We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not worth the price! Needs to be refurbished...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sands Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden Sands Villas to your Saves list
Golden Sands Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   201 Dorado Del Mar Boulevard, Dorado 00646, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Simi Valley, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“OK but not worth the price! Needs to be refurbished...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

This place is very difficult to find. I am really good about finding things but this place is a tuffy...

Once there the parking was few and far between. The room was below average and needs to be redone. the beds were comfortable for a one night stay. If I would have gone here as my destination resort...I would have been really disappointed.

Best thing about this place is the people that work there were all very nice and helpful. That is a big plus for us.

The hotel had a weird odor too. Couldn't put my finger on it but like I said, for a single night it was ok. More that one night? Not good.

I do think that Puerto Rico itself is like that. Just not clean anywhere...

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Lack of Value
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    23
    19
    7
See reviews for
27
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

This resort was pictured and appeared connected to Embassy Suites. The only thing connected was the pool (which was the best area of the complex.) Upon arriving, we were directed to a small lobby to check in. I couldn't believe I was in the right place! After negotiating our way into an over-crowded parking lot, we made it inside. Upon entering our room, we found a dirty, torn sofa sleeper, stained, well-worn carpeting, flat cushions on chairs, peeling contact paper on cupboard doors, no water running from the hot water faucet in the kitchen, watered-down dishwashing liquid, rusted grates in the refrigerator, non-operational draperies w/o sheers, thread-bare sheets, filthy windows, missing light bulbs, mold on the ceiling...get the picture? Although they were responsive to all our many requests, we've never needed to request so much. I have never experienced such unfriendly, unwelcoming front desk personnel. They didn't have a concierge and only on the last day did we see an attempt at an activity sheet. Don't be fooled; this isn't the Embassy Suites.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

I stayed here for a golf weekend with 2 other friends. Room was basic but clean with limited amenities. No information on hotel facilities were found in the room, so had to call the front desk to get info, but many times, the call was not answered.

There was a private beach, but most of the seabed was covered with seaweed, and the sand on the beach was not that nice. Good for sunbathing but not swimming. There was a Jacuzzi by the pool, which we enjoyed after playing golf, but the bar closed early, so we needed to go out for food and drinks.

There was a business center in the Embassy Suites with free internet and printer, which was very handy for searching local attractions, printing out maps, and doing online check-in for our return flight.

Walgreens and a local supermarket was located at the entrance of the resort, along with numerous fast food outlets, so we were able to buy all the food and drinks we needed.

Dorado Del Mar Golf Club is located within walking distance from the hotel. Very nice landscaping, but conditions were not great when we played.

Overall, a decent place to stay for budget conscious families, but nothing more.

  • Liked — Proximity to Golf Courses
  • Disliked — Beach
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2008

My husband and I have been to several areas of Puerto Rico, but had never been to the Dorado area. Our college age children were home (Boston) for winter break and part of their Christmas present was this trip. They just wanted to veg out so I wasn't too concerned with keeping them entertained every minute, as long as there was a beach and workout area, they were fine. I always try to find a condo or villa or something that has adequate sleeping space and a kitchen. The Golden Sands Villas aren't exactly "villas", they are more like apartments. We booked a 2 bedroom for six nights right after Christmas and over New Years. The accomodations were exactly as depicted on the website, and we were pleasantly surprised to have a beautiful view of the beach and pool area. There were a couple of housekeeping issues early on, and I was shocked at the amazing response time of the staff. Actually, everyone we dealt with was courteous, helpful and (unusual for the Caribbean) quick! We had fruit in the room for breakfast, ate at the beach grill (good food, reasonable prices especially for a resort area) for most lunches, but traveled offsite for dinner. The area does seem to be in a state of flux as more than one of the restaurants I found using search engines didn't exist anymore.

Every afternoon the hotel staff had some form of entertainment near the pool area, usually a bingo game that the younger kids seemed to like. Up until New Years, there was also some music or entertainment in the same area until around 10 pm.

As the other reviewers have mentioned, the Golden Sands is a timeshare arm of the Embassy Suites, but the transition is seamless. We were able to use the gym (small but adequate) simply by going to the Embassy Suites front desk and asking for a key which we kept for the duration. The beach was not the best if you are looking for waves, but I loved the fact that they had plenty of chaise loungers and beach staff to lug them where ever you wanted to set up........unlike Atlantis in the Bahamas, where you had to assign someone to run down at 8 am and put towels and books on chairs or lose out for the day. We actually tipped the beach guy, he was so accomodating.

We booked on Expedia and saved $60 per night on the room, so I would recommend doing some research as the prices can really vary. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The accomodations for the price during Christmas vacation week.
  • Disliked — The beach was protected by jetties, making it a little too calm for us.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

I stayed at the Golden Sands for approximately 1 week in August of 2007. I am familiar with the San Juan/Guaynabo/Dorado area and had originally tried to stay in one of the "super hotels" in the resort area of San Juan. However, they were all booked due to a national convention.
The Golden Sands was a pleasant surprise as I was familiar with the Embassy Suites at Dorado. Basically, both Aquarious and Golden Sands are the time share arms of the Embassy facilities and are very reasonable. I had a gigantic room which was quite clean and very comfortable. Even had a corner suite that looked out over the ocean and the pool..very nice!
The other reviewer is correct that the Golden Sands shares the property and amenities. Overall, about 95% of the construction was complete and no major amenities were impacted by the little that was left to complete.
I had a very nice experience and recommend the hotel to anyone, especially families, looking to get out of the "Vida Loca" in San Juan!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

My fiance and I had planned on going for a quick getaway last weekend from New York City. We were planning on staying at the Embassy Suites in Dorado (we previously stayed in the Hyatt Dorado Beach, but that has since closed only to be converted into timeshares in the future). But due to the bad weather, we had to postpone the trip by two days. When we tried to rebook, the Embassy Suites was full. We saw that there was a cheaper alternative - the Golden Sands Villas in Dorado, but we knew nothing about it. We were skeptical because we hadn't seen any reviews on Expedia or TripAdvisor. In the end, we decided to just go for it, and we booked our stay.

When we pulled up to the Golden Sands Villas, we were pleasantly surprised that it was connected to the Embassy Suites! It turns out that this is the timeshare version of the Embassy. We had the same access to the Embassy's facilities (the pool, hot tub, gym, beach, restaurants, etc.) but paid less. The only things that we discovered that were not included were tennis (Embassy Suites gives its guests 1 free hour) and breakfast (it would have cost us $14.95 had we opted for the breakfast - we did not).

From March to June 2007, they are renovating the common areas, so don't be afraid when you see that it's not as nice as you would have liked. Hopefully, it will be a lot nicer when it's done. The room itself was fine - we had a lovely ocean view and there was enough space for two people to be comfortable. There was a small refrigerator (not a mini bar) and a microwave.

The staff was nice and helpful. They checked us in at 4am and were extremely pleasant and chatty. They always helped us out when we had any questions. Also, the pool bar was very friendly. They forgot our drinks once, but made up for it by giving us free lunch and drinks, when it would have cost us around $35.

If you decide to opt for the Golden Sands Villas option, here is a word of advice - go through the gates of the Embassy, drive all the way down the path, past the golf course. You will pass all of these gated communities (like Villas de Golf Este and Villas de Golf Oeste). Drive up to the Embassy, go straight towards the self parking until you get to another gate. Take your ticket, make a right, and park your car. The Golden Sands Villas entrance is the brightly lit entranceway.

Restaurant recommendations: We really liked Villa Dorado de Alberto's (try the shrimp stuffed with cheese!) and Rancho Mar (a good seafood place). If you are looking for breakfast, there is Villa Magna, which serves pastries, breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sands Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Villas

Address: 201 Dorado Del Mar Boulevard, Dorado 00646, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sands Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Golden Sands Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Villas Hotel Dorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sands Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.