We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property. Great Service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
#BeachPlease Package
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great property. Great Service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I spent a long weekend at this property and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Resort-style vacationing isn't typically our thing but the location of La Concha afforded us the opportunity to relax by the water and to access lots of local sights easily. While you're here, be sure to visit Pinky's down the street for breakfast!
There's a good amount within walking distance, but Old San Juan requires a taxi or a bus ride. Be warned: the buses do not run on schedule and the traffic on (one-way) Ashford Ave is horrendous!
The service was great - everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The food was OK and ocean view rooms are awesome. The city locale and the lobby-turned nightclub on the weekends can make it a bit loud at night...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,707
    1,435
    484
    178
    130
See reviews for
1,028
1,978
126
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,645)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Surpassed all of our expectations. Really an exceptional experience for us. Had an Ocean view room and worth every penny. Spent many long afternoons lounging in the adult-only pool listening to the waves. The property was so relaxing that we ended up cancelling most of our plans to see the rest of the island just to enjoy the facility.

Hotel gym was better than we expected and overlooked the ocean. Casino was convenient if not overly impressive. Restaurants were very good. They were pricier then nearby dining establishments but not outrageously so. And while the nightclub was exceptionally loud when walking in, we didn't hear it at all when in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We came back to the La Concha for our third visit in six years. We love the location and the entire layout of the hotel. A couple of points based on other reviews:

- I’m not a beach expert, but I can attest that the surf on the beach at La Concha can be pretty rough. It’s fun, but not everyone’s cup of tea.

- They have three pools and one of them is designated for adults only. They do have a security guard that asks families with children under 15 to leave. Usually the families just didn’t see the sign.

- We have had an ocean view room in the past, this time we stayed in a city view room in the new tower. Obviously there is a price difference. I didn’t miss the ocean view, we saw enough of it during the day. However the walk to the elevator from the opposite corner wasn’t as convenient as being on the ocean side of the building and there was noise on the street until late at night on at least one night, but it wasn’t that bothersome. I liked seeing the different things that were going on in the city. The most fun was to watch the three dogs that came out and hung out on the roof top across the street at 4:30 every day and stayed there until 7:30 the next morning.

- The neighborhood around the hotel is really the selling point, we only went into Old San Juan on one afternoon. The rest of the time we hit the stores and restaurants in the Condado area. Once again this area is not for everyone. We like urban areas and aren’t phased by a couple of vacant buildings. I think the addition of the Condado Vanderbilt next door will really change the area, for the better.

We really like the hotel and wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed this stay. The property is beautiful. Nice pools, great beach, good food, near plenty of bars/restaurants. Casino had low table limits and we did well each night. The room (ocean view on 4th floor) was pretty small, but still nice. Would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our last night in PR was spent at La Concha Resort and it was a nice end to our honeymoon. The room was nice, but it did have a stale smell that my travel candle came in handy to cover up. The air conditioner in the room was also very finicky and we were either very hot or freezing.

The pools and beach were beautiful and well maintained. The staff were all happy and helpful, especially our breakfast server who joked with us and was quick with the coffee (we are very sad we cannot remember her name!).

We discovered La Concha when we visited during our stay at El Convento in Old San Juan. While I loved the pool and beach, the smell of the room would likely prevent me from staying here again and opting for El Convento and taking the $10 cab ride to utilize the pools and beaches when desired. The benefit to staying here was that the room did have a fully equipped kitchen which would have been great for a longer stay.

The Casino was a bit blah in that it seemed a bit dated and drab. We aren't complaining too much though, we did win a bit of cash! :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had stayed at this hotel last month and did not have the best level of service. I had to attend an investment conference in this same establishment and feared the same experience, so I was proactive and reached out to Luis. Rivera, the General Manager and he was very gracious and responded within a day. Although I needed to wait for a bit in order for the room to be ready, he had upgraded me to an oceanfront suite and had a bottle of wine delivered to the room in order to apologize for the faults with the prior stay. He also graciously gave me a late check out. The hotel was just purchased by a new entity and the level of service has definitely improved. All my negative thoughts were erased by the GM's efforts and I would now enthusiastically recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The suite tower is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

OK...I've read the reviews of others and I think that somehow many folks are a bit confused on what they are getting. My wife and two sons (ages 15 and 13) spent four days here this past week and really enjoyed our stay. So here goes...the good and the bad.

Good Stuff
* Our room was nice. We did not stay in the "suites" tower...the reviews from those folks seem overwhelmingly negative. We had a two queen bed ocean view room. I thought the room was pretty roomy overall, especially compared to most rooms with two beds.
* San Juan - what a delightful city.
* Condado - Yes, the neighborhood is still gentrifying, but we never felt it was unsafe at all. Just keep in mind you are in a city and use your common sense. That said, we found plenty of great shopping, my daily Starbucks fix, and lots of good places (at all prices) for food and drink. And my kids were just fine walking on their own in the evening to grab a snack.
* Hotel staff - Just amazing. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcome. The staff in the executive lounge was amazing. And what I really liked is the staff in the lounge and at the entrance remembered us by name!
* The beach...ah the beach. Waves were nice; you could actually body surf. That was great. I heard people complaining that it was too rough. Again, not sure why you would ever go to an ocean WITHOUT waves.
* Different places for different groups of people - We actually found that the different types of people (families with kids; 20 something partiers; married couples without kids) seemed to be able to find places to be. If you don't want to be subjected to groups of people different than you, then this is not the resort for you. Then again, we expected that there would be a variety of groups of people here and so we were surprised (or angry like some of the other reviewers).
* The executive lounge (gold/platinum lounge?) was excellent. Great food. And the staff was simply amazing. They made us feel incredibly welcome.

Room for Improvement
* Yes , the shower design is not perfect. But put a bath mat at the entrance and it worked. But the current design has water going into the bathroom if the bath mat isn't in place.
* On the last day, two of the three elevators would not stop on the way to the lobby. So the wait for an elevator grew to 15-20 minutes. I told the desk at 7 AM but not quite sure they were explaining the issue correctly to engineering. When we left several hours later they were still not working properly.
.* As is typical for "resort" type places, the food and drink are astronomically expensive. Fortunately, you are in the middle of a city with stores everywhere. A simple walk to Walgreens helped us address this issue.
* The whole "getting a beach chair" thing was confusing. Do you just take an empty one or do you need to find someone? Hopefully a little signage by management could help.
* Smoking - ugh...I'm from Massachusetts and it is rare I am somewhere that a person is smoking. The resort allows smoking in different places but there doesn't seem to be a rhyme or reason to it. I wish they followed Marriott corporate policy and just ban smoking from the entire property. The beach was the worst for this.

Again, we had such a delightful time here. We were sad to go. In fact, my 13 year old (on his own) wrote a note of thanks to the general manager. And I hope we can return sometime!

Room Tip: Ocean view key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#7 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.