We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 Hwy 2, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Mayaguez
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel was average. The front desk people were always helpful. The buffet breakfast was not up to the Holiday Inn standards that I am use to. We were there when the hotel was not busy so they didn't have a breakfast those days. Were were told we could order off the menu but there was a bit of a misunderstanding. The pool area is beautiful, a little oasis with the occasional rooster and chicken walking by

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Continent-Bouncers,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    35
    34
    7
    9
See reviews for
26
31
5
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed there for only one night while working nearby in Aguadilla. I had a good dinner in the hotel restaurant and the breakfast the next morning was surprisingly very good and consisted of a lot of different items on the buffet-style bar. Even though I didn't go to the casino, it seemed the people were having a good time inside, too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wonderful place for vacation. Beautiful island. The staff at the hotel are very friendly & professional. The hotel has a nice pool & a nice dancing place. Good food, very clean. A nice casino. They have very nice area for business & family activities. The hotel is located close to lots of stores, attractions, restaurants, beaches,

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Except for the bad odor of the carpet at the dancing room, everything very good. We have a very nice stay. Prices very good, employees are so kind, rooms are clean and the hotel is very well located.
In the area you can find shopping centers, restaurants, and a golf course.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

No surprises....typical hotel/casino with a Fat Tuesday's bar in the lobby. The room was nice and big, bathrooms spacious and A/C was COLD.

The bathtub was unusually slippery and did not have any grips. My guest slipped and fell out of the shower. No injuries, but scary nonetheless.

Free Wi-Fi, located right off the interstate, live band in the casino and lots of slot machines.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
456 reviews 456 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is typical of any Holiday Inn Hotel. As a Priority CLub member, I always book as much as possible with Holiday Inn. The rooms are spacious and clean. However the location of this hotel seems to be in an area where you have nowhere else to go to but the casino in this hotel. I am staying only in this hotel due to a client call around this area.Otherwise I wont even think of booking in this area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

At least once a year I get to work in the west part of the island, and usually stay at the Holiday Inn in Mayaguez because is within per diem. I have been doing this for the last 6 years, and I have seen this hotel decaying over time. The last time I stayed there I got a room that smelled moldy, and was very humid. I talked to the front desk person, and she was kind enough to move me to another room, which smell was much better, but the place felt humid. I would say the room was clean, and if you do not plan to stay there all day long, it is OK. I would not recommend this hotel for honeymooners or for a family vacation unless you pay the extras for an upgraded room (which I have not seen, but I would think are better kept).

Pros: parking is free, as well as WI-FI.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino

Address: 2701 Hwy 2, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located, with all the spectacular attractions of Porta Del Sol within easy reach, Holiday Inn & Tropical Casino Mayaguez, is the ideal place to stay when your vacation or business trip takes you to the city of Mayaguez and Puerto Rico's stunning west coast. From Holiday Inn & Tropical Casino Mayaguez you can drive to an incredible water park, bowling alleys, golf courses and some of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean. Puerto Rico's only zoo is minutes away from the comfort of your room. Holiday Inn & El Tropical Casino welcomes you! Book your Mayaguez hotel reservations today for the upcoming events, Mayaguez University Graduation, RUM Mayaguez University Job Fair, Punta Borinquen Golf Club and Club Deportivo Del Oeste Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mayaquez And Tropical Casino
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Hotel Mayaguez
Holiday Inn Mayaguez
Mayaguez Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.