We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambiance and great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar

Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar
317 Fortaleza Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
+1 787-724-3969
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 627 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean, International, Fusion, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fortaleza Street
Transit: Bus Station is located only two blocks from the center of San Juan where Marmalade is located
Description: Marmalade does not accommodate children under seven years old. Dress appropriately please, no shorts and beach sandals in the restaurant.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We ate here on a trip to Puerto Rico for our 25th anniversary. The hotel we stayed in recommend "Marmalade" for our anniversary dinner and it did not disappoint! We were seated in a lovely corner table with dozens of colorful throw pillows to our backs and sprinkled on our table were rose petals. The 4 course meals were amazing and well worth the price. The evening was very enjoyable and we will definitely return if we are ever in P.R. again. :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,745
    226
    84
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Road Town, Tortola
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“try the tasting menu and wine pairing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just do it! Great value, service, ambience, and also value for this level of dining experience.
Proprietor/Head Chef Peter made a point of spending time with us on at least 2 occasions during a night spent sampling a fantastic array of dishes (the apple and organic honey starter was incredible). A highlight of our weekend in Old San Juan.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A San Juan Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

From the professional service to the ambiance this is a great restaurant conventiently located in Old San Juan. By all means try the tasting menue since it provides an excellent opportunity to sample many of the chefs creative dishes. By all means make a reservation-the restaurant is very popular. The service is attentive without being overbearing. The chef usually stops by as well to make sure everything is going well. I assure you this will rank as one of your best dining experiences. Take your time, have a drink, and enjoy the incredible tastes coming out of the kitchen.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST MEAL!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This goes down as the best meal I have had in a very long time. I chose this restaurant because it was my husband's birthday and the reviews were fabulous. It didn't disappoint. The food, atmosphere, service -- was spectacular. It was worth every penny.
The tiny bean soup was amazing. I could have had that all night. Our meals were delicious. I ate the seabass and it was beautiful -- in taste and presentation. The banana bread pudding for dessert topped off an amazing meal. Jenelle was our server and she was so knowledgeable and made the best suggestions. If your are in San Juan -- don't miss this gem.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great wine pairings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We selected the 4 course prix fixe with a wine pairing. All of the food was amazing and the selected pairings really added to each course. The hand rolled black truffle tagliatelle pasta was very good but a bit rich. We also selected the ceviche, tiny white bean soup, risotto of lobster, sea bass and grass fed organic beef tenderloin.

Our waitress was very well informed on all the menu items as well as suggesting options that we might enjoy when we had questions about the menu. The chef not only served most of our food but he also bussed some of our items. Can't wait to go back :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.