We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bet in Mayaguez” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 Hwy 2, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Mayaguez
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Bet in Mayaguez”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is your best hotel option when visiting Mayaguez with so few options on this side of the island. Its also the in spot with locals on weekends because of the casino. I've stayed here countless times becasue of its easy location off of main road (RT 2 ) , close to town and relative. Its also convenient to mall, resturants and family. Hotel staff is great with directions, questions etc and all speak english if your not bilingual. Rooms are clean but this is an older Holiday Inn trying to maintain its upkeep. Hotel restarant is ok but really should expand its menu dinner time. Breakfast and lunch are fine. There is also a pool that is clean and well maintained. Located in front of residential area and highway so nothing is within walking distance but close. Its also close to nearby beaches of Rincon and Joyuda. Newly built sports staduim is few miles away too. I would recommend this hotel !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    38
    36
    7
    9
See reviews for
27
33
6
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, IN
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here for four nights while working at a site about 10 minutes away. So the location was great. However, this hotel like others in PR suffers from AC units that are window mounted and designed to cool at maximum heat. When humidity is high and heat is moderate, the room turns into either cool and damp or warm and muggy. After years of this, something begins to grow in the AC unit, and we get a musty odor in the room especially at night. Carpets probably seemed like a good idea when they decided to put them in, but the fibrous nature is a fairly good growing media for mold. The room was quiet, clean (except for odorous carpets and some bits of black mold on the wall), good shower, fairly comfortable bed. The dining area was cold to keep humidity low I suspect. Except for location I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed on 4th floor. Perhaps a room on higher floors would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear compost4all,

thank you for your feedback. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stay for a night, we weren't expecting much. But for our surprise the hotel staff is extremely friendly and proactive.

Fast check in, followup call to the room.

Great room and very clean. The pool area is clean and spacious. But they could update the pool.

Overall great Hotel for your Money

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

stayed 3 Nights using points. Was given Free breakfast due to my platinum status really appreated this. Nearby beach in Anasco and Rincon are beautiful. Did not use the pool area but it seemed clean. If youre looking for a hotel in a West coast I would recommend it and if youre a priority club they will assure that you have a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed with my family at the end of the Constitution of Puerto Rico weekend. The first thing that surprised me was that hotel stay stuck to some houses of residents living near the street. Parking is confusing, but the people who work in the valet parking was very friendly, as are the people of the nearby houses. Very typical Puerto Rican, on which is a polite host.

As soon as we received, the staff was friendly, but I was not focused on some of the amenities that supposed to have the package. But Ruben, the manager did everything possible to:
1. Locate my whole family on one floor
2. Extended check-out times for the inconvenience happened

Breakfast: whole buffet. They had things very local, traditional foods of the same. Everything for everyone!

The pool is striking and rest area a tropical dream.

The maid service was excellent. The room was cleaned every time.

The sea view of Mayagüez is beautiful. Make sure you touch the 5th floor so you can appreciate it.

Only one person called the front desk Karen we have trouble. It was not friendly and was on the defensive.

The hotel has potential, but the area west of the island needs rich. They have everything to shine, just depends on promoting tourism and making these hotels one attractive.

Room Tip: Ocean view with mountains is great!!!! Make sure you touch the 5th floor so you can appreciate it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Charles17887,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is very pleasing to know that you were satisfied with the maid services. However, I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations on some aspects of your stay. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. We will surely use your comments to improve our efforts.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My only complain will be the rugs in the room, it smelled like they're old and wet and the breakfast buffet was a little dull. The rugs should be remove. Everything else was very good and clean. The bathroom recently renovated. The personnel was the best.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel staff are very friendly but there's only so much they can do. During my 8-night stay, the wireless internet was always sub-par, frequently losing connection and always lacking any decent speed. On four separate occasions, a note was placed under my door mentioning repairs to the water system or pool. The elevators are horrendously slow. Free breakfast was nice, but the selection is limited and repetitive. Guess you can't beat free though. Casino is min-manned during the day and craps table is only open after dinner. Parking is always a mess due to the casino crowd at night. Room air conditioners are loud, but effective.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms on the west side of the building have a decent ocean view but 2nd floor rooms can av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear SpicyBigMac,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I apologize our hotel was not able to live up to your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and rest assured that it will be used for future improvements. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino

Address: 2701 Hwy 2, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located, with all the spectacular attractions of Porta Del Sol within easy reach, Holiday Inn & Tropical Casino Mayaguez, is the ideal place to stay when your vacation or business trip takes you to the city of Mayaguez and Puerto Rico's stunning west coast. From Holiday Inn & Tropical Casino Mayaguez you can drive to an incredible water park, bowling alleys, golf courses and some of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean. Puerto Rico's only zoo is minutes away from the comfort of your room. Holiday Inn & El Tropical Casino welcomes you! Book your Mayaguez hotel reservations today for the upcoming events, Mayaguez University Graduation, RUM Mayaguez University Job Fair, Punta Borinquen Golf Club and Club Deportivo Del Oeste Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Hotel Mayaguez
Holiday Inn Mayaquez And Tropical Casino
Holiday Inn Mayaguez
Mayaguez Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.