We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bakery in Mayaguez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ricomini Bakery

Ricomini Bakery
101 Calle Mendez Vigo, Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
832-0565
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 70 Restaurants in Mayaguez
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best bakery in Mayaguez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

memories of this place still follow me everywhere. It is authentic! great sandwiches - el media niche, el cubano, el de pastrami.. very good to take everywhere. I like to get them on my way to the beach and then set all day!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    40
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious baked goods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This bakery was across from the hotel my wife and I were staying at, and decided to go in the morning to see what kind of breakfast they had. They had a great variety of baked goods, and which were very very good. All baked goods are freshly made everyday.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Their bread is warm right out of the oven, their almond cookies are a treat, their guava pastellitos are fantastic. We go there 3 or 4 times a week during our week vacation. Everything out of their dessert case is divine!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good bakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

They have very good baked food. The best Brazo Gitano you may eat. I love the guava and cheese, but all are good. They also serves freshly cooked food since early in the morning and excellent sandwiches. They always have freshly squeezed orange juice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Dependable Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

NAME: Pandificadora Ricomini I (Ricomini Bakery the First One) [1]

TITLE: “Dependable Food” [Tripadvisor, review #46, 12 March 2014]

TELEPHONE: +1 (787) 832-0565

HOURS OF OPERATION: Ricomini in downtown Mayagüez is open from 5 am to midnight, the cafeteria line is closed in the late afternoon or early evening, but sandwiches and desserts are still available.

OWNER: Miguel López

AMBIANCE: This is a cafeteria and bakery, not a restaurant (no waitresses). No matter when we go there, day or night, it is always almost full, with just enough room for us [2]. However, there is usually little or no line at the food trays or at the sandwich counter, and none at the bread and pastry counter. Clean, but homey. This place somehow always makes you feel warm inside and welcome. There is one table in sort of a bay window, where one can sit and watch the city walk and drive almost all around you. Magic in down town Mayagüez. When we must go downtown, lunch is different there and cheers us up.

DECORATIONS: Only a few old pictures.

LOCALITY: 101 Calle Mendez Vigo, Mayagüez, PR 00680

DIFFICULTY LOCATING: easy

PARKING: They have a small parking lot, but we have always found a place. This is important since there is never a parking place on the street in this part of town [2].

VIEW: Only traffic and pedestrians

ATMOSPHERE: This is reputedly the oldest bakery in Mayagüez, but it is not a tourist attraction, although downtown has been touristized quite a bit recently. The building is shanty, but modern. The place is clean, but not sterile.

SUGGESTED ATTIRE: casual

AIR-CONDITIONED: yes, comfortable

FURNITURE: The décor is modern, but not plastic. The chairs are basic, but comfortable. There are no tablecloths.

DRINKS: Standard soft drinks, including Diet Sprite. They also have good coffee.

BEER: They have a variety of beers in an upright cooler; however, no craft beers. I do not recall seeing any wines.

WATER: Only in bottles.

CUISINE: Puerto Rican

MENU: There is no menu. You must walk up to the cafeteria line and see what they have today. There is a list of sandwiches above the sandwich bar.

MENU ITEMS: They have excellent Puerto Rican cafeteria food and deli sandwiches, generous portions, and are relative inexpensive. Classic Puerto Rican dishes are featured. Their offerings change every day. However, this is heavy, oily, and not health food. If you want a pleasant place to harden your arteries and/or gain weight; this is it!
Their lightly breaded mackerel is very good. Be careful of the bones. Their bacalao (codfish) is also very good. [3] I really like their shrimp salad. Their Sancocho with beef is wonderful [4]. I believe we had their sandwiches once or twice and they were very good. Others rave about them. Their rice-and-beans are good. We always have to take food home. They will give you containers for leftovers.

SALAD: In the old-style Puerto Rican tradition, usually, their only “salad” is either pasta, or shrimp or conch with onions and bell pepper in oil.

BREAD: We took home a loaf of Pan-de-Agua (water bread).

ENTRÉE: I had the Bacalao (Atlantic Cod, now Pollock) (excellent). My First Mate had a thick slice of turkey breast with rice and gravy (also excellent).

SIDES: We both had excellent pasta salad with ham, boiled egg, onion, etc.

SALT AND PEPPER: in packets

SILVERWARE: flimsy plastic

SERVING TIME: The deli food is usually fast, but making your fresh sandwich takes a few minutes.

DESERTS: They have a bakery-full of wonderful deserts. My First Mate had Dulce de Ajonjoli (sesame candy). [5]

SERVICE: The staff is friendly and efficient. You order at the food line or the sandwich bar and pay as the food arrives at the counter. There are no waitresses. You police your own table remains by the exit.

BATHROOM: A bit rustic and the sink is in the hall.

SECURITY: Okay during the day, but be careful at night. Gringos are a novelty, but everyone is quite friendly.

COST COMPARISON: Many bakeries serve sandwiches for more or less money. A few have cafeteria foods, but they are usually more limited and no better priced.

COMPARISONS: Francos, across town, is a very similar historic restaurant. However, they have a set lunch menu with 2 entree choices, besides sandwiches. They also have their own famous Brazo Gitano [6] and more historic displays.

HISTORY: The only history Ricomini shows is a few old pictures. This original Ricomini Bakery opened in 1905. A mini-store and cafeteria was added later. Other branches were open based on the same model. [1] They are famous for their Brazo Gitano. [6]

FOOTNOTES:
[1] There are larger, modern branches of Ricomini on km 5.6, PR 100, Cabo Rojo, PR, open 5 am to 8 pm; and on Carr 102, Esq Avenue Jose, Mayagüez, PR, but they lack the atmosphere and are not such a meeting place for their elderly clientele. We have been to both several times. Their food and service is as good as the original; actually, the food options are more varied. They are larger, but have only one counter for ordering everything, instead of three. They also just have the Ricomini food and service, not the real Ricomini experience. There are also Ricominis in Bayamon, Hormigueros, and Isabela but I have not visited them.

[2] These are absolute constants that I have never been able to comprehend. How could they possibly be almost completely full, with just enough room for us, every last single time, no matter how many times we go there? This is completely impossible and improbable. The other curious constant is that there is never a parking place on the street downtown.

[3] Of course, it is now Alaskan Pollack, or something else, since Atlantic Cod has just about become commercially extinct. Salt cod is a tradition here (part of the historic triangular trade, New England to the Caribbean leg).

[4] I have only had better one time. A restaurant in down town Maricao, incongruously nestled inside a department store, once had the best Sancocho we had ever tasted. We returned there many times, but we never saw it served again and their other dishes were so dismally ordinary. Another of those one-time-food-miracles in Puerto Rico; so ephemeral, but so cherished. I have tried to make my own Sancocho many times, but it is just never as good.

[5] A locally made, and locally very popular, candy bar or square of sesame seeds, honey, and brown sugar. Similar to the Spanish Turron (nuts instead of seeds and with egg whites). Popular throughout Latin America.

[6] a thin sheet of cake, covered with jelly or cheese, rolled into a log, sprinkled with sugar, and placed in a distinctive box. Served by cutting into slices.

Atlantic Cod, Gadus morhua
Pollock, Theragra chalcogramma

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ricomini Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Ricomini Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ricomini Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.