We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plunge pool heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve to your Saves list
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Dorado Beach Drive, Dorado 00646-2000, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Plunge pool heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We took a room by the sand beach on the ground floor with plunge pool. Allows you to really shut off. Far enough away from bar area at night for quiet. Outdoor showers wonderful.
Room and beach stunning. Staff still a bit awkward, hope they can iron this out.
Spa was out of this world.
Food by pool could have had a few more lighter options, was a bit heavy and greasy for the hot climate.
Will be returning

Room Tip: Plunge pool, ask for the sandy bit of beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    51
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
87
156
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dix Hills, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the El Conquistador for 2 nights then we went hear for 2 nights. You can say there is a difference in two. One is Waldorf property, supposedly the top in Hilton's family and the other in Marriotts. A huge difference! This place is gorgeous! the only negative was the dinner one night at Mi Casa, it was not anywhere close to being the world class restaurant it's suppose to be. Really Expensive and ehh. We arrived there and our butler- ambassador showed us to our room, they were unbelievable and each room the windows/doors slide away into the walls for an unbelievable view of the water! There was plenty of seating outside and inside. The Bathroom was the nicest bigget you can imagine! double sinks clawfoot bathtub shower, toilet room and outside shower! The food was costly as was the hotel. The other nite we had dinner at Encanto which was fantastic! The beach was okay, but the pool was great as were the drinks. A great place to stay during the expensive season if you have an extra $15000 minmum for a week. We stayed the rate was only 699 per night! What a deal?

Room Tip: Any room, the top floor has better views, but the bottom floor has the plung pools,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at a condominium home at Plantation 3 (vacationing with friends, no children). It was within walking distance of the fitness club, water park and golf club, everything else was accessible by provided golf carts.
Don't miss the Fitness club, Spa Botanico, Water Park (only open on Saturday and Sunday during September - be sure to check on dates the park is open) and saline pool near the ocean cove. A man made reef breaks all large waves for pleasant swimming in the cove. Water sports available: kite surfing, paddle boarding, jet skis, kayaking . . .
This property has to be experienced. It is impossible to convey through words the beauty that will surround you at every turn. The level of service (concierge) was spotty at times, but we chose to relax and enjoy and not get uptight about the small stuff.
Without question, I would return.

Room Tip: Loved staying at the Plantation - we had a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom penthouse with daily housekeeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just returned from a 3 day week-end vacation.. We LOVED this place, the hotel was not even half full, there were maybe 15 other people there when we were. It was quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. All of the reviews that we read here, on tripadvisor, were completely 100% accurate & they really helped to aid in our decision to stay at Dorado Ritz.

When walking around the hotel , there was almost complete silence which we loved. I think every time we walked to the beach we would comment to one another on how quiet it was--making it super relaxing.

FOOD
The food was really not that good. We ate breakfast and dinner. We had the eggs benedict and the cuban eggs, both plates were ok. We had for dinner, the gambas the Jamón ibérico de bellota ‘Fermín’ with tomato bread, and the black risotto. THe risotto was salty

BEACH
The beach was definitely pristine they have a very l nice to lounge,

GOLF
Very nice golf course. Greens and fairways were outstanding.

SPA
This is one of best spa I ever used.

I would give this hotel an A+, but they need to work in the food area.

Room Tip: get a room in the first floor, they have a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ste-adele
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

spent 3 days here for our 10th anniversary. while it is expensive, it is also quite a unique experience, not your average 5* predictable property. we found it to be quite special. I couldn't give it 5* because I felt the location and lack of eating choices were not top top (and at this price, they should be)
Pros:
Service Service Service. The staff is all extremely well trained, and really made our stay over the top. everyone was friendly, helpful, efficient. they acknowledged our special occasion in many different ways, and really went out of their way to make it special for us
Rooms: beautiful, spacious, clean and romantic...outdoor shower, nice 2 person tub, lovely bath amenities, plush towels, soft crisp sheets, interesting art work. really great rooms
Grounds, restaurants, pool: absolutely gorgeous. attention to detail is everywhere here, a very custom look, not like a predictable 5* resort out of a box, but really unique in many ways
Spa: you must go to the spa. it is magical...not just a zen retreat but a creative sanctuary set up to look like an old apothecary. treatments were top notch.
We also loved the bikes. took a ride around the nature trail and really enjoyed. .
Cons;
Restaurant choices and menus therein were limited...though what they did have was great (Mi Casa is a whole experience for dinner...do the tasting menu! it is foodie heaven and very well priced for the quality and quantity of what you get). We were disappointed that there was nothing healthy! after 3 days we could not have eaten another meal here, which is really my main reason for giving 4 stars instead of 5. I mean this is Puerto Rico, not some dinky little island where getting fresh produce is difficult! dont get me wrong, Jose Andres is a celeb chef worth his rep, and the dinner at Mi Casa was very memorable, but we felt the lunch and breakfast choices were uninspired and didn't feel healthy, which i like when i'm in a bathing suit!
Location: the closest town had nothing to offer and if you want to go somewhere to explore the island a bit, it is far (Old San Juan for example was lovely, though a good 30-40 min away), the restaurant they sent us to off property was the golf club restaurant just a few minutes away in a golf cart which served rubber chicken and generally average fare. the beach is just ok for me. not bad, just ok. (but we are very well traveled in the caribbean, so we have seen the best of the best in beaches). oh...concierge happened to be the only staff member who was NOT helpful! We asked if we could ride the bikes to town and he said no, they dont recommend due to traffic and no sidewalks...and then he offered no other suggestions. we asked specifically that we wanted to go explore the island and he just said no. weird that he would not have said, why dont you take a car to old san juan, or whatever. just nothing and he acted uninterested in finding out what we might like to do etc..

so...if you are looking to hole up in a truly 5* resort I say go for it. especially for romance. but if you are a person who likse to go exploring and have a lot of choices, then i'm not sure...this is a place to relax!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I just came back this weekend from a perfect paradise!

I had been in a lot beautiful beaches in the Caribbean, I can say that this one is on my Top 5. The pool was amazing and the service of Positivo was great! MiCasa, we think that they should have a real salad for lunch menu, too gourmet for a tropical lunch. We use the in house transportation for dining outside the property one night, beyond expectations, they're really First Class!

Room - Perfect! The view at the sunset time is idyllic. The bed is perfect and the BEST, the bathroom! I won't write about it, you have to live the experience. My only complaint is the room air conditioning! I think that it has to be more cold at nights.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent 6 days of bliss at the ritz dorado. Our check-in was seamless, we were given a cocktail and quickly taken by golf cart by our ambassador Jimmy for a tour of the property. We had a second floor room near Micasa and the quieter of the 2 pools which we really liked. We were in building 5- glad we were away from the louder pool with all the kids as we left ours at home. Honestly, the room was beyond our expectations and the staff could not have done more to accommodate us. The only thing we'd mention is that being there for 6 nights we would have liked to have a more casual dinner option than the restaurants currently on the property. We are still telling others about this phenomenal place and we look forward to returning one day soon!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Address: 100 Dorado Beach Drive, Dorado 00646-2000, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve will usher in a new level of luxury travel. This intimate resort retreat will be the first of its kind in the Americas, with its secluded location, intimate accommodations, exclusive amenities, and private butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.