We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Save Saved
You added Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1150 Caribe Ave., Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Rates from $99
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Ponce
buffalo
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during Christmas. OUr rooms were very comfortable,overlooking the beach in the executive tower. The resort was very comfortable and clean. It is far from downtown but great for a quiet vacation in the nature. We did not play golf but most of the guests were carrying their golf gear. The service, maybe due to Christmas was unpredictable. At the pool bar it was not easy to order food because the bartenders tried to ignore the customers. Of the 3 days we stayed there there was only one waiter named Yancy, who did his job above and beyond.The executive lounge was closed during the day after breakfast and during the happy hour we noticed a sign that asked for $5 per alcoholic drinks. It is the first time in a Hilton lounge we saw this. We attended the Christmas special buffet dinner, since most of the restaurants were closed. But the next day we drove downtown for an authentic dinner. If we go back to Puerto Rico we might stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    232
    107
    46
    24
See reviews for
205
204
12
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a ground floor room with a patio, it was lovely and very quiet. We were towards the end of the hall and had a view of part of the grounds looking out toward the beach. The beach area at the main hotel is not the greatest, there are rocks in the shallow water which isn't very clear or calm. However, the beach at Costa Caribe is much nicer and the shuttle is readily available. We ate at the pool bar while we were there and had drinks several times, service was adequate though not very friendly. The pool tends to become quite crowded and the hot tubs were far too hot. Again, better to go to Costa Caribe.
Despite those things, our room was always clean (it seemed like they did that every morning right after we departed) and the concierge was helpful, though she seemed very busy and was sometimes hard to catch. The valets and parking attendants were also extremely helpful even though there were some problems with the parking ticket system while we were there.
This is a slightly older resort and about 10 minutes from Ponce Centro but we felt we got a very good price and had no problems exploring the area from there in our rental car.

Room Tip: Loved our room with the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice, would have really enjoyed our stay here. Was planning on giving it a great Review. Only problem is the hotel caters to a swim team training facility. The hotel is overrun by obnoxious college students who are always yelling and hogging everything. We were unable to use the fitness facilities, the hot tub, a chair in the sun. The hotel claims the kids go to the training facility during the day, but that is not true. They go in shifts, so at any given time there are 70 kids at the beach or the pool hogging the lawn chairs and hollering at each other. They were worse at the buffet. you would think either their parents, the coach or the hotel would teach them to be considerate of other guests. It was not a relaxing grown up vacation, it was like being on spring break in your 40's.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Golf Resort & Casino in Ponce on November 19. Getting to the hotel was easy with directional signs right off the highway. Upon arriving we could see the valet parking at the entrance, so we took a right in parked in the self-parking lot. We walked up to the front desk and waited patiently for someone appear. When a person did, a woman who came in after me jumped to the counter. I wasn't in a hurry so it was fine. Other employees came to the desk but were talking and did not ask to help me (which I found annoying). Than another woman showed up and walked right up to them. This annoyed me even more. After standing there for over 15 minutes, another employee appeared and asked if she could help me. After being given the keys to room 574 in the Executive Tower, we went in search of our room. This is an older hotel with outdoor corridors to rooms. The room was at the far end of the property which made it quite. The room itself was large, clean and nice (although some walls could use a paint touch up). The bathroom was very nice as well. The balcony was long and the view of the ocean was amazing. The hotel has several pools and hot, HOT tubs, and activities for people of all ages; including bicycle rentals. A short walk to the beach from the pools. After sunset we checked out the menus for the restaurants there, but decided to drive into Ponce to find someplace. The hotel wifi was down when we first arrived, but later that night it was on and could be accessed from the room. I would probably like to stay at this hotel again for a longer visit. Although the staff could be a lot more attentive and personable, the property is very nice. Just keep in mind this is older elegance... I imagine this was probably a very ritzy place about 20 years ago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Ponce for 3 out of our 7 days visiting Puerto Rico. From the moment we arrived we had issues with the resort. At the terrace restaurant we waited for 30 minutes to be waited on and finally just got up and gave our order the hostess. When it was time to get the bill, we waited another 20 minutes and then finally went and just handed another waiter our credit card.

While the grounds of the hotel are very nice, the hours of operation are not ideal. At 6pm the beach gates are locked and the cabanas are closed. It made it hard for a suset walk along the beach or enjoying the hammocks at night. I understand wanting to close off the resort from the beach since it is public but 6pm seems very early.

The staff was also medicore at best. Trying to find a concierge to help us book a kayaking trip was probably the most difficult task I faced my entire vacation. There was never anyone at the desk, regardless of the time of day. Finally when she was there she helped other people before me even though I had clearly been standing at the desk first.

Finally, the "executive lounge" was probably the worst one I have ever seen. It had very limited hours, the cocktails you had to pay for and it was closed on the weekends. Also, there was no staff member there to help us book our trip.

I could see this resort being great for a family with kids since it does have a lot of activities for children and has a nice pool. Or for a couple who are in PR to just golf since the golf course is so close. But if you are in Ponce to explore the city and surrounding area, I would not recommend it due to it's remote distance from the rest of the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. I truly apologize that you had to wait a long time to have someone to assist you at our front desk. I also apologize if some of our hours of operation inconvenienced you in any way. I can assure you that your comments have been taken into consideration and we are looking at different alternatives to accommodate our guests’ expectations. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments.
Jose Caro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at Hilton Ponce with my wife and two sons for one week from Dec. 24 through Dec. 30 at the Executive Tower. Our room were on the fifth floor which had a clear view of the ocean front and the access to the Executive Lounge. We woke up every morning listening to the sound of the waves and the touch of the gentle breeze. Overall resort facilities are great including the pool, restaurants and Caribe Golf Resort . The adjacent beach area was not to our expectations due to the murky waters. The hotel staff was polite, very helpful and the housekeeping was to our satisfaction. We enjoyed our stay and will come back again.

Room Tip: Get a high floor in Executive Tower with access to the Executive Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Emphasizing on Convention Center would give a better picture of the place. In the middle of nowhere, bunker style buildings, partly surrounded by the parking, good size, efficient but plain room with gorgoeus view, at least in Executive and West wing. That's the only gorgoeus thing there! Oh! the pool can be very nice if not full of yelling children... If travelling with kids, it could be a reason to choose that hotel. Touring PR, we picked it as a base to visit the area and booked an executive room which gives access to a lounge. I don't remember seing such a boring one! It's opened limited hours only, no newspapers. It became grab & go because they keep the temp so low, it was like entering a fridge plus the service was no good. Specially for bfast, 3 morning out of 5, I had to go ask to clean the tables outside, same for refilling the buffet and it was far from crowded... We had some issues with the room. Checking-in at 3:30, we were told that the room was not ready when Check-in is supposed to be at 3:00. Since I insisted to see the room anyhow, I was showed one, who was ready (?) but declined because it was a communicating one. I was showed a second one, also ready (??) We took it. As I wrote, the ocean view was fantastic but the room itself was just ok. Furniture showing his age, piece of wood missing on a chest, a big white stain on the armchair and same on the bed skirt but disgusting brown color that couldn't be missed when doing the bed... Sheets we slept in the first night where ready to make rags (several little holes) Last drawback: dirty beach. I understand that all beaches are public in PR but it seems to me that at least the part in front of the hotel could be taken care of. Previous review mentionned nice terrasses on ground floor rooms. That's true, but one might want to know that there is a LOT of iguanas around the hotel. We had a nice dinner at LA Cava restaurant but it's one star below if not 2, the excellent Lola of Ponce (Ramada Inn, 3$ valet parking).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet expectations. I was extremely disappointed to read from your review that you had some issues at our resort. I can assure you that our main priority is for our guest to have a clean and comfortable stay with us and we will do everything we need to do to ensure that these issues are corrected. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience and I will keep your review in mind. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Jose Caro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Address: 1150 Caribe Ave., Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extensive beachfront resort strategically located minutes from downtown Ponce, with easy access to most business and tourista attractions and landmarks of the South and Southwest Puerto Rico regions, like Castillo Serralles, La Guancha, Guanica Dry Forest, Cabo Rojo and Ponce Museum of Art, Ponce Airport and Sea Port. Amenities include direct beach access, championship golf course, 24/7 full service Casino, fitness center, rooms and suites with balconies and ocean views, and an ample range of meeting and banquet venues with business center support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ponce Golf And Casino Resort
Hilton Ponce Golf Hotel Ponce
Hilton Ponce Hotel
Hilton Ponce Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.