We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best piña coladas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrachina

Barrachina
104 Fortaleza St. | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
787-725-7912
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Barrachina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 684 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: International, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best piña coladas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

They are absolutely amazing! The piña coladas are the best I've ever had! The mofongos are also some of the best I've ever had and to be honest I'm quite picky when it comes to mofongos. The staff are friendly and you are able to enjoy either indoor (ac) or outdoor (open court) dining experiences

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    400
    188
    55
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
il
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“5 stars!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Loved Barrachina! Not only do they have great food and the best Pina Coladas,( be careful, they go down real smooth), they also stored our luggage after our cruise so we can tour Old San Juan a couple of hours before we had lunch there. Our waiter, Hose, was on top of everything.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wished we'd stayed longer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Got a piña colada but now we need to go back for more! The outdoor indoor courtyard bar was awesome and the bird was a great touch! We want to get back before we leave town!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best local choice for breafast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Mostly locals eating local fare, Just order what the table next to you orders. Great coffee to boot.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DALLAS, TEXAS
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average nice visit. Touristy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Visited on a Saturday night; had to wait for a table yet the restaurant seemed very slow. Maybe half full. Pina Coladas were under $10 (nice surprise) but a little watery for my liking - but perhaps I am used to more slush and less alcohol. Nice plaque to take a picture next to outside. Food was average. Don't ask to split checks unless you want to see an eye roll from the waiter. We were a party of 6, and the table next to us was a party of 20. Overall, good check mark for the tourist attraction but don't have to visit twice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrachina also viewed

 

Been to Barrachina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrachina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.