, ladder golf, and volleyball. They even have hopscotch. They will set up a net in the pool if you want to play water volleyball. Sunbathing is awesome on king size beds with pillows and oversized chairs by the pool to sunbathe in. If you're hungry you can just order food while sunbathing. They provide plenty of chairs to sit by the beach on. Caja de Muerto can be seen from the beach and the sunrise over the island is picturesque. They have a casino for the adults to play in and an arcade section for kids to play. If you like to play golf they have a beautiful golf course to try also. This hotel is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Make sure the balcony doors are closed securely or your air condition will not work. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The employess were very helpfull, kind and committed to making our stay very memorable. Very clean and needs more workers to be 100% organized and just overall perfect. Always being acknowledge by workers there, always a good morning, how are you? good evening. Will come back to Resort in 2013. Loved the stay there

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have traveled to Puerto Rico several times, but we usually only stay on the northern/more touristy part of the island. The only reason we chose the Hilton Ponce was because we wanted to spend some time on the southern part of the island this trip. What a surprise! Don't expect it to be the Hilton Waikoloa Village (this is Ponce, not Waikiki), but this is a very nice property. We only booked two nights there, but I really wanted to stay longer. They made us feel very welcomed there. For the first few days of our trip, we stayed at the Wyndham Rio Mar in the Rio Grande area. Even though the Wyndham is in a secluded location east of San Juan, this was over New Year's, so that resort was extremely crowded and always noisy. The Hilton Ponce was the complete opposite. It made for a very peaceful getaway and a way to wind down from all of the commotion at the Wyndham.

We arrived a little early, so our room was not ready, but the front desk was very friendly and efficient. Parking was only $8 a night! I'm used to paying at least $15 a night at other places on the island. They told us to leave our bags at the bell desk and go check out the beach or pool. This was one of the friendliest bell staffs I've ever encountered. The resort has lockers, so you can change into you beach or pool clothes and lock up any belongings. So after we dropped our bags off, we went out to the beach for a little while.

There are two different beach and pool areas available to guests; at the main hotel and at the country club. You can catch a shuttle from the main hotel over to the country club. This is a very nice country club. The beach site and pool is a lot more quiet and laid back (if you're into that kind of thing). Also, it appears to be a very nice golf course over-looking the Caribbean Sea. The pool area at the main hotel were very clean. There is a water slide for the kids, two Jacuzzis, several lounge chairs, and day beds, and they have free pool and beach toys/games available for use. There is also a miniature golf course out there. The pool area and lighting looks really great at night. The El Bohio Sports and Pool Bar had great service and very cheap drink prices. I recommend the Guava Colada! Also, I got laughed at for ordering pizza there instead of getting some type Puerto Rican cuisine, but that was one of the best brick oven pizzas I've ever had.

We booked an Ocean Front room on the 4th floor of the Executive Tower. The room was very clean and had a GREAT view of the ocean. From what I could tell, the rooms in the Executive Tower have a better view, because there are fewer trees between the building and the ocean on that side. They are also quieter. We had a nice bathroom, comfortable bed, refrigerator and the walls seemed to be pretty thick. We didn't hear much noise from other guests. Wi-fi was free for the first full day. I'm not sure if there was a charge after that, but you needed to get a log-in after the initial 24 hours. Guests in this tower are able to use the Executive Lounge from 6:30 AM - 10:30 AM and 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM for computer use, printing boarding passes, breakfast, and evening hors d' oeuvres. Everything is free except for alcoholic beverages. You can choose to eat in there and watch television or take your food out to the patio and watch the ocean while you eat.

The resort had a pretty decent casino. Lots of slot machines, a craps table, black jack, and poker. They even had a Texas Hold Em tournament with a pretty cheap buy-in. For craps players though, I will warn you that the craps table was extra bouncy. Also, depending on what day of the week it is, they have evening entertainment in the lobby area...dj, live band, or karaoke. We didn't use the spa, but I think you have to make a 24 hour advance reservation.

They have a few restaurants and a buffet. We ate at the La Cava restaurant. This restaurant has REALLY nice decor, nice ambiance, good food, and good portions. It was fancier than I expected. I was surprised to see that the entrees actually came with a side included. I ordered the Bacon Wrapped Fillet with Pigeon Pea Risotto and it was less than $30. I enjoyed my meal.

We really only left the resort once and that was to go beach hopping. We drove west for about 45 minutes and went to Boqueròn Bay Beach in Cabo Rojo. This was a nice clean beach with very pretty blue water. Ah the Caribbean Sea...

For the price...I definitely think this place is a great value. You get a lot for what you pay and they don't nickel and time you like other places on the island. Overall, I would feel comfortable just spending an entire trip just at the resort.

Room Tip: The higher floors in the Executive Tower have great views of the ocean and they are quieter than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our second trip to Ponce Hilton, stayed 4 nights and loved it once again. We made a few day trips but most of our time was spent right at the hotel, something that's not typical for the way our family travels but it was so easy and pleasant that we couldn't resist.

They've made some nice changes since our last visit, including the spray park and wading pool, both of which our young daughter loved. We also had a chance to check out the Costa Caribe club and its pool (more iguanas, more sun, fewer people) though we preferred the hotel pool. We had some nice dinners at La Cava and loved the buffet breakfast every morning. We made sure to get the breakfast as part of our room rate, a must since this hotel is not near any other breakfast options.

So where was there room for improvement? A few things. The hot water and water pressure in the room left much to be desired. Hot water was a mere dribble. Maybe because we were on the 4th floor. We didn't mention to the staff so can't *really* complain in our review! The other not so great thing is the rocky beach at the hotel, but we knew this going in. There are plenty of other beach options nearby including Costa Caribe which is a free shuttle ride away. Lastly we weren't as thrilled this year with the service at the poolside grill - staff seemed overworked, inattentive and grumpy. These things aside, it was a great stay.

We're already looking forward to our return in 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during Christmas. OUr rooms were very comfortable,overlooking the beach in the executive tower. The resort was very comfortable and clean. It is far from downtown but great for a quiet vacation in the nature. We did not play golf but most of the guests were carrying their golf gear. The service, maybe due to Christmas was unpredictable. At the pool bar it was not easy to order food because the bartenders tried to ignore the customers. Of the 3 days we stayed there there was only one waiter named Yancy, who did his job above and beyond.The executive lounge was closed during the day after breakfast and during the happy hour we noticed a sign that asked for $5 per alcoholic drinks. It is the first time in a Hilton lounge we saw this. We attended the Christmas special buffet dinner, since most of the restaurants were closed. But the next day we drove downtown for an authentic dinner. If we go back to Puerto Rico we might stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a ground floor room with a patio, it was lovely and very quiet. We were towards the end of the hall and had a view of part of the grounds looking out toward the beach. The beach area at the main hotel is not the greatest, there are rocks in the shallow water which isn't very clear or calm. However, the beach at Costa Caribe is much nicer and the shuttle is readily available. We ate at the pool bar while we were there and had drinks several times, service was adequate though not very friendly. The pool tends to become quite crowded and the hot tubs were far too hot. Again, better to go to Costa Caribe.
Despite those things, our room was always clean (it seemed like they did that every morning right after we departed) and the concierge was helpful, though she seemed very busy and was sometimes hard to catch. The valets and parking attendants were also extremely helpful even though there were some problems with the parking ticket system while we were there.
This is a slightly older resort and about 10 minutes from Ponce Centro but we felt we got a very good price and had no problems exploring the area from there in our rental car.

Room Tip: Loved our room with the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
40.1 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
69.5 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
69.3 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
48.4 mi away
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Casino
48.3 mi away
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Address: 1150 Caribe Ave., Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extensive beachfront resort strategically located minutes from downtown Ponce, with easy access to most business and tourist attractions and landmarks of the South and Southwest Puerto Rico regions, like Castillo Serralles, La Guancha, Guanica Dry Forest, Cabo Rojo and Ponce Museum of Art, Ponce Airport and Sea Port. Amenities include direct beach access, championship golf course, 24/7 full service Casino, fitness center, rooms and suites with balconies and ocean views, and an ample range of meeting and banquet venues with business center support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ponce Golf And Casino Resort
Hilton Ponce Golf Hotel Ponce
Hilton Ponce Hotel
Hilton Ponce Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.