We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best dining experiences in the Caribbean Region.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pikayo

Pikayo
999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
7877216194
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 684 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Pikayo is the flagship restaurant for Chef Wilo Benet. The restaurant has set standards and raised the level of luxury in fine dining in Puerto Rico. Pikayo combines exquisite taste with exclusive ambiance and unique creativity in its cuisine.Avant-garde and intrepid are two words that can be used to describe Chef Wilo Benet’s cuisine. Benet has redefined Puerto Rican cuisine and in the process has put the Island’s enchanting flavors on display for the whole world to admire.Pikayo uses the best ingredients from both sea and land. Enjoy favorites such as Maine Diver Scallops and Petit Duck Magaret.Chef Wilo and Pikayo have been featured on television and in many publications. Recently, Chef Wilo appeared as a guest judge on Bravo’s popular show, Top Chef. He followed up that experience by competing alongside other well-known chefs on Top Chef: Masters. Pikayo has also hosted Andrew Zimmern and his television show from the Travel Channel.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the best dining experiences in the Caribbean Region.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I've followed brilliant chef and restauranteour Wilo Bennet since his first Pikayo in Old San Juan. Never gad a bad dining day with Wilo. If you are looking for a great dining experience in Puerto Rico, don't hesitate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    93
    42
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great location in Condado, easy to make a reservation, friendly reception, attentive servers, elegant without being pretentious, freshest and most delicious dinner, and not at all badly priced. Highly recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilo B, Owner at Pikayo, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I'm happy to hear that you enjoy both the food we serve and the atmosphere we've created here. I'll make sure to pass along your compliments to the rest of the team. Hope to have you back again soon!

All the best,
Chef Wilo, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Still excellent after all these years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

It is incredibly hard for a restaurant to stay at the top of its game year after year but this is one that has done just that. Wilo has some standards on the menu that never cease to please and always something new or improved that can delight your tastebuds. Great food, excellent service, great atmosphere. Try the Salmon Tartar appetizer on crispy rice with Wasabi mayo dressing, exquisite. My wife had jumbo shrimp and I had fillet mignon, both were excellent. I have visited this restaurant in three different locations (it has moved) over the years but the quality, service and creativity remain at a very high standard. My congratulations to Chef Wilo Benet and his staff!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilo B, Owner at Pikayo, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Stephen,

Thank you for your kind review. I'm honored to know you've consistently enjoyed flavorful and memorable meals with us year after year. I'll be sure to pass along your congratulations to our hardworking staff. Looking forward to your next meal with us!

Take care,
Chef Wilo, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Boricua Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Excellent fine dining in the heart of Puerto Rico. Lived in PR for many years and Pikayo is one of my goto places. Not your typical rice, beans, mofungo that you get in PR. Great chefs, excellent fish.
Likes: atmosphere, all dishes are great, service is wonderful.
Dislikes: none, really, except take a taxi to get here. Driving and parking in PR aren't so much fun.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilo B, Owner at Pikayo, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Chuck,

Thank you for your lovely review. Considering you've lived in Puerto Rico for many years, I'm honored to know we're one of your go-to restaurants in San Juan. Looking forward to your next meal with us.

Take care,
Chef Wilo, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My Wife and I visited this restaurant and it was incredible. The food was awesome and service was impeccable. Definitely a must when visiting Puerto Rico.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilo B, Owner at Pikayo, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you Trent! It was a pleasure cooking for you, and I hope you and your wife get to visit again soon.

Best,
Chef Wilo, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pikayo also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Pikayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pikayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.