We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort fee” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar to your Saves list
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   301 Hwy 693, Dorado 00646, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Resort fee”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Overall the hotel was nice and pleasant, the problem arise at the time of the checkout, they charge me "resort fee" 20$ per day , nothing I was aware off. I made the reservation online and all fees and taxes were included. During the check in I was asked for the credit card to cover any possible fees: bar, renting equipment etc.. but nothing about the resort fee! I was using the hotel as the base to visit another places, like the caves, and I did not use any thing at the hotel, even the swimming pool, because of the late time (10PM), in most of the another hyatt hotels the swimming pool is open 24h. Quite disappointing

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    150
    71
    38
    29
See reviews for
141
112
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt like home listening to the coquies. Check in was smooth, no wait and very pleasant employees. Our room was facing the pool and the ocean, it was just soo romantic. Room was equiped with a small kitchenette that didn't take a lot of room just the neccesary. Very nice and comfortable bed and pillows, as well as had a couch, table and desk (it was like a little living room) great piece of furniture with tv in it. Room was great for the 2 of us since that was all we needed (queen bed), ample bathroom. Easy access to parking, stores, restaurants, beaches. I love the Dorado area, quiet neighborhood. Plenty of security. The beach was beautiful, so was the pool area, very nice and quiet. Too bad the old Hyatt was all blocked off and didn't have the best view, i used to visit Hyatt since it was just Cerromar Beach Hotel and the most fun pool in the area. I hope they fix all these that doesn't make it look too appealing to some picky customers. I really didn't mind because it didn't affect my hotel stay but coming from the hospitality industry i know how others can be. There's definitely no nightlife on this property but if you need to go for some just ask the locals or even the hotel employees and they will be happy to assist you. I always love going outside the properties for food since it's a big saving and Dorado is surrounded by outstanding restaurants from authentic cuisine to American fare. Hopefully soon the Ritz-Carlton Dorado Beach will open up and bring more life to the area. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonville, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was traveling with a group of women the last week of May 2012. We rented a house close to this resort and were excited to spend the day having lunch and enjoying the spa. Our research never suggested that we would be denied entry to the property if we were not guests. We had spa appointments booked but when we got to the gate they turned us away. We spent 20 minutes waiting while the security guard called levels of management trying to gain us entry. The management was completely rude and would not allow us to eat lunch or enjoy our spa day we had planned. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. They do not care about the customer. This was the only blemish in an otherwise amazing trip to Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Go to the Greenhouse Cafe for lunch or dinner. The menu is amazing and they have a great wine list...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We found our one bedroom to be spacious and average in terms of its condition. The beach and pool are lovely and the staff was wonderful. Food at the cafe was good. The amenities are misleading, however. The washer and dryer are located in a shared entry and used by two rooms. Our neighbor used the machines continuously and ran them past 1:00 am. Their availability was limited to us and the noise was disruptive. Otherwise, a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Resort and the grounds are beautiful, very clean, quiet, right on the beach. The rooms and the resort could just use some updating. The rooms are nice sized and had a microwave and fridge - very family oriented. Nice sized rooms and they all face the gardens or the ocean. No nightlife at all at the resort itself. You only have to drive 10 minutes to the street where the bars and restaurants are. Love Dorado - pretty, very safe - explore the beaches with the locals on both sides of the Hyatt outside the resort. "Made in Puerto Rico" is a great/fun restaurant. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is a timeshare. I bought it from an owner for 5 days. Really nice apartments with balconies all facing the ocean. Higher floors are better because of palm trees blocking view on lower floors. Completely stocked with all amenities and excellent service by staff. The beach is private (Atlantic) and gorgeous. Water is unbelievably clear. Activities offered (Salsa, Zumba, Movie night). Golf course, tennis. I didn't want to leave!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on higher floor to get best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed at this place a few years back with kids. Since this is a Hyatt Vacation Club Resort we expected a lot, no i mean a lot more than we received. Condition of the hotel, rooms and grounds are in such bad shape, it needs to be completed renovated. Furniture and decor is atleast 20-30 years old. Since the Hyatt Regency Resort next door shutdown, this property has been completely neglected. Folks can find much better resorts in San Juan. If you do decide to exchange at this property, keep your expectations low and you will do fine. One of the biggest drawbacks of staying at this place was that it is 30 mins from Old San Juan, which is where all the fun stuff is. Pool was the only thing which was ok.

Crime is very high in Puerto Rico, which was visible with the Police and Security Companies cars patrolling everywhere especially near the hotel, since it is bordering some bad parts of town.

Room Tip: I would not recomend this place, but even then if you decide to stay, ask to look at rooms before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar

Address: 301 Hwy 693, Dorado 00646, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty and charm of Dorado, Puerto Rico in luxury. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar, A Hyatt Residence Club invites you to experience paradise and true serenity at this beachfront resort, located just 25 miles from San Juan and situated on the famed Dorado Beach. Your worries and cares will drift out to sea with the warm tropical breezes as you soak up the sun on our private beach or poolside. Play a round of golf at one of the nearby championship golf courses or rejuvenate with a spa treatment at the Spa Del Sol. Plan a day trip to the El Yunque Rainforest or soar through the skies like an eagle hang gliding. Fun in the sun awaits with nearby water sports including windsurfing, jet skiing, snorkeling, kayaking, catamarans, deep-sea fishing and horseback riding. Visit historic Old San Juan founded in 1591, explore the Camuy Caverns–third largest cave system in the western hemisphere–or take a free tour of the Bacardi Rum Distillery. Let our friendly, professional staff take care of arranging your activities both near and far. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar features spacious studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom beachfront accommodations, some of which include full kitchens and jetted spa tubs. Enjoy on-site amenities like tennis, mini-golf, basketball court, sand volleyball court, game room and a state-of-the-art fitness center featuring LifeFitness equipment, free weights, exercise cycles, and treadmills. Enjoy lunch and your favorite tropical drink at the Blu Bohio Bar and Grill or take it surfside if you wish. At the Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar on Dorado Beach, you'll discover all the fun, sun and excitement that have made Puerto Rico a legendary getaway. Please contact the resort directly to reconfirm your reservations if necessary. This is a non-smoking resort. Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Resort Dorado
Hyatt Dorado
Hyatt Cerromar
Dorado Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.