We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a good time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sands Villas

Save Saved
You added Golden Sands Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Sands Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   201 Dorado Del Mar Boulevard, Dorado 00646, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Rochester, NY
1 review
“Had a good time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

My wife, 1 yr old daughter, and myself arrived at Golden Sands Villas with the idea that we were not going to be happy because of the reviews. When we arrived in our room we immediately had a maintainence issue. I called the front desk and within 5 minutes a technician was on scene and ready to work. Unfortunately the problem could not be resolved quickly. Without hesitation they immediately moved us to another room, and helped with our luggage. The view was beautiful and the room was exactly what we paid for. We will definitely return.

  • Liked — View of the Ocean from room balcony.
  • Disliked — Typical hotel room smell
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    23
    20
    7
See reviews for
27
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san juan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We were a group of 4 adults and a kid that decided to look for a cool place to go for the weekend. We got there late Friday and did not got the room we paid for ( we got a studio for 2 and we were 4 adults and a 2 year old baby). I asked if they were sure that was our room and they said yes. We stayed there until saturday morning and went to the front desk to ask again. Then they noticed they gave us the wrong room (we paid for a 4 people suite) and after an hour, gave us the right room. NO apologies, NO I am sorry, NOTHING!... When I went to do the check out (very very bothered because the 4 adult suite had only 1 king bed and a NOT COMFORTABLE futton that I had sleep on with my boyfriend (there should have been 2 beds there!!) they didn't wanted to at least pay the difference in prices between the 2 rooms. They just wanted to give us a free lunch (that we had to ask for) and tried to blame it on the webpage we booked the hotel (it is NOT the web pages fault they gave us the wrong room!!!!!!). AWful service, mediocre rooms. Not going back again!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

my husband and i went to doado, pr. for our honeymoon,we had a great time, no thanks to the golden sands villas. we originally booked a suit at the embassy suits, the hotel conected to the golden sands. we booked, and paid in full for our trip in jan., we arrived on july 4th. i called two days early with my conformation number to make sure there would be no problems getting in our room on the 4th. we arrived at the embassy suits after a 9 hr flight only to find they had over booked, and we no longer had a room. WE HAD ALREADY PAID FOR THE ROOM! embassy sent us over to the golden sands and gave us an upgrade on our suit. everything was going great, we were happy at this time. the new room was very nice. we moved all of our stuff in and went down the road to a store to get a few things we needed for the next day. when we arrived back at the hotel, not even an hour later, OUR ROOM HAD BEEN GIVEN TO ANOTHER FAMILY WITH OUR STUFF INSIDE!! we had to ask this family if we could come in and get our stuff out. lucky for us this other family was very nice and didnt give us any problems. we went down to the front desk to see what had happened and nobody seemed to care that we were now roomless again a 9pm. we went over to embassy suits to complain to them as well. they were very nice and said they would do everything possible to find out what was going on and to get us another room. embassy bought us dinner and a few drinks while we waited for a room. we finally got a crappy room, not what we had paid for at 11:30pm. it was the worst experience we have ever had! dont get me wrong PR is great but the GOLDEN SANDS VILLAS SUCKS!! AND SO DOES THE PARKING

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

We spent the past week at Golden Sands Villas. I'll start out with the good stuff. The staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. The pool area is large with lots of good lounging in the sun or shade. The views from each of our rooms on opposite sides were beautiful. Here we go with the not so good stuff: Parking costs $7.50 per day and there is no parking available. So you have to double park your car and give your keys to the valet. The Valet is just a little small booth on the left side of the potholed, run down entrance to the skinny parking area. You give him your keys, tell him what your car looks like and walk away. Anyone could come behind you and say - "that's my car" - and that person would get your keys and away they'd go. Yes, they give you a hand scribbled ticket, but you don't need it to get your keys. So much for security. Our rooms costs $169 per night before taxes. The ONLY amenity was ONE day of free coffee packs for our little in-room coffee maker. After that each packet was $1.50 each. The kitchenette is a tiny sized refrigerator (ours did not cool adequately and our 1/2 gallon of milk soured before 5 days were up), a microwave and a little sink. There were no face clothes in the room, and when we asked for them we were told that they didn't have any. Later that day, someone else did have some and got them for us. In order to get a beach towel, you have to present a little blue card that charges the towel to your room if it is not returned by 10:00 at night. Sometimes the attendant requires the card, sometimes not, depends upon who is there and whether or not they feel like filling out the charge form. There are HUGE potholes (really overgrown manholes) that will tear up your car if you hit them. The east side of the island is much more modern and developed. We found Durado and the roads to Arecibo and an historical Indian site to be narrow and poorly maintained. Forget about finding anything quickly as there are no street signs and directions are extremely difficult to follow. The trip to Fajardo to Bio Bay and snorkeling were magnificent. Overall on a scale of 1-10, I'd give the hotel a 3. Not very impressive at all. Everything in PR is overpriced. The only things well worth the money are the beaches ($3 per car), the rain forest (El Yungue), don't miss the visitors center - very nice!, and the snorkeling excursions and BioBay.

  • Liked — Travelocity
  • Disliked — Lack of amenities & services
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

We booked a holiday get-a-away on short notice. The San Juan area hotels were booked solid. The Golden Sands Villas are adjacent to the Embassy Suites hotel in Dorado, and share their amenities. We had a 2 bedroom condo, which was very spacious and comfortable. The only problem was the beach. Ocean access is blocked by a huge stone bulkhead. The "beach" is man-made, with shallow water and no waves. My teen boys were disappointed.

The pool area is very nice, the ocean views are great and the beach would be wonderful for families with small children. Just be aware that, if you want to swim in the ocean, you won't be able to do it here!

  • Liked — Very spacious
  • Disliked — No ocean beach
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

This place is very difficult to find. I am really good about finding things but this place is a tuffy...

Once there the parking was few and far between. The room was below average and needs to be redone. the beds were comfortable for a one night stay. If I would have gone here as my destination resort...I would have been really disappointed.

Best thing about this place is the people that work there were all very nice and helpful. That is a big plus for us.

The hotel had a weird odor too. Couldn't put my finger on it but like I said, for a single night it was ok. More that one night? Not good.

I do think that Puerto Rico itself is like that. Just not clean anywhere...

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Lack of Value
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

This resort was pictured and appeared connected to Embassy Suites. The only thing connected was the pool (which was the best area of the complex.) Upon arriving, we were directed to a small lobby to check in. I couldn't believe I was in the right place! After negotiating our way into an over-crowded parking lot, we made it inside. Upon entering our room, we found a dirty, torn sofa sleeper, stained, well-worn carpeting, flat cushions on chairs, peeling contact paper on cupboard doors, no water running from the hot water faucet in the kitchen, watered-down dishwashing liquid, rusted grates in the refrigerator, non-operational draperies w/o sheers, thread-bare sheets, filthy windows, missing light bulbs, mold on the ceiling...get the picture? Although they were responsive to all our many requests, we've never needed to request so much. I have never experienced such unfriendly, unwelcoming front desk personnel. They didn't have a concierge and only on the last day did we see an attempt at an activity sheet. Don't be fooled; this isn't the Embassy Suites.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Sands Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Villas

Address: 201 Dorado Del Mar Boulevard, Dorado 00646, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sands Villas 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Golden Sands Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Villas Hotel Dorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sands Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.