We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Colonial to your Saves list
Hotel Colonial
14 S Iglesia Street, Mayaguez 00681, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mayaguez
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in the center of the city close to different restaurants. They give you the remote control of the TV when you check in, and the adventure starts. The rooms are outdated, bed is horrible, the only essentials provided was soap.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heribertorosas, Owner at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I am sorry if we were not able to satisfy your needs, which is always our goal. All our beds are less than one year old and we do not buy cheap quality brand mattresses, they are not tempurpedics, but they are not horrible as you are describing so please be fair with your reviews. We keep our rates at the lowest possible to offer an economical alternative to customers that appreciate them but keeping a clean, secure, pleasant and comfortable stay. We don't have 3,4 or 5 stars hotels furniture but then again we don't charge 3,4 or 5 stars hotel rates. Your rate was less than $60.00 and included air conditioner, cable tv, Wi-Fi, parking and breakfast. We are a theme Bed & Breakfast, it used to be a convent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
17
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Attentive service and very reasonable rates keep locals and visitors returning to Hotel Colonial. The hotel is very close to Plaza Colon and centrally located in downtown Mayaguez with easy access to the city and nearby towns. Rooms are filled with character as the place was once a convent. Hotel Colonial is ideal for travelers who need accessible, sensible lodging when visiting Puerto Rico’s west coast. Great starting point for your trips in the area and breakfast is available daily.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heribertorosas, Owner at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Called last minute to explore the west and found this friendly hotel. The fare was great and the room was spacious and clean. Small fridge, cable tv and comfortable beds while situated in the heart of Mayaguez. Stayed at room 8. Ivan at the front desk was amazing. Perfect for a little adventure

Room Tip: Room 8 has three full beds and spacious bathroom. No sounds from the outside. Great to sleep in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heribertorosas, Front Office Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
I appreciate your review, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great service thanks to Mr. Anibal, he find the best room for us, good prices, include breakfast, very comfortable rooms, easy to find and has private parking I will definitely come back on my next vacations , thanks

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heribertorosas, Owner at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We appreciate your comment and stay. We will be waiting. Thanks a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I recently stayed here for several days while visiting the western part of Puerto Rico. The hotel is nothing SPECTACULAR by any stretch of the means but, for the money you get a clean room and a safe environment. Unfortunately, the owners are CHEAP as they can totally afford to invest money into better quality furniture, linens and bathroom fixtures. In fact, the first two days there I had to complain about the shower as there was NO Cold Water only HOT, HOT and HOT!
In addition, you cannot get WIFI in your room which is really inconvenient as you have to go to the lobby to get any sort of internet service. And, when you are paying for a hotel stay, who the hell wants to be inconvenienced? Again, the owners really need to get their act together and step it up a notch if they want to continue to be in the hotel business.
But, most importantly, the employees really make your time there at the hotel VERY ENJOYABLE! Hannibal and Maria were VERY PERSONABLE, PROFESSIONAL, HARD-WORKING and HELPFUL! They are a real asset to the hotel and the owners should count their lucky stars!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heribertorosas, Owner at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I really appreciate your review, this is the best way to know how we are doing. Our goal is to offer our guests an affordable, safe, clean and enjoyable stay every time. I remember the hot water issue in room number 5, it was fixed as soon as we knew about it, it was caused by a piece of debris in the shower faucet. This room is second on our list of five rooms that are set for renovation including furniture and bathroom. We are always investing resources in our rooms, one room at a time, but to keep our rates as low as they are, we can not do them all at once. I have included a picture of the room you stayed at so other future guests can see its actual condition as July 2013.. Again, thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I am a frequent business traveler and will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Good Hotel for a short stay- quaint small rooms, nothing spectacular nor fancy, but the price is right for what you get. VERY CLEAN rooms AND bathrooms. Cleaner than most major brands I've stayed. Continental breakfast included. Walking distance to one of the best bakeries in the Island (Ricomini) which serves typical Puerto Rican Food, Sandwiches and bakery sweets as well. It is located at the heart of the town of Mayaguez, so within a new walking minutes you can walk everywhere around the town, the Plaza, the Church and other locales for food, Ice Cream and Coffee Shops. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: AC Window units but are new and quiet. don't be discouraged by them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heribertorosas, Owner at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, we thrive in offering you, our guests, the best affordable hotel you can find.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We are three adults and a toddler traveling around PR and stayed in the hotel for one night. This is the 2nd year we stay in Colonial for our yearly PR vacation. The rooms are very basic, a bit dark in the 1st floor, but everything is very clean, great quiet AC and excellent/friendly service (Noemi and all staff is great!). Fridge provided in room, used microwave in shared kitchen area, which was great to heat milk for my toddler. Parking is easy in their gated parking lot. The town square is just a few blocks away for a short walk and sitting/relaxing while enjoying natural fruit ice creams, food snacks, some music during the night. We easily drove to Cabo Rojo Beaches and the Faro and I definitely recommend the hotel for the budget conscious.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: 14 S Iglesia Street, Mayaguez 00681, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial of Mayagüez is Located in historic downtown Mayaguez, it is the perfect destination for travelers looking for relaxation and comfort. Whatever you are looking for, the Hotel Colonial is the perfect hotel choice for your visit to the west coast of Puerto Rico also known as Porta del Sol. The Hotel Colonial is just steps away from some of Mayagüez finest attractions. The hotel is walking distance to fabulous restaurants, pubs, shopping, museums and the famous Mayagüez Campus of the University of Puerto Rico. It is also close to the Juan Rivero Zoo, the best zoo in the caribbean.Loaded with comforts and amenities, the Hotel Colonial is an outstanding value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.