We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay for one night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #29 of 47 hotels in San Juan
new rochelle, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay for one night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We arrived at Le Consulat on Nov 30 for 1 night pre-cruise. Got there at 12 noon;receptionist Susie very gracious, were in our requested 3rd floor room quickly. BIG...2 queens, sofa bed, desk,small but very adequate bathroom,flatscreen tv. AC worked really well, water pressure and temp in both sink and shower were fine. Everything seemed quite clean(except for a few crumbs in the sofa) . A great location in Condado,near restaurants, the lovely LaConcha, Dunkin Donuts and a Walgreens that carries almost everything under the sun, including a 99cent cup of very decent coffee!,and is open 24 hours. My only criticism is that the room needed more working light fixtures; it felt a little too dark.

We would definitely stay there again before a cruise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    79
    47
    19
    8
See reviews for
24
104
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed pre-cruise one night.
Let me start by saying we travel alot for business and pleasure, and are not picky people.
Checked into hotel. Key card would not work. Desk clerk Jonathan said battery needed to be replaced, but they would let us in with key. Ok, no big deal.
Room very clean, bed comfy. Jonathan very nice.
Patio nice but weird, steel doors to patio, chaise chairs small table, very private.
Pool area small but nice. Did not use pool, but everything appeared to be working and clean.
In morning went to shower. No hot water. Let run. Still nothing.
Went to desk. Desk clerk was on her cell phone. Once she acknowledged me, told her no there was hot water in shower. She said to let run for 5 minutes. Told her we did that. Then she basically told me I didn't know how to turn on the water and went back to her cell phone.
Overall, up to that point, hotel was ok.
Bad customer service and poor attitude made this hotel poor choice.
For price, will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayaguez
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here the night before we flew out to St. Martin. No fridges in rooms. Strange we thought. Also thought it was wierd that there was drop ceiling with white cork board material in bathroom. Not very water proof. We were originally booked on the 2nd floor, but the safe did not work, so they put us in a first floor room, which turned out to be better because it was bigger and it had a large private sun deck. It was a little echoey down the hall, but the floor was tiled not carpeted, so that's what happens. Good hotel just to spend the night. Good price for that area. Pool was small. Air conditioning did not work very well and we felt damp the whole night. Good thing we weren't cold because there was no blanket on the bed, just a duvet cover with no duvet in it. Again, weird. The location was pretty central. Within walking distance to a Starbucks, Chili's, Ben n Jerry's and a Denny's. Lots of little places to eat and drink around hotel. There are many beautiful old estate type houses right next to hotel. And i believe the hotel itself was just such a place according to a friend. No problem getting taxi to airport from there. It's only about a 15 min drive on the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

3 girlfriends and I went to San Juan for our annual checkups. Spent the night so we could do a little shopping the next day. Our room had two queen beds and a pull out sofa, so there was plenty of room for all of us. The hotel has a very cute pool area that we did not take advantage of - maybe next time! There is no on site parking, but we were able to find a parking space almost right across the street. Since the hotel is so centrally located to restaurants, we did not need to move it for our stay. A continental breakfast or coupon was advertised, but we were told by the desk staff that this was not available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

As with many we stayed at this hotel one night prior to a cruise. We were a party of 5 people and it is very hard to find a room that will sleep 5 people in San Juan. I called the hotel directly and a wonderful woman went out of her way to make sure that we had a room with a pull-out couch so we could sleep all five of us. They only have three of these rooms. She was very friendly and helpul.

We didn't arrive to the hotel until midnight. The gentleman at the front dest was amazing. He was expecting us and gave the rest of my party keys so they could get settled while I finished checking in. He could tell we were tired.

After we got into our room he checked on us to make sure we had all of the linens we needed.

The room was very small and very stark. It definately needed an upgrade. However, the beds were comfortable. We were on the first floor and had a great view of the pool and our own private patio area. We didn't get to use anything because we were up and out the next morning to head to the port.

The woman at the desk the next morning was also very accommodating and got us a taxi very quickly. She even made sure that we got one of her favorite drivers.

The hotel definately has some charm and with some upgrading could be a real gem! I don't think I would stay there for more than one night. However, for the price and the service it was well worth it for that one night.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the fist floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our stay in this hotel was for just one night before leaving on a cruise, so we stayed, but my first instinct upon seeing the room was to leave and find another hotel. We had a first floor room and it couldn't have been more stark and bare bones. We had to request a remote to even operate the tv. While I could endure this for one night, I would caution anyone from staying here for a vacation. We were also charged extra for using the in room safe, as well as a resort fee. It is laughable to even remotely call this place a resort. This was the low point of our vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked a room in this hotel for one night prior to a cruise. The price seemed fairly reasonable for this area of San Juan and the reviews were good. We were given a room on the top floor at the rear. Upon entering, we were very underwhelmed. The room was extremely small and shabby. The bathroom was filthy. There was hair on the floor and the shower looked like it had never been properly cleaned. The drain in the shower was broken and had jagged metal sticking up, so that we needed to be very careful not to step on it. The thing that disgusted me the most was a drop of dried blood on the bathroom floor. The bed was adequate but the air conditioner could not quite cool the room so I ended up sleeping very poorly.

The next morning at checkout, we were advised that there was a $3 "resort fee" added to our bill. Resort?!? Are you kidding me? This place was a dive. I pity anybody booking this place for more than one night. It was truly depressing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Le Consulat
Ascend Collection San Juan
Clarion San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.