We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #28 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Bronx, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Room was very nice and location is outstanding. My only complaint is that there is no breakfast but there are several places to eat within short walking distance. The pool area is very nice and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    78
    47
    19
    8
See reviews for
24
102
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very nice and resonable for a day or two. Close to the beach. GREAT mexican place to eat one block away. Best margaritas we've had in a long time and great food. hotel was generally clean. very accomodating and pleasant staff. Super little pool out back with 10 foot walls and excellent privacy/security. Our rooms had little patios and lounge chairs. Nothing different to report from other reviews other than you get what you make of this. We liked it and will be back.

Room Tip: We had two rooms at the end of the hall on the first floor that had windows facing the little pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Right in the heart of Condado. Service was excellent. Price great too!! Very little time is actually spent in the room in Condado, so this place was ideal. I would stay there again!! Walgreens and Starbucks very close also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Well 1st off the front desk attendant Johnathan was very helpful and friendly (by far the easiest one to ask questions about tourist attractions etc). He recommended restaurants nearby the hotel as well as gave us accurate directions to get to them. Any time we needed something he was eager to lend a hand (hard to find these days). The pool was nice although id prefer it be a bit warmer. The room door got stuck opening but that was most likely due to the humidity, as for the room itself the bed was comfortable and surfaces were kept pretty clean. Over all decent hotel considering the location (do not walk the beaches alone at night because the cops , despite the number of them, do not do their jobs) I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Please do not stay at this hotel unless you dont mind having your items stolen. There is this guy named jonathan that works at this hotel from 3pm to 11pm. He sits at th front desk and once you leave the hotel, he will enter your room and go through your personal belongings. My friends and i experienced this first hand.
Mostly eldely guest, nice pool in the back
The hotel rooms smell ok but can be better. Other staff are nice

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a back patio if you smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

4 adults stayed 1 night pre-cruise - we had a late arrival and the young man working the desk was very nice & helpful - we stayed in the room requested - 2 queen beds, small and adequate - nothing fancy, but we weren't expecting that - Walgren's short walking distance to pick up some water & wine for our cruise. It is definitely a 2 star hotel - could be kept a little cleaner and with some updates in furniture etc - could be nice for a few days. It's definitely for a budget crowd which we were that night - any other hotel would have charged us over $300 for 1 night with 4 people - Le Consulat did not charge extra for the 4th person so for $150.00 for the night, we were pleased. Be warned that we did not have any hot water for our 4 showers - that was frustrating as we took them at night/and 2 in the morning and nothing changed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Housekeeping need to be improved that's the reason for a 4, Otherwise, this one should be a 5 when using Choice hotel points to stay for free. Hotel prices are in general expensive in San Juan, so use points would be a great way to save money. Hotel Location is good not too far away from Condado Beach. They gave us a room with 2 queen beds and pretty modern amenities but we felt the housekeeping was subpar for sure. San Juan's buses were not reliable so we used taxi many times. You can always share taxi ride with people waiting at the bus stop since most of their taxicabs were like big vans that can take more than 8 people and the price is negotiable. This hotel doesn't offer complimentary breakfast like other choice hotel does. There's a small swimming pool on the back of the hotel that we didn't use since it's really small. There's a Walgreen 2 blocks away with good prices. In general, nice cozy hotel perfect for using points.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Le Consulat
Ascend Collection San Juan
Clarion San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.