We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Flan.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kasalta

Kasalta
1966 Mc Leary, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
787-727-7340
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 684 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, International, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Newark, NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best Flan.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

My entire vacation I said I was gonna eat flan everyday. I had Flan at 5 different spots during my stay and this is the only location that had the BEST flan. I also had a pastrami sandwich that was pretty good. They have a lot of options at this location for food and pastries.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    146
    66
    24
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Pretty cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

No AC! It was hotter than blazes in there and extremely crowded but the food was excellent. We came for brunch and also had mimosas. The mimosas were tiny and $12 but they also used extremely good champagne. Apparently Obama went there to eat so that was cool too. Our front desk guy from our hotel informed us that it was a place you must go if you are in San Juan. I would definitely recommend a quick bite to eat there but if you want mimosas go to the Walgreens around the corner and get some cheap champagne and OJ!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letcher, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oh My My”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I think I tried every food in this place. I loved it. Food Great. Service Great, although not everyone working there spoke english and I speak little spanish, had no trouble ordering and getting exactly what I wanted.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Okay food a bit pricey!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I love 'pan de agua' and really wanted a great egg sandwich. The bread was really good as always but the prices here were a bit steep ($7.95 for just scrambled eggs on bread). Obviously it is located in the ritzy part of town so many don't think much of the pricess. However, I prefer to go into the local neighborhood in search of that great bread and local treats that are freshly baked!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Give it a try especially for cake and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Huge range of cakes. We had a turkey and pastrami sandwich which were good but nothing outstanding. The highlight was the coffee which is best I have had so far in pr. don't expect a smile from the staff but would certainly come back for coffee and cake. BTW coffee is espresso or espresso with milk!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kasalta also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Kasalta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasalta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.