We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rice & beans” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Casita

Mi Casita
Plazoleta Isla Verde, San Juan 00979, Puerto Rico
787-791-1777
Improve this listing
Ranked #273 of 684 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Takeout
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing rice & beans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Service was ok, good was pretty good, good was a little slow but did not have the same problems being mentioned by others. I feel it's worth a trip just for those beans!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    241
    157
    93
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The food was OK ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The service was very poor. There is a very long wait for the food. we had the mofongo with chicken and the breaded chicken cutlet. I've had much better!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better off going to Pizza Hut”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Take it from a native. We waited over an hour for our food. Once we received our drinks( bad Mojitos) we were never again asked if we wanted to have another drink or even water. It took over an our to received a dry snapper. I had the skirt steak, no flavor, completely tasteless. Bad food and horrible service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what you expect from ANY restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

They took our order, then never came back. Our food came out 2-3 orders at a time, our order was not correct, some of the food was cold. After a 20-30 minute wait we were all very hungry, and some of our group had to share dishes. We had to ask for our waiter, then wait on him. We had to ask for refills. Not what you expect from ANY restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Wait!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

First off, let me say that we visited this restaurant on a Saturday night-prime time around 8pm. This restaurant was an easy walk from our hotel (The Verdanza), and had an extensive menu listed on the window by the door. Looked great, so we went in.
That is when the experience started to go down hill.
Had to walk to the back of the restaurant to speak to a "hostess", as the waiters would not even make eye contact when we entered. We were told "sit anywhere you like", so my Wife, Son and I sat at a not too special table for four by the window.
It took about 10 minutes to have someone take our drink order, and an additional 5-10 minutes before our order was taken. We were given a basket of bread about 5 minutes later. Did I mention we still were not given silverware or napkins yet?
The food arrived about 30 minutes later, approximately 50 minutes after walking in the door. We were thinking, "if the food is great, it was well worth the wait". Unfortunately, the food was not great.
I ordered my first Mofongo (with Chicken) and it was actually quite good. Would have been better had it not obviously been ready 5-10 minutes earlier-and not delivered to the table when it was hot! My Wife's Salsa Chicken with Rice and Beans was also good...and cold. My Son ordered "Native Chicken", which apparently means a dry and overcooked chicken breast with a huge pile of raw onions on the top. All three of us tried this dish and found it totally inedible.

Service was poor. Waiter did not return to refill our water, or ask how we were enjoying our meal. Only time in Puerto Rico where we felt that we may have received the "American Treatment".

Overall, I would give this place a worse rating-but I want to be fair due to the fact that we chose to dine at a prime time. However, I would save my money and go somewhere where your hard earned dinner dollars will be appreciated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Casita also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Isla Verde, Carolina
 

Been to Mi Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Casita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.