We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty but not for the finicky eater” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Jibarito

El Jibarito
280 Calle Sol, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
787-725-8375
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 626 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Forest, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tasty but not for the finicky eater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We went here because it had great reviews on line. The place was packed when we got there but we were lucky and a table had just left. We sat down and we assumed they were understaffed for the day because everyone seemed a little frazzled. (this was later confirmed) We ordered a pitcher of Sangria and it was strong and deliscious. They are not kidding about the size of the pitcher either! I swear that thing was a gallon! I ordered chicken and my friend ordered beef and we both had yellow rice and we split a yuca mofungo. The food was good but if you are a generic eater and don't like anything that is not plain or extremely processed this is not the place for you. The food seems to be very fresh and prepared to order.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    319
    67
    37
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great spot in Old San Juan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Worth a few extra steps to find this place. My bed and breakfast hostess recommended it as one of her favorites for real Puerto Rican food. I had the Shrimp in Garlic sauce with Mixed Mofongo. So excellent!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“not food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived to el jibarito and the waitress never told us that they didn't have food. From 12 plates they have in the list just two were available they told us that after they served us our drinks.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile


Great food! Try the Trimofongo. Great prices! Every entree was under $15. Great staff! Angel our waiter was very friendly and had great suggestions!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Authentic Puerto Rican Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Couldn't believe how good the food was. It is authentic Puerto Rican cuisine and it is really very very good. It is small and a little off the beaten track, but the decor, service and, again food, is great. They have a person playing guitar and singing so the experience quite festive. Discovered mofongo here and glad I did.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jibarito also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Jibarito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Jibarito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.