We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coqui del Mar Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coqui del Mar Guest House to your Saves list
Coqui del Mar Guest House
2218 Calle General del Valle, San Juan 00913, Puerto Rico (Formerly Coqui del Mar Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlotte NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beyond Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have returned from my stay of 4 nights 5 days at the Coqui Del Mar, and it was the most fantastic birthday/vacation/Super Bowl extravaganza of my entire life! I am going to basically restate what all the other reviews have... This guest house has the authentic soul of Puerto Rico! My husband, and 2 of my girlfriends rented the "El Sol" as a 2 bedroom. It had everything anyone could want in a guest house. The kitchen and utensils were more than adequate, the steam shower in hallway bathroom was so wonderful (listening to salsa music while taking a shower=priceless). To sit on the enclosed patio and look out at the beautiful sunrise and palm trees could not have been more relaxing... But more than that, as every review has stated, Noyda and Neil have to be the most beautiful souls I have ever met. They are meant to run this guest house, they threw a super bowl party in the courtyard, and because I just mentioned in passing craveing some authentic Puerto Rican rice and beans, she surprised me and added it to the cookout menu! Now if you can't see the beauty in that, you are crazy. Not only did we have the time of our lives with Noyda and all of her friends, the comraderie and true spirit of the guest house sincerely touched me.... Esti who is Noydas assistant also made the most banging macaroni salad I have ever had, and I am from the South! They literally take care of you in a way that NO hotel or for that matter any other guest house I have EVER stayed in has. Being a travel agent, I know people have their preference of how they travel, and as other reviews have stated if you are into the Westin,Four Season experience this is not for you, However if you want San Juan to take your spirit to a higher level, Coqui Del Mar is the #1 Guest House in my opinion. The beach which is a 5 min walk at most was simply beautiful, the Ocean Park area is full of neighborhood flavor, 5 min away is the main casino,club strip. 15 min away is Old San Juan. This is the perfect base for pretty much any activity your heart desires! Noyda and Neil will provide with ANY tools you may need, directions, restaurant referrals, car rentals, and they do it with such ease, I look at it this way, in a hotel, customer service gets paid to make you feel at ease, what Noyda and Neil do for this guest house comes from the heart, not a paycheck. This travel agent is already planning her next trip and I am bringing back more friends and family so that they to can experience what we did!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    78
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
173
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

WE enjoyed our stay in October 2012. We took our two daughters (5 and 2). We forgot to take sand/beach toys for them and had in mind to buy some. To our surprise, Coqui had these toys for our use. This was only the beginning of our pleasant surprises of staying at Coqui. We stayed at La Concha and had a blast. Our daughters loved it. Would recommend it to all my friends and relatives. I plan to visit again soon.

Noe and Alejandra Vasquez

Room Tip: La Concha is a good room if you take kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in 'La Concha' suite for 4 days in mid January following a cruise we took. This guest house was just wonderful with a convenient location. You are in a residential area (which felt very safe, we never had any issues) and just steps to the public beach. There are several good restaurants within walking distance, the bus stop that takes you into Old San Juan is only a few blocks away and there are grocery stores within 1 - 2 miles. The guest house is clean and quiet. It had everything we needed. Noyda was an amazing host. She answered all our questions, was always happy to suggest good spots in the area and made us feel so welcome. This is not a hotel, so if you feel you need that environment then book the Hilton. This place makes you feel like you are in your own little tropical home away from home. Perfect! We cannot wait to come back.

Room Tip: La Concha was on the second floor which was away from the common courtyard area for extra privacy. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed in La Concha Suite for 3 nights in January prior to joining our cruise out of San Juan. We booked Coqui del Mar (lets call it CDM for short) after reading many good reviews on TA. We were not dissapointed in any way. The property is located in a quite residential neighborhood away from the hustle and bustle of old town. We loved the location as it was easy to get into town by bus or taxi and the area of the guest house is very quiet both day and night. CDM is located close to the local beach which is literally a 2 minute walk away. Most of the suites have a self catering kitchen and there is an excellent large local supermarket about a 7 minute walk away. We bought fresh groceries and made our own breakfast every day. There is a selection of good local restaurants that are situated 5 blocks away and are easy to walk to. The restaurants include a couple serving local Puerto Rican Cuisine, a chinese restaurant, a nice steak house, a funky music bar / restaurant and our favourite which was "Inca Chicken". Inca Chicken is nothing special to the eye but it serves the tastiest rotisserie chicken which is marinated in garlic, lemon, cilantro, salt, pepper and chilli - I have written a seperate review about this place on TA.
Anyway back to CDM, the place is very well managed by the lovely Noyda who lives on site and is such a sweetheart and is ready to help guests with questions, tourist info, excursion bookings, taxi transfers etc etc she is a credit to this place. CDM is very clean and has suites / rooms on the ground floor as well as a few on the first floor. Our room had everything we needed for our stay and a very comfy bed. The AC in the room worked great and the double rain head shower was awesome.
There is a common courtyaard area where guests can sit under umbrellas at tables to eat or drink and in the same area is a gas BBQ that can be used. The courtyard is surrounded by large trees to make it private and is full of tropical plants. There is even a mango tree where we were able to get fresh mangos for breakfast each day. In another area of the courtyard is a nice hot tub / spa which is nice to sit in and relax with a drink after a hard days exploring SJ. The property also has 3 bicycles which can be borrowed. We used them for 2 days and cycled almost all the way into old town, it was a great way to see the local area.
We walked around the area very late at night and felt very safe at all times. CDM is quite hard to locate as it is at the end of a dead end street as one end of the street is closed to traffic by a locked gate. If you book a stay at CDM they will email you directions in english and Spanish which you can print and simply hand to the taxi driver at the airport. Our driver read the instructions and we aere at CDM within 15 minutes and a $20 cab ride from the airport.
CDM is a great place to stay, good, clean rooms which are great value for money and located in an area where you can get the feel of real local Puerto Rico living.
Oh last point - in the area of the restaurants there is a local liquor store where you can buy wine , beer and hard stuff. The liquor store also doubles as a really funky bar where you can buy drinks from the store and have the barman pour them into a glass for you to drink right there. We had a great evening after one of our meals just hanging out with the local crowd in there and again the clientelle is very nice and are welcoming to visitors.

Room Tip: If you cant manage stairs then pick one of the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent a week here in early January and it was a magical visit. We rented a car from the airport (Budget) at a very reasonable price for the week and drove to Coqui del Mar...a short 15 min from the airport. Coqui (named after the indiginous frog that serenades you at night) Del Mar is a charming guest house one easy block from the ocean....you can hear the waves from your porch. We stayed in the Coquina room, perfect for 2 with separate fully equiped kitchen, double shower bath and sleeping area with flat screen TV.....on second floor....all very comfortable. Air conditioning worked well the entire time. The manager, Noyda, was so helpful and knowlegable on the area and what we were looking for...full of suggestions on restaurants in area and around country, sights to see, things to look for....it made our trip all the better. The guest house has several rooms in varying sizes, a pretty garden sitting area, hot tub and gas grill. It is a beautiful lush area with tropical plants and bird feeders. When we return to Puerto Rico, which we will...there is more to see than you can see in a week, we will return to Coqui del Mar.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed nice, however no elevator to second floor if you have many bags to carry....it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We just returned from 4 nights staying at Coqui Del Mar. My husband & I had El Pescado, and my sister & BIL stayed in El Margo, a couple feet away from us. First of all, we were arriving a few hours before check-in from a cruise, and when we arrived the staff were rushing around getting our rooms ready - we greatly appreciated that, and we were able to check - in right away. Noyda gave us directions to the grocery store and off we went. El Pescado was very comfortable and met our needs. The bathroom is on the small side and the tile in the shower is very slippery - bed was very comfortable, kitchen had everything we needed, TV & access to the computer was great. We were asked to provide our feedback to help with improvements, and in this suite I would say that it is in need of a couple of new couches as the 2 in the suite were very worn and on the dirty side. Unfortunately El Mango is very small, and in all fairness we did expect this from the pictures, however it is extremely small. The only place to sit is on the bed, and the bed itself was not very comfortablle. The bathroom situation is another story, and my sis & BIL ended up using ours quite often. They did however hang out in our suite most of the time which was the intention when the owner offered us this solution since we missed out on the larger suite. They made the best of it, and we did truly enjoy our time here. Noyda was very helpful in advice on restaurants (Atlantica was fantastic and a great end to our vacation), also advice on the neighbourhood, taxi, etc., - we were also able to do our laundry which was really helpful. Several restaurants, groceries, the beach are all within walking distance. The bus stop in to San Juan is also fairly close, although you can wait for a bus for 1 1/2 hours which we found took up too much of our valued vacation time. A taxi ride in to San Juan was always under $20 for the 4 of us, and much more convenient. We felt comfortable walking around the neighbourhood but be advised there are some areas you should avoid and its best to find our where these are before you venture out, especially at night! Thank you to Noyda & to Rob for a great stay in Puerto Rico - we would definitely stay with you again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

we had a one night stay in el coqui del mar on december 23 and had a lovely time staying in el pescado with our family of 4.

LOCATION:
excellent, 1 block from a so so beach (narrow, near the main road, lots of debris) but 10 minutes walking away from a broad swath of beach. christopher, the temporary host, pointed us to this area. on a residential street. felt very safe on that street. at the end of a one way street to get in with a pedestrian gate to go through. we had no problems with parking our rental car. i took a walk late at night to try and get a snack but turned around after a few blocks, no one around, very dark - felt a little sketchy but during the day excellent.
you definitely need a car to travel to old san juan.

ROOM:
note that others have totally dinged el pescado since we were there, but when we stayed, we arrived early and left our luggage with the host. he had just had a large group of young people staying there (i think 6!) and it was a total mess (plus a hungover guy still sleeping it off). by the time we changed, freshened up (he let us use another empty room), we were able to put our stuff in the room and head out sight seeing. by the time we got back, the room was pristine. bathroom was fine (very small). there is salt corrosion on some of the fixtures in the bathroom, but where is there not (same at rio mar fancy resort). fish in the bathroom were funny for the kids. the room has a large computer/tv/wifi/internet access, full kitchen and futon and sofa. there are some board games. it was not noisy - there was some background nose from cars going by with full music on, but with the AC muffling it, it was fine.

HOSPITALITY
the regular hosts weren't there, but christopher was really helpful to us, from allowing us to use other rooms to change, giving us tips on where to beach, getting enough towels. we were going to go the beach and get back after check out time. since they had other guests coming in, we initially couldn't use that room but he offered other space. later that day, christopher walked down to the beach (15 min walk) to find us and let us know his other guests' flight was delayed and we were welcome to use the room still. more work for him since we used the showers again. we thought that was above and beyond the usual service. the map is useful, but things were a little farther than we thought. we would go back with family and book more rooms!

tip on OSJ parking:
about 1/2 hour drive on the local roads to OSJ. it was really easy to find a parking lot in OSJ and then walk everywhere else. you could park in san christobel's lot and then walk around from there, or there is another lot as you head towards el morro with the water on your left. before the road changes to brick, you make the left to a parking lot under the big maroon column in the square there. cheap and safe parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coqui del Mar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coqui del Mar Guest House

Address: 2218 Calle General del Valle, San Juan 00913, Puerto Rico (Formerly Coqui del Mar Guesthouse)
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a smaller guest house nestled in a neighborhood setting of the Ocean Park beach area of San Juan, in between Old San Juan and the international airport. We are 3 minutes walk to the nearest beach. You will have a chance to see how the locals live and you will not be one of 1000 other tourists...the Ocean Park beach is one of the locals's favoites, and also a preferred spot for kite surfing and windsurfers. We are 5 minutes walk to the tourist bus route (which goes to the casinos and to Old San Juan) and walkable to restaurants and grocery stores. Each of our units have full kitchen, free WiFi, cable TV/DVD, Apple TV, in room safes, and an Ipod player. Some units have extras such as Apple Computers. We strive to provide more than expected, and I think you will find that with us, from the beach chairs, or bicycles to the in room safes, there are no extra charges. One of the best things about us is our live in management, Noyda and Neal, who call Coqui del Mar home and welcome you as if it is your home as well. They are local experts and can help you find a great restaurant, plan a special event, or enjoy a chat. Our courtyard, bar-b-que and jacuzzi are great for meeting other guests. If you are looking for personal service and a unique, eco-friendly (we have solar hot water supplemented by electric, ceiling fans supplemented by ACs, and offer recycling), and a clean guest house for a reasonable price, then check us out. We are not a Marriott and offer our own unique sense of quirky and intimate Puerto Rico. Come join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Coqui del Mar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coqui Del Mar Hotel San Juan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coqui del Mar Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.