We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar to your Saves list
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   301 Hwy 693, Dorado 00646, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Oak Grove, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at this resort at the end of October. It was the slow season, so no crowds to deal with.
We loved that the resort was not in the center of town where you heard a lot of car noise. We were able to hear the sounds of nature. The frogs are quite the symphony along with the ocean. The staff was absolutely terrific. Everyone from front desk to housekeeper was kind, friendly and helpful. The beach was beautiful and kind of a private cove area so no contending with other hotels. Had the use of beach chairs, and towels. Huge pool and wading pool and two jacuzzis all well kept. Rooms were spacious and kitchen supplies were enough for me to cook every night. Loved the fact that we were away from the hustle and bustle and could relax, but close enough to go get groceries in town or head to old san Juan. The front desk had great ideas for getting to old san Juan easier. Head to Catano and catch the ferry. An easy drive. Had a great time. Cannot say enough how nice the people were at the resort. It is a beautiful resort.

Room Tip: Above the fifth floor so you have an unobstructed view of the ocean. All rooms do have an ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    149
    71
    38
    29
See reviews for
141
111
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Once the pride and joy of Dorado, this place used to be the hangout for the wealthy Rockeffeller and Kennedy just to throw two names! Together with sister property, Dorado del Mar, it was an escape to tropical paradise with flamingo gardens and a never ending pool. Fast forward to 2007. Traveled here for one week with a family of six. Nestled on the North shore about 40 minute drive from San Juan, it is a secluded area. The outside of the buildings could use fresh pain, the pool is still open, but not a shade of what it could be.Long gone are the days of the clubs and multiple fine dinning restaurants. Surprisingly, the rooms were clean, staff was friendly and we had a blast. We had a two-bedroom suite facing the ocean. Two separate rooms with their own bathrooms (ours had the jaccuzzi) and a full, well-stocked-kitchen and huge living room in the middle. Throw in two balconies and I had a million dollar view. Not much available at this place. Agree that the store is not much and the one restaurant is just okay. The pool bar is great though!

We came to here to relax and stay away from the hectic Condado and Isla Verde area. And we did that in this unknown piece of heaven. Even the kids enjoyed it so much that they keep asking me when are we going back. If you are looking for the fancy and close to everything this is not the place to go. For the down to earth that are looking for a retreat with friendly service, give it a shot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family and I greatly enjoyed our three days at this resort. We spent most of our time at the beautiful beach and surrounding scenery. The staff was always very helpful and courteous providing good advice on restaurants and activities in the local area. We visit the island almost every year and we certainly plan to return to this resort next year.

Room Tip: For a better View of the beach get a room above the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have stayed at different resorts in Puerto Rico and honestly have to say that this is not worth the amount of money they charge. On top of it all at check out they charge $20.00 resort fee for everyday you are and guess what i was there for 2 whole weeks. I was not happy at all. This was something that was not mentioned when making the reservation nor when checking in. Well to tell you a little about my experience, when i arrived it was about 11pm there was no body at the front desk i had to wait around to see who shows up. After signing papers at check in they give you the key and tell you where your room is located and thats all. No help with luggage, or anyhing else at all. The resort has only one restaurant. well better said a bar. Fior the amount of money they make they should actually have a decent restaurant. They state that they have a market where you could purchase things for your room. Who are they kiddin. This little store doesnt have much for a person to actually want to buy. The playroom "ha ha ha" be ware it will keep your money. Honestly speaking it was not a great experience at all. I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

great location, great service, beautiful scenery. the staff did everything right, amazing room service the complimentary dinner and wine were unforgetable

Room Tip: book early, during the off season
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I have rated this in the past as a five star, but unfortunately it is now a health issue and to be avoided!!!
I am speaking of the pool. There are millions of skin particles and bloody phlegm floating around in it. You can not see it floating on the surface during the day, but if you wear goggles and go under it is so hazy and foggy you can not see two feet in front of you. It didn't used to be like this, but they stopped using the filters, and there is no chlorine in it, so it is a large stagnant pool of skin cells and spit. During the night if you go look at the surface you can see there is hundreds of white particles floating there in a one inch space. I called this to the attention of the guard, she was shocked and called her supervisor. She told me that they would take care of it tomorrow. The next day, they closed the pool at 9pm and two men with a net walked around looking for debris. This was not what I expected, I expected the filters to be turned on, the water checked and chlorine to be added, and it wasn't. Their idea of cleaning the Olympic sized pool was with a net, and there is no way you can remove human body cells with a net!!!
Later that night we watched as a large crab walked out from the sea and walked over to the stairs of the pool and then fed on the human skin cells that were stagnated throughout the water (they do not float on top, but are from top to bottom and all in between, not one inch is free from these particles). The crab walked back and forth eating the particles and when he had his fill, he got out of the pool via the stairs and went back into the ocean, it was as if this was his nightly routine.
During the day since we could not see the nasty white particles throughout the water, we swam in the pool, I did get some water in my mouth and as a result I suffered two weeks straight of diarrhea, I am told that stagnant water has a bacteria that will give you diarrhea and it will last for two weeks, so I am certain I picked it up from the pool. After swimming during the day for only about 30 minutes, we got out because there was a grown man blowing nasal excrement out of his nose into the pool, he was doing this as if it was normal to blow your nose in the pool and not get out and use a tissue. At night, when no one was in the pool, I could see phlegm with blood and some without blood floating around, it was nasty!!!!

There is no way we are ever going back here!! Our next getaway was spent at the Gran Melia in Rio Grande, PR where the filters in the pool where constantly running and the water was clear and clean.

I am going to post pictures of the white particles, keep in mind they go from top to bottom, they are not just on the surface. I wish I had a bottle to take a sample and get it tested.

My advice if you do stay here, is to bring a clear bottle with you, take it over to the pool and fill it with the pool water, then hold it up to the light, then decide if you want to get in the pool.

Room Tip: High level ocean view, from the sixth floor down your view will be obstructed with overgrown palm tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was the last of four hotels that we stayed at while in PR for two weeks, and it was a welcome change of pace! The 1 bedroom suite was a nice size. The kitched area was well equipped and we were very happy to have 2 TV's. It was certainly nice to make our own breakfast and lunch instead of restaurant food! The shower could have used a little bleach, but that was our only complaint. The resort grounds are small, just one pool which was average, there is a playground for kids, and tennis courts. The beach area was very nice. A reef offshore breaks the waves. Some area of the beach have lots of rocks, but it is swimmable. The Dorado area is very nice as well. 2 supermarkets, lots of restaurants, even a Starbucks! One of the more "upscale" areas that we traveled through in PR.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar

Address: 301 Hwy 693, Dorado 00646, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty and charm of Dorado, Puerto Rico in luxury. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar, A Hyatt Residence Club invites you to experience paradise and true serenity at this beachfront resort, located just 25 miles from San Juan and situated on the famed Dorado Beach. Your worries and cares will drift out to sea with the warm tropical breezes as you soak up the sun on our private beach or poolside. Play a round of golf at one of the nearby championship golf courses or rejuvenate with a spa treatment at the Spa Del Sol. Plan a day trip to the El Yunque Rainforest or soar through the skies like an eagle hang gliding. Fun in the sun awaits with nearby water sports including windsurfing, jet skiing, snorkeling, kayaking, catamarans, deep-sea fishing and horseback riding. Visit historic Old San Juan founded in 1591, explore the Camuy Caverns–third largest cave system in the western hemisphere–or take a free tour of the Bacardi Rum Distillery. Let our friendly, professional staff take care of arranging your activities both near and far. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar features spacious studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom beachfront accommodations, some of which include full kitchens and jetted spa tubs. Enjoy on-site amenities like tennis, mini-golf, basketball court, sand volleyball court, game room and a state-of-the-art fitness center featuring LifeFitness equipment, free weights, exercise cycles, and treadmills. Enjoy lunch and your favorite tropical drink at the Blu Bohio Bar and Grill or take it surfside if you wish. At the Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar on Dorado Beach, you'll discover all the fun, sun and excitement that have made Puerto Rico a legendary getaway. Please contact the resort directly to reconfirm your reservations if necessary. This is a non-smoking resort. Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Resort Dorado
Hyatt Dorado
Hyatt Cerromar
Dorado Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.