We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, very clean, too much street noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mendez Vigo 70 Este | Mayaguez Plaza / Cathedral, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Mayaguez
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, very clean, too much street noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My GPS got me lost so I had to call hotel for direction. The staff was very patient to guide me to find the hotel. He even waited for me outside the hotel to guide me to the parking lot.

It is right at the downtown of Mayaguez. The high balcony has great view of the surrounding area. The hotel and room is very clean.

I stayed at the 4th floor but the noisy level is too high, being in the downtown. It was around Christmas time. The town center has a music event that lasted past midnight. The music was very loud and poured all the way in. Around 6 AM in the morning, the street noise, mostly from the cars, stopped my sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    60
    41
    17
    12
See reviews for
47
44
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a very nice and cozy hotel. It is small and quiet. I love staying here. It is very convenient as it is in the heart of downtown Mayaguez. The sorrounding balcony on each floor is very nice. I love just standing there while having a cup of coffee. Everytime I go to Mayaguez to visit Mom and Dad, I stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevilla
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with an excellent location. Parking is available at an open lot one block away for $10/day. Breakfast was very poor but, otherwise, we were quite pleased with this hotel as the quality and cleanliness of the room were a notch above what we found elsewhere in Puerto Rico. Another bonus is that Café Ricomini, with its excelent Brazo Gitano, is across the street

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UTUADO
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you are looking for a place in the heart of Mayaguez city, this is the perfect place. It's has a great feeling, the rooms are clean and they have a little place in the lobby area to have something to eat. But they are near the Ricominni (a great bakery & cafeteria) and a couples of good restaurant. A good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez

Address: Calle Mendez Vigo 70 Este | Mayaguez Plaza / Cathedral, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez Hotel Mayaguez
Howard Johnson Mayaguez
Mayaguez Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.