We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Caribbean food and outdoor seating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yerba Buena Restaurant

Yerba Buena Restaurant
1350 ASHFORD AVE., San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
787 721-5700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 628 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $0 - $120
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
San Carlos, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Caribbean food and outdoor seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recommended by the concierge when we wanted to take a break from driving to Old SJ. Drinks at the bar while we waited for our table. Very good food. Al fresco dinning. About the only thing I can complain about is swinging table takes too much space and you can't see what you're eating due to poor lighting. Make sure your have your smartphone charged up for lighting.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    93
    46
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing Second Date”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ah, how I wanted to leave a glowing review for Yerba Buena. Two years ago, I fell deeply in love with this restaurant manned by fedora-wearing waiters and teeming with excellently prepared food, plus mojitos. But upon a second visit to this San Juan favorite, I was sorely disappointed by a rude host who answered the phone and tersely took my reservation, telling me we'd be seated outside because we didn't want to pay a cover to hear some musical act that was playing inside. Thinking the abrupt attitude was a fluke, I took my sister there the next evening for her birthday where we were promptly seated at a rickety high top with wait staff narrowly missing our noggins as they ran by with trays held over their heads. The cuisine was as good as we remembered, though they no longer serve a lamb dish that we savored. But our evening was marred by impatient servers, poor seating (which it took several requests to rectify though tables were emptying left and right) and again, sitting in the "fly" zone at a table that barely had enough space for one of our plates, let alone two. I am not sure I'd go back again, despite my initial attraction. There are too many great restaurants, with better service, to test fate again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stop for dinner after walking by the restaurant. Our waiter was extremely knowledge and patient with all of our questions. The food was good but not necessarily outstanding - although it was all enjoyable. Service was quck and attentive. We would go back again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Cuban Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

They have a patio outside if you would like to people watch along Ashford Ave. The interior dining room always has entertainment, either live or some rockin concert (Cuban) on the big screen television. The food is good with a wide variety to choose from. The waiters are attentive and efficient.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yerbamala”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We were excited to eat at this restaurant based on the reviews. Unfortunately, we did not have a good experience. The place was loud. There was a big screen playing an old JLo concert. Not enough waiters. Some of them were openly arguing with each other. We did not get any bread because they ran out of it (Thursday at 7pm). The place is not family friendly at all. No kids menu and no changing table available in bathroom. The three appetizers we ordered tasted like microwavable food. We waited over an hour between appetizers and entrees. The food was absurdly overpriced. Bottom line: don't waist your time or money on Yerbabuena, there are plenty of nicer restaurants in San Juan.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yerba Buena Restaurant also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Yerba Buena Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yerba Buena Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.