We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Getaway with Awesome Ocean Vuews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in San Juan
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Birthday Getaway with Awesome Ocean Vuews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband took me here for my birthday escape and we enjoyed our stay. We loved the sleek modern and contemporary look of the hotel, including the room and bathroom decor. Perhaps there was more style than function in many of its features, like the small size of the pools but overall, we found everything to be aesthetically pleasing. The service was great, from the doormen, bellhop, and housekeeping staff. We had a great dinner at La Perla for my birthday. The restaurant was beautiful and romantic. We also enjoyed the music in the lobby and danced to the DJ's tunes a couple of nights. The thing that we loved and miss most is the breathtaking ocean view from our room. Just relaxing in our room and looking out into the ocean really made our trip an idyllic escape.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Soulfultrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Warning - this hotel is comprised of 2 buildings - an older building and a new all-suite tower. If you are booking a suite be sure to stay in the new tower. We had booked an ocean view suite. When we arrived at noon, our suite was ready. It was on the 11th floor in the older building. The older building is like a motel in that the hallways are open air and not enclosed. The problem is that fan for the grill in the restaurant blows the air straight up and the hamburger/grease smell permeated the hallway and our suite. The smell also permeates the lobby area. The burger smell got worse during lunch and dinner. Around 6:30 we decided we had to switch rooms. We were moved into a partial ocean view suite in the tower. This room did not have the burger smell - but instead smelled like air freshner. The bed is not very comfortable and the air conditioner is either on (blowing cold air on you) or off (until the room heats up). The AC is very noisy. The next afternoon we changed rooms again and were moved to a full ocean view room. The AC in this room was not as loud. The rooms are very dimly lit - the sitting room in the suite has 2 small lamps. There is a decent kitchenette in the new suites (not in the older building) which is good if you have kids. The buffet breakfast is not very good - you are better off going to Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts which are within walking distance. I noticed a lot of people also ate breakfast at Ben & Jerry's. Despite the terrible rooms, the staff at the hotel are all very pleasant and helpful. They were not responsible for the buildings design. Try to get a dinner reservation at a restaurant called "Marmalade" - it is the number one restaurant in San Juan (it is in old San Juan). You can make reservations on trip advisor.

This may be a "great place" for a casual traveller, but for seasoned travellers, this is not a great experience. I think the hotel is relying on the fact that there are not many other options in San Juan.

Room Tip: If staying in a suite, ask for the new tower. The old building smells like hamburgers and you can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, Guest Relations Manager at La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Upon checking in the staff was nothing but helpful. I had my room changed to the top floor with the best view with no problem at all. Even to get around to different parts of the Island the staff printed directions out for me. The gym, restaurants, pools, casino are A++. I'm going back in January and plan to stay there again for another week.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

La Concha is easily the nicest hotel in San Juan. While other hotels may have better cachets in terms of brand recognition, La Concha has a vibe, and energy, to it that is lacking in the other hotels. Excellently located, there are great eateries close by within walking distance, if you so choose not to eat at one of its restaurants. It also has its own private beach, and a beautiful view from every room. A must-stay if you decide to visit Puerto Rico!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at La Concha for our honeymoon; it is a nice modern contemporary resort with excellent customer service (I think excellent may be an understatement). Everyone from the doormen (especially my man Felix!) to the waiters/waitresses, poolstaff and maids, treat guests as if they are royalty and tend to any of your needs. It also seems to be the place to stay amongst celebrties (Justin Bieber stayed the week before we arrived and Snoop checked in the night before we left) even with the Ritz Carlton being available for stay. The rooms themselves are very clean and modern and have excellent views should you choose to have an oceanview room. There are also plenty of events to attend such as live music during some evenings in the lobby and holiday parties (they were preparing for a big Halloween party as we left). Lastly, the hotel is in a great location with access to shops and many restaurants in the nice, clean Condado area of San Juan. With that being said, my wife and I definitely plan on paying another visit very soon!

Chris from Virginia

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms provide excellent views, the wall-length window slides open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Loved everything about this hotel - price, location, service staff, room, view, pool, etc. We stayed there the weekend before Halloween and they also threw an awesome party at the bar downstairs. The staff were friendly, the room was kept wonderfully clean, the bed was comfortable, and it was very easy to get to other parts of San Juan from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Katherine Rivera is in a word, Fabulous. She not only went above and beyond in making me feel more comfortable with the choice to have my parents stay at the hotel, she also made me feel as though she ENJOYED doing it. She on her own time went out and purchased balloons and flowers for my parents room for celebration of their 47th wedding anniversary, and then sent me pictures and text to make sure I liked them. Katherine is a very valuable assett to your company and I sincerely hope that you have identified her as someone you value and want to keep!! Thank you so very much for the passion you obviously have for your work and I will recommend that anyone I know who visits the San Juan area stay with you. Thanks again Katherine for all you have done!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis R, General Manager at La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Congratulations to your parents for their 47th Wedding Anniversary! Thank you for your review and kind words. They will definitely be conveyed to Katherine, although, she must have already read your comments as our team members are constantly tuned with Trip Advisor reviews since they enjoy to learn about our guest’s experience while staying with us. Katherine in known for always going the extra mile to satisfy our guest’s needs and this is a true example of her commitment. We look forward to welcome them back in the near future for another celebration and hopefully you may join them too!

Saludos,

Luis R. Rivera
General Manager
lrivera@laconcharesort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
#1 of 44 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.9 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 44 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
0.9 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#21 of 44 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 stars 5,231 reviews
30.1 mi away
El Conquistador Resort, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing