We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR HONEYMOON STAY AT LACONCHA WAS BEAUTIFUL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Naughty or Nice Package
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
New York, USA
1 review
“OUR HONEYMOON STAY AT LACONCHA WAS BEAUTIFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

The staff and the hotel were wonderful. Pictures on website are exactly how the hotel looks and better. Beautiful!!!!!! We do not think there is a better hotel in San Juan! It’s a must stay! Johnny the nighttime bartender and David the waiter/pool attendant at the hotel restaurant Solera were the best ever!!!!! Will go again def. Matter of fact, we are planning a trip for my birthday in June!!! Thumbs up for La Concha!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,425
    1,305
    413
    158
    113
See reviews for
897
1,787
113
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Just got back from a trip we took from Feb 23-28th. This was our first time to Puerto Rico and we enjoyed ourselves. Overall it was a nice resort. When you first arrive you think its a very chic / modern hotel. In actuality, it appears to be an old hotel that was "added onto" and then remodeled over the years. There is a newer tower that people seemed to like because each room had balconies you could sit out on. Just a word of caution however that the newer tower does have a wing that overlooks the San Juan city - kind of ugly view compared to those with ocean views. The older building (tower) is where we stayed. The rooms we redone and were very nice and clean. Each room had an ocean view which is great. However, this 12 floor tower also had some flaws in that not many rooms had balconies you could sit out on. I was on the 12th floor and had a great view of ocean which two chairs and table. Most rooms however on this tower have only windows or a walk out balcony barely big enough to stand on. This is something they don't reveal on the website too openly and should do a better job explaining.

The lobby bar was nice and was lively at night. If you like dressing up and having fancy drinks then this is your place to hang at night to see the local who's who. We also are big pool people and compared to other hotels we felt their pools were lacking. They have 3 pools altogether at this property. Each is relatively small and none with a swim up pool bar. Again, you get the impression that these pools were kind of added on as the property expanded. Sun light was another issue as it pertains to the pool areas. The two smaller infinity pools had no sunlight over them come 1pm, so everyone scattered to find warmth because this property DOES NOT seem to use heaters on their pools. For you beach goers... You could always find chairs and we were there duing a busy week. The staff was willing to set up your chairs and offer you an umbrella if that was your thing. The ocean water was nice, but a little rough for small kids in our opinion. Not a white sandy beach, but more like Jersey Shore sand, yet nice.
Finally, and this was my biggest beef with the hotel. During our stay there were two days where they shut down the two small infinity pools for private functions. I don't remember getting a discount for closed facilities so they could use those areas for corporate functions or wedddings. All this did was to force every pool guest to main pool which is not big enough for a busy occupancy week.

Would I recommend this hotel to another? The answer is yes now that you know what you are getting into. I hate when my expectations are higher than the reality met upon arrival. I think my review is fair andn pretty spot on. The people and service staff were very friendly to help, but like any other hotel there are always a few who take their sweet old time giving you good service despite your willingness to tip well.

As for kids... This is definitely not the most kid friendly place. The smaller pools make it difficult for them to have fun because the adults frowned upon the splashing. The beach is the better place for kids to hang if you decide to bring them. We were there coming off president's week so there were a few families there. I thought the parents seemed stressed because the kids had little to do and not a lot of free running around the pools withought annoying travelers looking to relax. Take that from a guy who left his 9 and 11 year at home to get away for a long weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011 via mobile

I took My girlfriend an our daughter (4months old) here for her birthday. The room wasn't ready when we arrived at 2 a little frustrating , but worth the wait. Room was immaculate and spacious. We stayed in the Spa suite 11th floor(top) without jacuzzi u gain 100sq ft unless u need it it's a waste of space . Service was great they brought our crib up for my daughter within minutes of the request. They had a fully staff hotel and always seemed to be cleaning. If u stay here stay soon as it is recently renovated 6 months ago and thy never usually stay this perfect for that long.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at La Concha this past week in a one-bedroom tower suite. This is our second stay following a vacation we took in January in an Ocean front room. The one-bedroom suite was a major improvement and was very quiet and nice. The room was very modern, and clean and comfy. The only thing that needs improvement is that upon arrival our kitchen area (including some cups, and countertops not been cleaned. I immediately called housekeeping and was responded to immediately. A very nice gentleman came and cleaned the kitchen to perfection and was very accomodating. I appreciated the quick response and great assistance. This did not deter me from wanting to come back, just hopefully next time this will be done ahead of time. (but please note, the suite was amazing and both my boyfriend and I were very pleased).

Overall the customer service and staff is quite accomodating and very kind. They are quick to respond to requests and are very helpful. I see the potential of this young staff to really make this hotel more amazing once the small kinks are worked out. But by far, this is the best and cleanest hotel that I have stayed at in the San Juan area. It beats out all of the other marriotts and having a kitchen was wonderful. The balcony was also very beautiful and the view very nice! I will most likely stay here the next time Im in San Juan.

PS. Parking is very convenient if you have or rent a car. Easy in and out access, and the hotel is within 10 minutes of everything. I drove to Old San Juan and Isla Verde, as well as walked to Ocean Park to meet up with friends. Great location.

Thanks for a great trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Okay, just stayed at la concha in condado san juan. Very clean, nice modern hotel. was excited to stay there after it got great reviews. It is not a hotel for kids there is no kids club and not much for them to do. They have nice small pools but they are cold, trade winds blow all the time so it is windy bring a cover up. The hotel food is pricey and okay most nights we went outside the hotel for dinner , there are alot of restarants in the area , a 5 min. walk. The area is tired but it is beginning to renovate. The beach of the hotel is the most disappointing , if you are looking for a gorgeous beach this is not it. Also the waves are dangerous for all people and especially the young. So , i recommend this hotel very much for itself, beautiful, chic , clean nice staff, great rooms, stay in the Ocean tower, brand new. If i went back though i would find a better surronding area and beach. If you go , old San juan is amazing and the rainforest, take a tour guide you will learn so much more. All in all the people of puerto rico are great, so nice, i would go back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed on the 8th floor of La Concha from Friday, Feb 18, 2011 to Wednesday, Feb 23, 2011. Great facilities; ocean view room with floor/ceiling windows was wonderful; water was hot and all faucets and fixtures worked. House keeping excellent; beds were made and towels replaced by 3 pm every day. Every staff member was friendly and helpful, which was very nice. Pools, seating area, beach all were excellent and well kept. Hotel location was great for city touring. Bus B21 (75 cents, exact change required, bus stop right outside the hotel) went to/from Old Town and ALSO went to the art museum. A few blocks down the street were Walgreens (we forgot sun tan lotion and also wanted Raisin Bran and milk for breakfast), two ice cream stores (Baskin Robbins and Coldstone Creamery), and lots of restaurants. No complaints at all about any of the above.

Problems: 1. As mentioned elsewhere, noise from bar/pool is a problem depending on room location and day of the week. The problem is that the door to the room is not soundproofed and opens onto an open air balcony overlooking the pool, so outside noise easily enters the room. There is no weather stripping, or rubber gasket around the door as is done in colder climates. This problem could be solved rather easily and so it's a mystery to me why it hasn't been addressed, especially considering the price of the room. Noise comes from the band or recorded music by pool or bar, as well as occasional loud motorcycles, car alarms, crying children, or hallway conversations. The problem was worse on Friday and Saturday since there was no band/music during the week. In contrast, noise from the surf was inaudible as long as the floor length window was closed, even though the surf was louder than the band. And we never heard any noise from adjacent rooms. But the trumpet and the drums from the band could be clearly heard even in our bathroom at 3 am Friday night/Saturday morning. We finally solved the pool noise problem by opening the ocean view window and letting the surf noise drown out the band. This worked pretty well, actually. The band quit around midnight on Saturday night and we didn't hear anything from Sunday until Wednesday when we left. I expect that this would be a problem only for rooms overlooking the pool, which were all rooms with numbers ending in 01 to about 12 on any floor.
2. Hotel bookkeeping was error-prone but everything was eventually resolved correctly. We had a prepaid reservation and upon checkin they asked for a credit card for incidental expenses which is standard. But it took the desk clerk 15 minutes of phone calls to make the accounting department understand that the reservation was prepaid so our credit card should NOT be charged for the room fees. Of course, all of this was forgotten by the time we checked out since the room fee was again charged to our credit card. In addition, there was a bar bill even though we had not been to the bar. This time it took the desk clerk an hour to get it resolved. But all the charges were eventually charged correctly. The desk clerks were all very helpful and concerned so it was clearly a problem in the accounting department. So visitors should check their bills correctly to make sure they are correct.

Four stars because of noise and cost.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We just got back from our second trip to La Concha and are already looking forward to a third stay! Aside from the perfect location: great beach, countless restaurants, close to Old San Juan, the hotel is top notch in every way. It's modern, clean, spacious, with comfortable bedding. The fitness room is in great condition and the staff there is also helpful if you have any questions about the equipment. But their best asset is their staff. Starting with Felix, who greeted us time and again when we came and went, to the entire beach and pool staff who seem to always remember where you like your chaise lounges....and there is no questions that Louise is the BEST concierge. She and her staff (especially Natalia and Frankie) greet you with a smile and truly go out of their way to help you with any requests. Louise is one of the reasons we came back to La Concha and the reason we recommended the hotel to several friends who stayed there and loved it - based on our review, one couple stayed for their honeymoon and they are still raving about it! While it was so sad leaving La Concha and beautiful Puerto Rico, we know we will be back with our friends soon.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#5 Family Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.