We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small with a big heart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Dorado Del Mar Boulevard, Dorado 00646, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates From $139
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Dorado
Yauco, Puerto Rico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small with a big heart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great hotel. Nice rooms and facilities. Superb breakfast and nice bar area. The Casino is very good. It is close to the Dorado, Puerto Rico town with great sea food and nice beaches. Town also has good stores.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    267
    119
    65
    32
See reviews for
322
172
13
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

One of the dirtiest hotels we've ever stayed. Floors were sticky and dirty. My 1 year old walked around without slippers for a few minutes and when she climbed up on our bed, her feet were black & tacky. My sister had an adjoining room and had the same complaint. After maid service, we would return to our room with the radio blasting with Spanish music and air-con on full blast. Returned home after 7 days at the ESuites and had at least 56 tiny bites on my legs, doc examined it and said it was most likely a case of bed bugs, WTF??????

On the flip side, the other reviewers were right, service was good and everyone was really friendly and helpful. Just wished the rooms were CLEAN!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaias R, Manager at Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear iboogy:

Thank you so much for providing us with the feedback of your recent stay at our hotel, first of all I wish to extend my most sincere apologies for the cleanliness issues encountered in your suite, it is completely unacceptable and we will work immediately on correcting these issues, however since I don't have full information of your name or room number I kindly request you contact my email address so that I can also contact our exterminating company and they can perform a detailed inspection of the room and for your tranquility and ours we can determine if in fact the bites you had were bed bugs. My email address is Isaias.Rodriguez@hilton.com

Have a great day!!!
Isaias Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is great ! The service team are locals and have been with the facility 10+ years in many cases. Many of them are related by family lineage and the whole team performs in that manner. The y provide a great made to order breakfast as part of the stay. They also provide a great daily managers cocktail reception. Friday Saturday there is live entertainment in the lobby with dancing if you choose to do so. Both breakfast and cocktails are included in the room rate. They have a small casino, sorry nor craps. The private beach and pools are more than adequate and well maintained. there are several restaurants on the premises quick bar food and 3 nice sit down dinner restaurants Italian, Asian and American. Of course the Dorado golf course is a golfers delight. Great walking trail on the golf course. There are multiple local restuarants and tiendas. Overall great place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel offers comfort and high quality services to their guests. The staff members are excellent service providers and housekeeping does a thorough and efficient job. The main lobby is decorated with tropical plants and fountains that evoke feelings of freshness, comfort and luxury. My congratulations to every single staff member. They are truly amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

When I was deciding on this hotel, the picture shows what looks like a huge resort with hundreds of rooms. It is really not that big because the hotel has 170 rooms, and all the other rooms that are on the side is a time share community that has access to the hotel grounds and breakfast.

Our family stayed at this hotel in mid July and it was not far from the airport and we felt was in a great location as it is only about 30 minutes west of San Juan. From this hotel, we went to Isabella which is in the north west corner of the country(70 miles one way), we also went to Arecibo which was about 30 minutes away that had Outlet Stores(all the brands that you need), and we also explored Dorado where the hotel was.

The front desk staff was efficient, Israel was by far the friendliest and he remembered my name and room number for the 4 days I was here. We did not need the bellman/doorman but they would have been a disappointment because they never greeted you, never opened the door for you, and was more interested to talk with their coworkers or the taxi drivers.

The hot breakfast cooked to your order and the breakfast buffet had an abundance of food daily. I highly recommend to eat between 7am-8am, otherwise it gets super busy after that and is hard to find a seat. Each night, there was popcorn, and free alcoholic drinks for 2 hours.

There are a few restaurants and lounges in the hotel. The design of the hotel is all the rooms look down into the beautiful lobby with plants, and running water. If you are diagonally across from the elevator, you will hear the elevator going up and down until everyone goes to sleep. You have to park in a parking garage that is a bit of a walk, and they also charge $11.00 per day.

If you are coming to this hotel to lay on the beach, you will be disappointed. It is very shalllow, it has sea grass on the bottom in most spots, but some parts are rocky. You can go to the ocean side by walking though a hotel gate, but is very rough.

The concierge desk seemed helpful if you went on the trips that they organize and set up, but if you ask them something that you planned, they appeared to not know what you were talking about; so be prepared before you go.

There is a supermarket about 1 mile away, there is a small town with some restaurants nearby. We ate the Asian restaurant across the street from the Embassy on their grounds, and they were not friendly, the food is overpriced, and the food did not come out for 50 minutes.

Room Tip: away from the elevator, in the middle of each hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Love it and will stay again soon! I stayed with my sister and brother in law; we had fun at the pool, the breaskfast was delicious and the room was very comfy. The only art of my stay that I didn't like was the air conditioning of the room; was not very cool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebourne, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very nice hotel with all the amenities, I would say only downfall would be the beach is a little small and not the cleanest in Puerto Rico. The hotel itself, pool and the breakfast and the rooms were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort

Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Dorado Del Mar Beach & Golf Hotel
Embassy Suites Dorado Del Mar Beach & Golf Hotel Dorado
Embassy Suites Dorado Del Mar Beach And Golf Resort
Puerto Rico Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Dorado
Dorado Embassy Suites
Address: 201 Dorado Del Mar Boulevard, Dorado 00646, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all suite beachfront Resort in Puerto Rico offering a relaxed tropical atmosphere with a three form lagoon pool overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. A perfect setting for families offering a two room suite, a daily complimentary cooked to order breakfast and two hours at our evening reception daily. Recreational facilities include a Fitness center, game room, Laundromat, a new Casino and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Amex, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.