We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Las Tias nice restaurant(in a 2nd fl)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Tias

Las Tias
46 Calle Isabel, Ponce 00717, Puerto Rico
787-840-4149
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 87 Restaurants in Ponce
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
san juan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Las Tias nice restaurant(in a 2nd fl)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

in the area of the center of Ponce I went long time ago and the food was good but I think they move to another place but in the same area

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    16
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Intimate enchanting place with out of this world food! OMG...Simply the best in Ponce!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you are in Ponce, you can't leave without going to La Casa de las Tias. Make reservations because the place is a small adorable historic house in the the center of town. They open only from Wednesday to Sunday. We went there on a Sunday afternoon to celebrate my mom in-law's birthday.

Great service, enchanting atmosphere plus the best food ever! Plus they keep a copy of Sarah Ban Breathnach book Simple Abundance close by!

For starters we had some awesome tostones rellenos de morcilla (plantain stuffed with blood sausage) plus 2 asopaos de pollo (chicken and rice stew) followed by an out of this world shrimp and salmon risotto. My husband had the churrasco (skirt steak) with mushrooms au Cabernet, rice and beans. It was cooked to perfection!

Leave room for heavenly dessert! I had Bienmesabe, I can't describe all the flavors in there, but it's like a coconut pound cake with caramel on top. My in law and husband each had a guanabana mousse. It was gone so fast I couldn't even try it. So that's my excuse for coming back to my new favorite place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto rico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Ponce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Ive had the opportunity to try several restaurants in Ponce, i must say this is the best one. Great food, nice ambience. Only negative it is quite small. Recommend it highly!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

You must try the Lamb Chops. The quickest service we had the entire trip. Great decor. They make a dumpling that taste just like elephant ears. Really good!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Puerto Rican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

La Veradera is only open Wednesday - Sunday from 5 to 9, so reservations are highly recommended. It is small and very intimate. The menu is limitted to tapas, salads, 2 pasta dishes and 2 risotto dishes. Emphasis is on local ingredients used in "gourmet" Puerto Rican style. Everything we had was delicious. The service was a little haphazard, but still pleasant and polite. Would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a tasty, charming and unique dining experience while in Ponce.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Tias also viewed

Ponce, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Las Tias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Tias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.