We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #28 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice and small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A small hotel, very clean room and nicely decorated. Good wifi and cable tv selections. Located in Condado, a couple of blocks from the beach, and close to many attractions. Valet parking around the block was a little inconvenient. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    78
    47
    19
    8
See reviews for
24
102
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The service here was wonderful...the receptionist there were very knowledgable about what places were get to eat and visit! They made us feel very comfortable. There was a slight problem with the shower but everything else was clean and in great order! They have a pool in the back didn't get to swim in it but it looked lovely! Would love to stay there again on my next vaca!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was my first stay at Le Consult, and I recommend the hotel highly. The staff was great - helpful and friendly, and the location is about 100 yards from La Concha - near the beach, parks, restaurants, bars, etc.

The room was nice, fairly recently updated, and very clean. Some water leaked into the floor around the A/C when it rained very hard, and the shower water pressure was a little weak and the tile/drain could use a little work. Those are minor things - this hotel is a great value for the location - you cannot ask for a better location and the hotel is very nice.

Room Tip: Third floor room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night here when all other hotels in the area were fully booked. It's locate very close to many high traffic places, which had me concerned about noise, but gladly this was not an issue. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Bathroom design is a disaster, clean but poorly maintained. We didn't have hot water, a problem that nearly all past reviews call out. It seems management has tried to install some in line domestic water heaters but this option fails due to many installation issues. Its a pity becuas the hotel is good, they just need management thats genuinely concerned with fixing it right, rather than putting a band aid on it

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Le Consulat Hotel in January 2013 prior to our cruise. The rooms were clean, the staff really great and it is in a good location close to shopping, lots of restaurants, and the beach is 2 blocks away.

They also have a wonderful coutyard pool that is ideal to sit around in the evening, sipping wine, and just relaxing.

For what you get for the price, this is a true bargain.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
438 reviews 438 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Getting here. Arrived here from Old San Juan, took less than 20mins depending on traffic out of old san juan. Flat rate $15 plus $1 per bag, plus tips.

Hotel. Excellent location in Condado but not by the beach. Beach is too rough and windy anyway. Reception on arrival was fantastic. Suzie was friendly, warm, welcoming, lots of smiles and good information of tours and surrounds. No breakfast but fine as there’s plenty of choices around. A very tiny small dipping but deep "pool" at the back, also a small baby pool and a little waterfall. Lift with glass to view outside. Small property with only 4 floors. Just one street away from the beach and near a park which is at the point where road divides. Nice and quiet. Pre-cruise for a night so it was fine. We had 2 nights in old san juan before changing to this location as they couldn’t fit us in for the 3rd night but it was good to stay somewhere different. Not ideal for a beach type holiday but value for money for a night pre or after cruise.

Vicinity. Across and down the street for breakfast. Up the road near Conrad is a small beach, much calmer than the currents in Condado beach which is rough and the deepest part of the Atlantic. Cold waters. Beautiful sunset from this small beach, walk halfway onto the bridge as sun sets behind buildings. We started walking east towards Ocean Park and Isla Verde but came to Macleary road and decided to walk back on the beach. It all looks the same. During low tide, you can walk on the beach back up to La Concha hotel but during high tide, it is not possible. Heaps of food places around. Wendy’s has the best coffee ever, ask for café con leche $1.49 – we got 2 each! Naturally sweet so no need for sugar, thick crema too.

Room. Free wifi and safe in wardrobe. No fridge. Coffee in room but no tea or bottles of water. Noticed this to be the case in USA, figured the Americans are big on their coffees, not teas. Big room and bathroom, no bathtub, only shower. Water pressure poor, even on 2nd floor. Water temperature crazy, does its own thing. Not enough shelf space for toiletries considering such a big space in bathroom. Worst shower ever. Bright bathroom and powerful hairdryer. Desk on wheels drives me mad – keeps moving around. No mirror in room, only on bathroom so quite tricky putting on makeup (remember no shelf space in bathroom). Noisy a/c. Ground floor rooms have outdoor courtyard. End rooms have windows to the pool area, but all rooms including bathroom have windows with natural lighting.

Popular in PR are Spanish paellas, tapas, mallorcas and sangrias, pina coladas, mofongos, plantains, seafood dishes and mojitos. Feels like you are in Spain, not USA. The Americans must come here feeling like they are in another country without leaving their country as everyone speaks Spanish, everything is different from language, to food, to buildings and even to the way they look. How very fortunate they are. Very interesting and it makes me want to go to Europe now (again) for diversities like these. Just love it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here in 2 rooms for a pre-cruise stay.
The location in Condado is very good- 1 block off the main strip on Calle Magdalena. Close proximity to a variety of restaurants and bars, the Walgreens, and short walk to the beach.

The hotel is advertised as a ‘Boutique Hotel’ style property, and I think the main way that it lives up to this is by just being a small property.

The pool area is small and cute. Good for adults to have an evening dip, maybe not so much for a family with kids to have a fun ‘pool day’.
The rooms vary in size. We had 2 rooms on the 4th floor, one with a key, one with a swipe card. One had a larger bathroom. All facilities worked fine. The elevator was a bit slow.

My mom loved everything about Le Consulat, especially being able to walk around in the Condado neighborhood. Also, there were enough trees around that you could hear the coqui frogs at night, which was quite pleasant. You don’t really hear them over on Ashford. I thought it was decent for a value priced hotel. You can save a lot of money by being off the main street and in a smaller property. We felt safe in the hotel and in the neighborhood. There are a lot of Tourist Police around everywhere, and everyone in the tourist industry speaks English fluently. Taxi drivers perhaps less so, but enough to get you where you are going safely.

Taxi to airport and cruise ship was easy. We shared a cab and fare to the cruise ship with another couple leaving at the same time as us. If you are looking for an easy and convenient short visit Le Consulat is fine, however I would not recommend it for a beach weekend. There aren’t any resort amenities here. Look in my other reviews for some other San Juan locations.
On this trip, however, we weren’t beaching it. We had booked a kayaking/rainforest combo tour for one day, and had a walkabout day in Old San Juan (took the bus each way). We did not have a car, so don't know about parking. There isn't much parking in the area though, and driving around San Juan is for skilled city drivers only.

I would book here again for a pre-cruise stay if I wasn’t staying long enough that I wanted a pool/beach day, but probably not for a San Juan based vacation. For just passing through it was fine. This was a good value, but not much ‘wow’ factor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Le Consulat
Ascend Collection San Juan
Clarion San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.