We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #29 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Ajax
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at the Le Consulat Hotel in January 2013 prior to our cruise. The rooms were clean, the staff really great and it is in a good location close to shopping, lots of restaurants, and the beach is 2 blocks away.

They also have a wonderful coutyard pool that is ideal to sit around in the evening, sipping wine, and just relaxing.

For what you get for the price, this is a true bargain.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    79
    47
    19
    8
See reviews for
24
104
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Getting here. Arrived here from Old San Juan, took less than 20mins depending on traffic out of old san juan. Flat rate $15 plus $1 per bag, plus tips.

Hotel. Excellent location in Condado but not by the beach. Beach is too rough and windy anyway. Reception on arrival was fantastic. Suzie was friendly, warm, welcoming, lots of smiles and good information of tours and surrounds. No breakfast but fine as there’s plenty of choices around. A very tiny small dipping but deep "pool" at the back, also a small baby pool and a little waterfall. Lift with glass to view outside. Small property with only 4 floors. Just one street away from the beach and near a park which is at the point where road divides. Nice and quiet. Pre-cruise for a night so it was fine. We had 2 nights in old san juan before changing to this location as they couldn’t fit us in for the 3rd night but it was good to stay somewhere different. Not ideal for a beach type holiday but value for money for a night pre or after cruise.

Vicinity. Across and down the street for breakfast. Up the road near Conrad is a small beach, much calmer than the currents in Condado beach which is rough and the deepest part of the Atlantic. Cold waters. Beautiful sunset from this small beach, walk halfway onto the bridge as sun sets behind buildings. We started walking east towards Ocean Park and Isla Verde but came to Macleary road and decided to walk back on the beach. It all looks the same. During low tide, you can walk on the beach back up to La Concha hotel but during high tide, it is not possible. Heaps of food places around. Wendy’s has the best coffee ever, ask for café con leche $1.49 – we got 2 each! Naturally sweet so no need for sugar, thick crema too.

Room. Free wifi and safe in wardrobe. No fridge. Coffee in room but no tea or bottles of water. Noticed this to be the case in USA, figured the Americans are big on their coffees, not teas. Big room and bathroom, no bathtub, only shower. Water pressure poor, even on 2nd floor. Water temperature crazy, does its own thing. Not enough shelf space for toiletries considering such a big space in bathroom. Worst shower ever. Bright bathroom and powerful hairdryer. Desk on wheels drives me mad – keeps moving around. No mirror in room, only on bathroom so quite tricky putting on makeup (remember no shelf space in bathroom). Noisy a/c. Ground floor rooms have outdoor courtyard. End rooms have windows to the pool area, but all rooms including bathroom have windows with natural lighting.

Popular in PR are Spanish paellas, tapas, mallorcas and sangrias, pina coladas, mofongos, plantains, seafood dishes and mojitos. Feels like you are in Spain, not USA. The Americans must come here feeling like they are in another country without leaving their country as everyone speaks Spanish, everything is different from language, to food, to buildings and even to the way they look. How very fortunate they are. Very interesting and it makes me want to go to Europe now (again) for diversities like these. Just love it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here in 2 rooms for a pre-cruise stay.
The location in Condado is very good- 1 block off the main strip on Calle Magdalena. Close proximity to a variety of restaurants and bars, the Walgreens, and short walk to the beach.

The hotel is advertised as a ‘Boutique Hotel’ style property, and I think the main way that it lives up to this is by just being a small property.

The pool area is small and cute. Good for adults to have an evening dip, maybe not so much for a family with kids to have a fun ‘pool day’.
The rooms vary in size. We had 2 rooms on the 4th floor, one with a key, one with a swipe card. One had a larger bathroom. All facilities worked fine. The elevator was a bit slow.

My mom loved everything about Le Consulat, especially being able to walk around in the Condado neighborhood. Also, there were enough trees around that you could hear the coqui frogs at night, which was quite pleasant. You don’t really hear them over on Ashford. I thought it was decent for a value priced hotel. You can save a lot of money by being off the main street and in a smaller property. We felt safe in the hotel and in the neighborhood. There are a lot of Tourist Police around everywhere, and everyone in the tourist industry speaks English fluently. Taxi drivers perhaps less so, but enough to get you where you are going safely.

Taxi to airport and cruise ship was easy. We shared a cab and fare to the cruise ship with another couple leaving at the same time as us. If you are looking for an easy and convenient short visit Le Consulat is fine, however I would not recommend it for a beach weekend. There aren’t any resort amenities here. Look in my other reviews for some other San Juan locations.
On this trip, however, we weren’t beaching it. We had booked a kayaking/rainforest combo tour for one day, and had a walkabout day in Old San Juan (took the bus each way). We did not have a car, so don't know about parking. There isn't much parking in the area though, and driving around San Juan is for skilled city drivers only.

I would book here again for a pre-cruise stay if I wasn’t staying long enough that I wanted a pool/beach day, but probably not for a San Juan based vacation. For just passing through it was fine. This was a good value, but not much ‘wow’ factor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
787 reviews 787 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 303 cities Reviews in 303 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

And lets face it, after you get the required clean room, bed, and clean shower - a hotel is all about value for location. This place fits the bill exactly. Nothing special, nothing fancy. Not even any food. But good value and great location. It is 'around the corner' from busy Ashford Ave. <500 paces to a dunkin donuts. Parking (also 500 paces) less than $10 a day. Sure, the rooms are small - but you aren't going to stay in room long. If you want something more than a room - do not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights around 130/night.
Room just big enough. 2 blocks from La Concha and the beach.
Quiet at night even on the 1st floor.
Not luxury but worked out perfect on short notice.
24 hr Walgreens nearby.
Enjoy PR without spending lot of Deniro

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal/stowe
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nothing wrong with our stay at this hotel. We arrived at 3 AM prior to our cruise. Check-in was painless and we were soon in our room. It was plain ,small and clean. Biggest issues were that the A/C was loud and there was no coffee machine in the lobby. Mini coffee machine in the room.No restaurant either.
Biggest plus is the location just 2 blocks from the beach in a great area called Condado. There is a Walgreens around the corner which was a plus. Hotel has a small pool.
The hotel was OK and not much more. We wanted a clean no frills hotel for a few hours of sleep for about $100. That is just what we got. If I could I'd give it 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Room was very nice and location is outstanding. My only complaint is that there is no breakfast but there are several places to eat within short walking distance. The pool area is very nice and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Le Consulat
Ascend Collection San Juan
Clarion San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.