We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar

Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar
317 Fortaleza Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
+1 787-724-3969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 578 restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean, International, Fusion, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fortaleza Street
Transit: Bus Station is located only two blocks from the center of San Juan where Marmalade is located
Description: Marmalade does not accommodate children under seven years old. Dress appropriately please, no shorts and beach sandals in the restaurant.
alabamaspud
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I encourage you to go to Marmalade for great food, service and ambiance. I went for my birthday and they made it special from the flower petals on my placemat to the friendly staff. Raymond was our server and we felt catered to. We even saw him several days later in the city and he remembered us. The food is exceptional. The best we've ever had. The white bean soup is like velvet. I recommedn the 5 course tasting menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    1,533
    205
    75
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Viejo San Juan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant in Puerto Rico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

As a resident of Old San Juan I have the luxury of many good restaurants nearby. Nothing compares to Marmalade. Not even close. The quality of the food, the blending of textures, and the occasional tweaking of the menu make this restaurant the best in Puerto Rico. The waiters are very knowledgeable and attentive and the Chef runs his entire operation close to his vest. Nothing is out of balance. The tasting menus with wine pairings is my typical choice, but it is very hard to go wrong with the menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Revisiting this excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We returned to Marmalade this evening and again found the food exceptional. Four of us enjoyed a broad sampling of the many delicious dishes. We particularly found the Morrocan influence scrumptious. The tagine was cooked to perfection and we shared the cauliflower with Persian spices which all deemed yummy. The swordfish was a little too bland but the scallops were served with a wonderful sauce. The only detraction was that the service was careless and although the waiter was charming, he forgot several parts of the order. The chef, Peter, came by the table to express his concerns about the miscues and was generous to send some complimentary desserts. Also more than just good. The restaurant certainly is upbeat with a good mix of clients all who seem to be having a good time. The dishes and glasses show a well thought out choice to project a classy dining establishment. This is a terrific restaurant to enjoy when in the San Juan area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

First of all, the décor is so fun you need to go just for that! There are many places to sit throughout the restaurant. The bar has plenty of room to socialize and there are 3 sections in the back, one in the middle and 2 on either side. There are small areas where you can either dine or just lounge and snack. It’s very trendy and eye-catching with so many different seating area’s to think about where you want to be pampered. We sat in the middle with a round onyx table and it was hot on the bench side but fine on the other. The bathroom doors are very cool, you can see out but the outside cannot see in! The service was excellent! We had a variety of foods, the sashimi was amazing! Their signature dish, the white bean soup was not to miss! The wine selection was very good as well. We were able to walk here from about anywhere since Old San Juan is so small. I would recommend this place for anyone and everyone who appreciates a nice meal- wither it’s a special occasion or just hanging out in the bar.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really really worth the hype”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate there last night and was initially unimpressed with the bar area as we waited for our seats. At the bar - and what seems like every place in SJ - the drinks were weak and the decor, lacking. But the restaurant area is nicer and the food wasinsane delicious. The waitstaff are impeccable and very accommodating. The food is a bit pricey, but worth it. My wife was a little shocked at the wine prices (she sells the same bottles in NYC) as they were marked up well above the norm (might be a distribution cost? Dunno). We were also charged for tap water -7$-which I thought later was a mistake for sparkling? All in all we had a great meal and was thoroughly satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marmalade Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.