We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, VERY expensive, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pikayo

Pikayo
999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
7877216194
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 627 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Pikayo is the flagship restaurant for Chef Wilo Benet. The restaurant has set standards and raised the level of luxury in fine dining in Puerto Rico. Pikayo combines exquisite taste with exclusive ambiance and unique creativity in its cuisine.Avant-garde and intrepid are two words that can be used to describe Chef Wilo Benet’s cuisine. Benet has redefined Puerto Rican cuisine and in the process has put the Island’s enchanting flavors on display for the whole world to admire.Pikayo uses the best ingredients from both sea and land. Enjoy favorites such as Maine Diver Scallops and Petit Duck Magaret.Chef Wilo and Pikayo have been featured on television and in many publications. Recently, Chef Wilo appeared as a guest judge on Bravo’s popular show, Top Chef. He followed up that experience by competing alongside other well-known chefs on Top Chef: Masters. Pikayo has also hosted Andrew Zimmern and his television show from the Travel Channel.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, VERY expensive, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Pikayo is certainly a step-up from what you normally get in Puerto Rican cuisine. The service is EXCELLENT and the food is gourmet. However, coming from New York and being a bit of a foodie, the food was not as innovative as I was hoping. The tuna tartar, beef carpaccio, and other appetizers were nothing special -- by no means BAD, and actually quite good -- but nothing different from you'd get at a nice restaurant anywhere else in the US. The food is expensive, too. The one surprise, however, were the rice and beans -- a simple Puerto Rican classic that was simply made to perfection. Good food, but very expensive and nothing too special.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    75
    37
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
“WOW!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Wow!...If you are ever in Puerto Rico, Pikayo Restaurant is the place to go. Whent there with some friends during my visit to PR and had a great time. The food was delicious and the service was great. Never had food soooo good...can't wait to go back (hope sometime soon). It is the place to go when in PR...loved it...loved it!!! Hope the chef opens one in Maryland!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“are you serious? $200?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Supposedly the best restaurant in San Juan and in the top 60 best in the world, this restaurant -- to say the least-- failed to please. We are from San Francisco, CA where this restaurant would be dead inside a year. the menu lead us to believe food would be innovative and waxing poetic. We had salmon and tuna - tres ordinaire- only thing impressive was the food volume. Big portions. appetizers -- foie gras cost $30 for pedestrian goose liver+plantain! so called popcorn shrimp was a cut or two above Colonel Sanders. Held in a sort of retro Carribbean 1950ish ball room, i kept looking for Andy Garcia playing a Cuban - no go for that. the Service was good and well paced.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Definitely a must for a evening out in San Juan for the cuisine lover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

The food was excellent, my wife love a good excerpt and it just happens to be one of their signature dishes, I go anywhere for a good foie gras, theirs was great. My wife will only eats fish that's really great, and she thought the fish was outstanding. Everything including the deserts were first class.
The service was top notch, we did not have reservations and restaurant was booked so we took a tall table near the bar, but the service from the servers, sommelier, etc were all cheerful and helpful. Chef Bennett came to my wife and me and talk for a bit, adding a nice personal touch to the experience.
The atmosphere and ambiance was just go relaxing yet fun, we thoroughly enjoyed the whole evening.
Defiantly somewhere we would go again.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best hidden secrets in San Juan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We visited Pikayo 2 times during this visit to San Juan. On our first night of dining there, we were happy to meet the Chef Wilo Benet. I think the personality and charm of Chef Benet makes the restaurant what it is best known for.........quality food, excellent service, and a fantastic atmosphere.

This is a 5+ star restaurant, here to please your every want and desire. From the second you sit down, you will be pampered until the second you leave. There is a small $2 surcharge for unlimited refills of Fiji water per person. The bread comes straight out of oven hot and fresh every single time, and the butter is made with drips of honey.

The restaurant staff will make sure that you are 100% completely satisfied during every course of the meal. Your water will never reach below a sip or two....unless you're a very thirsty person :)

You can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Your taste will decide what way you're going! The cost of the meal with alcohol for two usually won't top $160 or $170.

Thanks for taking care of us both nights Remi !! Hope to see you guys again in another 6 months or so.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pikayo also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Pikayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pikayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.