We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tao-like experience in condado” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budatai

Budatai
1056 Ashford Ave., San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
787-725-6919
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Budatai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 639 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Plainview, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“tao-like experience in condado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

we first went to budatai about 6 years ago. we took our kids the following year and remembered they weren't very accommodating to our very picky eater. for some reason we never made it back on our subsequent visits to pr. we went this trip and were pleasantly surprised. their attitude has changed dramatically. not only did they accommodate my gluten-free needs without blinking an eye, they changed my picky eater's meal, as well, no problem. our server was sweet as can be and the food was amazing. we highly recommend it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    153
    83
    43
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Sea Food with Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I have been in this place a few times for business however, We just took a trip to the Island for vacations! This place is a good place for couples and Friends and the food is fresh!! I strongly recommend the sword fish and lobster mashed potatoes! Awesome , very tasty and super soft! The service is good but the only reason why I dont rated a 5 star is because of the Parking! But the restaurant is great with good food quality including the drinks the bartender prepares excellent drinks!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had dinner at Budatai last night--it was just okay. I do need to say, the lamb ribs appetizer was exceptional, however the rest of our order was not bad but not notable. The restaurant has a nice vibe and was full. It could one of those restaurants where you need to know how to order.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have had excellent dinners all week in PR but this may have been the best. Initially had a table in the middle of the restaurant and froze under the vent. Got moved to a window table when it became available and the night was a pleasure from there. Great appetizer - geisha sushi roll. For dinner had roasted pork loin with pork belly. Amazing sauce. I don't remember what the accompaniment was but recall thinking I wouldn't eat it - doubt I would like it. So glad I tasted it. No idea what it was but was delicious. Great service. Definitely a recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“We didn't like it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were excited to try Budatai and decided to make it our choice to be our 1 dinner splurge while in PR. We were very disappointed.
We sat upstairs on the veranda/outdoor patio and loved the ocean view as well as watching the busy people traffic along Ashford avenue. The wine list was a good one and we chose a very nice Spanish red we had enjoyed before at different restaurants throughout our travels. Unfortunately we were not satisfied with anything else during our visit here.
The restaurant was almost empty, yet our server hovered over us and we felt rushed throughout the entire meal. The menu is impressive and every item looked great so we asked the server what we should order. On his recommendation we ordered the crab Rangoon and the pork dumplings for dim sum. The Rangoon skins were pretty thick and the dipping sauce was cloyingly sweet. It tasted exactly like the ubiquitous cocktail sausage sauce of grape jelly and ketchup that overpowered any other flavors they were trying to achieve. Without the sauce they weren't bad, but they were missing something and it tasted like fast food.
We will have to take their word for it that the pork dumplings actually had pork in them - we couldn't taste it. The texture was so dense and unappealing, and while the shaved truffles were visible over the top of the dish, there was little other flavor but salt. And not just salty, but S-A-L-T-Y !!! There was a sweet element to the sauce with a little sesame, but that was only as an aftertaste after a large gulp of ice water.
The scallops over noodles entree were sesame-oil greasy and the scallops were under-cooked. The flesh portion of the cod entree was cooked perfectly and seasoned perfectly, but they left the skin on and it was a mushy, grey, fatty mess. The sauce had a fermented funk that was, well, gross, and the fingerling potatoes were way, way over-seasoned and inedible.
When we made it obvious we were done with our meal, 80% of the food was still on the plates. All our server asked was 'so, are you done ?', dropped the check and took the plates away. We contemplated asking to speak to a manager, but we're not complainers - we just wanted to get out of there. This restaurant appears to be pushing to be an upper-echelon type of establishment. When your customers are not eating the majority of the food, the wait staff should be tuned in to that and at least ask 'how is everything ?'.
It was $230 I wish we could get back. Hands down the worst meal we had in PR.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Budatai also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Budatai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budatai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.