We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No idea that this resort would exceed my high expectations...but it did!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Save Saved
You added Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Dorado Beach Drive, Dorado 00646-2000, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Dorado
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“No idea that this resort would exceed my high expectations...but it did!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I spent the past long Columbus weekend with my family (kids 7 and 9) and another family with kids 9 and 10. We also met a few other great families. We had been to Dorado over President's weekend so the kids were so excited to come back. I was a bit anxious to see how the property matured since it first opened. No other word than "wow!" The hotel looked amazing as all the landscaping was plush and grown. The service was crisp, polished, not too obtrusive and what beachfront luxury should be like. My wife (who has traveled the world and is a big spa person) said the spa and massage were the best she has ever experienced. Our biggest fights were whether we would eat at Encanto, Positivo, Mi Casa or barlovento so we went to them all and loved them all. The kids had Foosball tournaments in the Mi Casa lounge with their friends and other families while we savored the luxury called Jose Andres' food and drink. Breakfast on the terrace was breathtaking as the kids made us get the recipes for the waffles and pancakes (it says made with olive oil and amazing). But what really did it for me was the smiles on all of our kids faces as they hustled between surf and windsurf lessons, night swimming at the pools, the unbelievable waterpark and the private zumba class that was organized for them. My friend noted that he would normally travel 15-20 hours to experience what he did at Dorado Beach and he is right. Thank you Dorado Beach - for me and my kids!

Room Tip: I read that many like the rooms by the West Beach but we found our East Beach room much more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    35
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
63
107
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Upon arrival al this gorgeous property you feel like a movie star. You get a special welcome at valet parking addressed by your name and then an Ambassador meets you, shows the property and takes you to your room. The villas overlooking the ocean and with a private plunge pool are just spectacular. We spend two nights, three days and would have loved to stay the whole week. So relaxing!!
Food is good but expensive. Service was outstanding.

Room Tip: Make sure to reserve a ground floor room as they offer the plunge pool. A must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Beautiful grounds
Nice new rooms but absolutely nothing special except outdoor shower-some easily visible from outside. Indoor shower with no enclosure like a cheap European hotel ensuring a wet floor in entire bathroom.
Lots of pious environmental rhetoric
We were there for multiple days and never saw a single solitary staff member at beach or pool. Help yourself to towels.
"Ambassador"staff is a farce. Only contact a 30 second phone message.
Staff generally very pleasant if you can find any.
Resort practically empty but unable to be flexible with rooms.
Exorbitant prices PLUS $100 "resort fee ". FOR WHAT? Never told about it what it covers and what it allegedly entitles you to.
If this place survives at these prices the recession is really over.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We took a room by the sand beach on the ground floor with plunge pool. Allows you to really shut off. Far enough away from bar area at night for quiet. Outdoor showers wonderful.
Room and beach stunning. Staff still a bit awkward, hope they can iron this out.
Spa was out of this world.
Food by pool could have had a few more lighter options, was a bit heavy and greasy for the hot climate.
Will be returning

Room Tip: Plunge pool, ask for the sandy bit of beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the El Conquistador for 2 nights then we went hear for 2 nights. You can say there is a difference in two. One is Waldorf property, supposedly the top in Hilton's family and the other in Marriotts. A huge difference! This place is gorgeous! the only negative was the dinner one night at Mi Casa, it was not anywhere close to being the world class restaurant it's suppose to be. Really Expensive and ehh. We arrived there and our butler- ambassador showed us to our room, they were unbelievable and each room the windows/doors slide away into the walls for an unbelievable view of the water! There was plenty of seating outside and inside. The Bathroom was the nicest bigget you can imagine! double sinks clawfoot bathtub shower, toilet room and outside shower! The food was costly as was the hotel. The other nite we had dinner at Encanto which was fantastic! The beach was okay, but the pool was great as were the drinks. A great place to stay during the expensive season if you have an extra $15000 minmum for a week. We stayed the rate was only 699 per night! What a deal?

Room Tip: Any room, the top floor has better views, but the bottom floor has the plung pools,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at a condominium home at Plantation 3 (vacationing with friends, no children). It was within walking distance of the fitness club, water park and golf club, everything else was accessible by provided golf carts.
Don't miss the Fitness club, Spa Botanico, Water Park (only open on Saturday and Sunday during September - be sure to check on dates the park is open) and saline pool near the ocean cove. A man made reef breaks all large waves for pleasant swimming in the cove. Water sports available: kite surfing, paddle boarding, jet skis, kayaking . . .
This property has to be experienced. It is impossible to convey through words the beauty that will surround you at every turn. The level of service (concierge) was spotty at times, but we chose to relax and enjoy and not get uptight about the small stuff.
Without question, I would return.

Room Tip: Loved staying at the Plantation - we had a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom penthouse with daily housekeeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just returned from a 3 day week-end vacation.. We LOVED this place, the hotel was not even half full, there were maybe 15 other people there when we were. It was quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. All of the reviews that we read here, on tripadvisor, were completely 100% accurate & they really helped to aid in our decision to stay at Dorado Ritz.

When walking around the hotel , there was almost complete silence which we loved. I think every time we walked to the beach we would comment to one another on how quiet it was--making it super relaxing.

FOOD
The food was really not that good. We ate breakfast and dinner. We had the eggs benedict and the cuban eggs, both plates were ok. We had for dinner, the gambas the Jamón ibérico de bellota ‘Fermín’ with tomato bread, and the black risotto. THe risotto was salty

BEACH
The beach was definitely pristine they have a very l nice to lounge,

GOLF
Very nice golf course. Greens and fairways were outstanding.

SPA
This is one of best spa I ever used.

I would give this hotel an A+, but they need to work in the food area.

Room Tip: get a room in the first floor, they have a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Address: 100 Dorado Beach Drive, Dorado 00646-2000, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve will usher in a new level of luxury travel. This intimate resort retreat will be the first of its kind in the Americas, with its secluded location, intimate accommodations, exclusive amenities, and private butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.