We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great calamari!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosa de Triana

Rosa de Triana
#72 Caleta de San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
787.722.1144
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 639 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great calamari!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Very good spot for lunch. The restaurant is housed in one of the oldest buildings in San Juan - 1523 - and served the best calamari I have ever eaten. Also try the assorted seafood presentation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    89
    23
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terryville, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Eclectic atmosphere and excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stopped here as part of the San Juan Food Tour and since it was close to the Villa Herencia where we were staying, we decided to eat here another night. We were sat outside which was nice. The staff was helpful and everything we ate was seasoned well and very tasty. We sampled many different tapas along with a pitcher is sangria that was great! Moderately priced but on par with the other menus we looked at. Highly recommend you give it a try. Flamenco dancers on Fridays and Saturdays I think.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great last minute choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Prior to our vacation I had researched restaurants for dinner while in OSJ and this one wasn't on my list. But it was across the street from El Convento, where we were staying, so we saw it several times while "out and about". Returning to our hotel one afternoon I suggested we stop there for a quick lunch/snack. We ended up having a 1/2 pitcher of Sangria and appetizers. We really liked the Spanish atmosphere inside, and wondered if it is family owned/operated, as it had that friendly feeling to us. The Sangria was delicious and the food was excellent. I wish now that we had eaten there at least once more...but a reason to return to OSJ! :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food but had some trouble with waiters who knew little English”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Delicious food and close to the port where the ship was docked. One or two waiters did not have good command of English. For a tourist area in Old San Juan, I found this rather unacceptable. Nonetheless, good restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spanish-approved authentic fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We found this place after being introduced to it during a food tour. Although we were served the Puerto Rican part of the menu during the tour, we had a glimpse of the authentic Spanish side when we tasted their bread with alioli. We came back a day later to try it out for lunch. Everything was fantastic with the exception of the tostones, but who cares?! They're a Spanish restaurant and that was a Puerto Rican dish. We ordered half a pitcher of sangria and they practically gave us a pitcher because we definitely poured around 5 or 6 cups and we still hadn't finished it yet. They served us the bread and alioli again. Fantastically garlicky. We had patatas bravas which were very spicy, which is fine with me. We had the gazpacho, which was very refreshing. Finally, we had the croquetas de jamón which were out of this world. I would order two plates of that by myself and shovel it into my mouth if I could right now. hmmm!

Definitely don't miss this place and don't confuse this with the other restaurant which is just called "Triana"!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa de Triana also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Rosa de Triana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosa de Triana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.