We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST SUSHI IN PUERTO RICO, PERIOD.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jinya's

Jinya's
1009 Ave. Jesus T. Pinero, San Juan 00945, Puerto Rico
787-783-2330
Improve this listing
Ranked #289 of 684 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“BEST SUSHI IN PUERTO RICO, PERIOD.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Believe me, it can be hard to find good sushi in Puerto Rico. You could have a good meal now and then, but it will never be memorable. Jinya's bring you the best Japanese experience you can have in the Island. Every single roll I've tried is between very good - amazing. The salmon avocado salad comes with huge chunks of salmon, tuna, and avocado. If you seat at the bar, the owner might offer you free sushi. The place needs some renovation, but the sublime culinary experience leaves you oblivious for the surroundings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Liked food and service. Their appetizers are awesome. Prices are ok. Theres is parking facility. Highly recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Initially, service was slow, it remained very slow. Jibarito roll - plantain was hard (burnt) and spicy tuna was breaking apart. Really poor.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good sushi not for Thai. Overall over rated!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I've been a fan for some time but we went there last week and found the Prices slightly higher.
The Wine list was "being updated" which usually means higher Prices.
Its a good place for sushi but the thai plate we ordered was no such thing. This is comparing it to Thai Restaurants we've visited in NYC, Amsterdam! Dublín, etc. Just seasoned Chichen and rice.
I do believe Prices have gone to another level. Not super expensive, but not right for the experience.
There are better choices to choose from.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I love this place. The food os always perfect, also the service. Good location. And excellent service. The food always taste good

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jinya's also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Jinya's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jinya's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.