We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the Hype” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar

Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar
317 Fortaleza Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
+1 787-724-3969
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 639 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean, Organic, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fortaleza Street
Transit: Bus Station is located only two blocks from the center of San Juan where Marmalade is located
Description: To preserve the Marmalade experience at the respect of our patrons the age requirement for children is 7 years or older. Dress appropriately please, no shorts and beach sandals in the restaurant.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lives up to the Hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This beautiful restaurant in Old San Juan is as good as the reviews say it is. Expert servers, congenial host/chef, impressive wine list, and simply marvelous food. The 'tasting' menus are really combination deals that do not need to be ordered by everyone at the table; I had an appetizer and an entree while my wife had the four course menu, which saved some money,but was plenty to eat and share. Nice touch: she had the signature 'Tiny white bean soup' and they served me a small portion so I could taste it and so "she would not have to eat alone". A truly memorable meal that did not break the bank. Expensive, but an excellent value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,053
    262
    93
    35
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always a great culinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Marmalade has developed a fabulous menu of dishes that truly excite the palate. We have been dining here for years. This year I decided to get a larger portion of my favorite dish instead of the four course tasting paired with wine. Outstanding!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good, but not awesome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Being rated #1, I was really expecting something beyond spectacular and for me it wasn't. I was in a large party and we had a large appetizer tasting menu. Popcorn shrimp which lacked flavor, chorizo sausage very good, papardelle very good, corkscrew pasta not good, gnocchi which was my favorite and a favorite of the table, white bean truffle soup which i sipped a little but it was way too hot in the restaurant I couldn't finish. The entree of filet was maybe 4 oz of sliced filet overcooked and entrenched in mashed potatoes. Did not enjoy. Person next to me had the halibut cheeks and said they were overcooked. If you are planning on going, try during the week because I think they were overwhelmed as it was Friday and twice we asked to lower the air to make it cooler and it never happened. Decor was trendy and nice and good location in old San Juan.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Possibly the best meal I have had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had a wonderful 5 course (with wine pairing) tasting menu this evening at Marmalade. What an explosion of flavors! The wine (or in some cases saki and rum) pairings were exquisite. What a sensational meal. Really cool atmosphere as well, the decor adds to the experience. Make sure you book in advance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Both food and service was terrific! Vegetarian and gluten free options including desserts! The chef comes out and greets everyone. Don't settle for crappy tourist food. I love how you can choose what you want for the tasting menu.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.