We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Esquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gonzalez Sea Food Restaurant

Gonzalez Sea Food Restaurant
Carr 102 Km 6.6 Bo Guanajibo, Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
787-265-7497
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in Mayaguez
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Esquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants i have ever eaten at. i recommend it to anyone who likes good [sea] food. I wanted to give it six stars but it wouldn't let me.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    42
    13
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I recently visited the restaurant with friends and as always the service was excellent. Was a Saturday about 7:30 pm and as usually was almost full. We had some typical puertorrican appetizers and were good. For the food we had lobster salad, fish filet and stuffed "mofongos" and everybody love it.

I recommend to do reservations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My Birthday dinner vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We found this place when looking for another restaurant. The seafood,plantain soup was delious. So glad my hubby picked it. Efrain our waiter was awesome he made sure to keep us happy. I want to thank him for a excellent job.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Food and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had never eaten before at this long time family runMayaquez resturant despite many trips to this part of the island. We were not disappointed in the food or service. Ate here recent Saturday night and not much of a wait and its much larger inside then it appears from outside and its right along the ocean. We sat inside in the air conditoned portion of dining area. We started out with seafood broth soup given gratis by the restaurant and its was flavorful . We also shared various appetivers but the real winner here was the paella which their known for and worth the extra wait. It easliy feed our party of three . It was chuck full of fresh tasting red snapper, lobster, shrimp etc etc. Its was one of the best paella I ever had and I tried them everywhere. This place has great cocktails and decent wine list to satify any palete. I will definltly return upon my next visit to the motherland. Location is close to hotels and Calle 2 and easy to find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Shame!!! Shame!!! Shame!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Went there because it was recommended. Sadly, it was a very bad one. Bad service, worst food.
Waited 1 hour + to get what I did nor ordered. Sea food was not fresh and tasted very bad. Wait! Almost forgot the rice & burned beans. How they manage to serve bad mariscada and burn beans. Sorry, but I just got the worst.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gonzalez Sea Food Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gonzalez Sea Food Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gonzalez Sea Food Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.