We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some highs, some lows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Some highs, some lows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Experience at this resort will definitely be based on your expectations from the start. It is four star in some ways (good food and drinks, great pools and layout), with nice suites and grounds, but less positive in other aspects.

The good and bad together:
-- Food: Good food at the pool and at breakfast (hint: the omelet bar is outside while rest of the food is inside. Don't miss it)... Sushi and tapas were great. Lunch by the pool consistently good, although expensive. But the nicer specialty restaurants were mostly never available over our four-night stay due to an endless series of weddings and private events. Food and drinks were on the pricey side.
-- Rooms: We had several different rooms in the suite tower. The rooms had good layouts with mini-kitchens and seating areas, comfortable beds and reasonably-sized bathrooms. Unfortunately -- though appearing new -- the rooms often smell rather musty (damp) and the AC does not work well at night. Some of the rooms were also a bit noisy. There were several large groups of young adults partying on property all weekend. We heard them. A lot.
-- Service: Housekeeping was highly variable (ranging to really not good, actually), as was service in general. The lobby restrooms and pool restrooms were often dirty. Bar service surly. Pool service not as attentive as they could be at times. (Hint to management: more waiters in late afternoon would mean you'd sell more drinks and snacks. It was a bit difficult to get served at that time of day.) Meanwhile the breakfast staff was wonderful and having dinner outside in the tapas area was a treat as our waiter was always very helpful and attentive with our kids and quick to bring the adult drinks -- we had several meals there for simplicity's sake.
-- The Property: The pools are nice and the layout of the property is interesting. The gym is well-equipped and has a lovely view, though I wished the TVs on the treadmills and other equipment worked. The elevators to the suite tower are ridiculously slow and hot. It was not uncommon for there to be large crowds gathered on the lobby floor waiting for the elevators. The beach is nice, but a bit unnerving to have so much security and police on the beach -- but not surprising, perhaps, given the semi-urban setting.
-- The vibe: Buzzing with energy. While there were lots of kids and families, this seems a better place for young adults who want the more in-town setting (can walk to several other things in the Condado area), will enjoy the casino, etc. The location is not far from Old Town San Juan, the fort and other attractions.

Overall, we had a nice stay. I would recommend it for adults traveling and looking to party, but possibly would not return as a family having looked at and stayed at other hotels on the island. Certainly if I did, I'd want the suite with the kitchenette again as it was very nice to have a refrigerator to stock, microwave to make popcorn for the kids, etc.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view means partial view of somewhat run-down buildings, nearby construction. My advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,922 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,119
    1,172
    380
    145
    106
See reviews for
805
1617
109
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from our 8 night stay at La Concha resort. We planned this trip to celebrate her 50th birthday.

I contacted the hotel in advance of arriving both via email and phone to see if anything special could be planned for her birthday and to inquire about 4th of July fireworks. After two emails I received a list of things I can order in advance, if I so desired. Also, I was told there would be fireworks shortly after 9pm on the fourth on the water outside the hotel. When we check in at 8:15pm on the fourth I asked what was the best place to see the fireworks and they now said "What Fireworks? There are no fireworks".

Now a tale of 8 nights:

First night: Broken window shade, light bulbs out, mold in shower, musty order
Rather than fix the problems we were moved to another room the next day

Nights 2 & 3: Three elevators serve this tower, one has been out since we arrived. Wait for elevator at least 10 minutes. Once second one goes out of service we are forced to use Service Elevator where we have to walk thru a corridor with dirty laundry and garbage.

We speak to a manager and we will be moved to a room in another tower for night 4.

Night 4: Well we move into a room in the new "suites tower" An 11 story building with an un air conditioned atrium. The atrium is oppressively hot and humid. All the interior walls have condensation from the coolness of the air conditioned "suites" Wooden doors are rippled from warping. The room smells like pine sol when we first move in. When we return after 11pm, it smells musty. We lay down on the bed around 11:30 to the sound of popping springs, some of which stab us. I quickly get dressed and head downstairs to the front desk. I speak to the manager on duty who finds us another room. I check it out, the smell is there but not unbearable so we move. As soon as we start to settle in, here come the roaches. I quickly call down and the manager rushes back upstairs apologizing again and brings keys to three or four more rooms. He and his partner check out the first one and walked right out. The smell was overbearing even to them. We check another room (smaller this time) then smell was not terrible and the bed didnt try to stab us so we moved in around 12:30am (which is how we got to start celebrating my wifes now birthday). So that was four rooms in about a half hour with a promise to move to another room the following day.

Days 5 thru 8 - Another room was "prepared for us" Why should a room have to be prepared? Well they changed the air conditioning filter, had the tech guy check the TV and phone, had the mattress changed and the bathroom scrubbed. There was still a musty underlying smell. A manager told me that this is a problem that the owner is working on with the architect to have air conditioning added to the atrium to help solve this problem in this poorly designed two year old building.

Over the rest of the trip we saw mattresses being changed in multilple rooms, garbage left in hallways overnight and not cleared until we pointed it out, had our requests to have manager call me unheeded, more stuck or broken elevators, oxidized furniture that needs replacements, we heard many people complaining about the smells of mustiness. We spoke to many managers such as Alfonso, Jose, Hector, Miguel & JC all of whom expressed understanding our unhappiness but appear overwhelmed by all the problems in the structure in the complex. They are trying to keep the place together with band aids.

On the bright side there are many great restaurants off the property within walking distance or a short cab ride. I just wish the concierge didn't send me on a wild goose chase for a restaurant outside the tourist area on the night that the Governor closed bars and restaurants outside of tourist areas because of the potential impact ot Tropical Storm Chantel.

Also, I should state Hector, a Front desk manager did send up the least expensive bottle of champagne available and a cheese a cracker plate for my wife's birthday to "make it up to us"

We booked this hotel on points based upon a level "7" status from Marriott, I wouldn't rate it a "1". Incredible waste of points.

8 nights, 7 rooms. Not a great vacation.

If this is the fourth ranked hotel in San Juan, I wouldn't want to see the fifth, sixth, etc...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Upon check in, go have a passion fruit mojito from the lobby bar. Yum!
We stayed in the Suite tower and based on reviews, it seems like the only part to stay in. Ours felt like an apartment (by New York standards). We tried two of the restaurants. They were good if you just don't feel like going out to explore all the wonderful restaurants in town. This hotel is in a perfect location to get to anything around the city and it's on a great shopping street. The entire staff was helpful: Housekeeping, Front Desk, Valet, Bellmen. The valet guys were especially helpful and so welcoming.
The one or two down-sides
1) The charge 16% of your room rate as a resort fee. Ours ended up being $50 a day.
2) There's also a serious hotel tax
So, basically, more expensive hotels might be cheaper because their resort fees are normal.
Our stay was so lovely that even with the painful surprise on the bill, we chose to just lick our wounds. I guess we should researched the ridiculous resort fee ahead of time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

As an active traveler, this resort is simply terrible. Specifically the rooms are old and the ac only goes as low as 68. Therefore the rooms are hot. The elevators in the resort are very slow and there is no ac in them. It got so bad that people were using the service elevator. Moreover, the bathroom in the lobby was disgusting and the door was hanging off the hinge. There is miscommunication between the front desk and the rest of the resort. I was extremely disappointed as I was there for a wedding of a close friend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, Guest Relations Manager at La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Saludos Glenn F,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our property. Of course we always want to hear good things, however the not-so-good ones are the ones that provide us with the necessary feedback to improve our services. It is really distressing to me to read about your inconveniences and that we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory stay, which is the whole purpose of our business. Please accept my apologies for that and I can assure you that your remarks have been discussed with our Management staff and learn from our mistakes. If the opportunity should be granted to allow us to prove to you that we can do it better, please contact me. My efforts will be focused on guaranteeing you this.

Jose Cepero
Director of Guest Services
jcepero@laconcharesort.com
787-602-6121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Spent July 2-5 here pre cruise. We were in an ocean front junior suite. I was sure when we booked we had paid for a room in the new tower, but apparently not, but for $75/nt we could move.

July 3rd -11:00 pm, huge bang....screaming from the pool area, all the lights go off. It sounded like a bomb, but it was a power transformer that had exploded. Hotel's generator came on, but absolutely no info from the hotel as to what went on.

It is a very busy noisy hotel, but then again we found San Juan to be noisy overall.

Room was ok. We expected a lot more for the cost. It was clean, 4 th floor overlooking the ocean even though we specifically asked for a room on the higher level. Since we booked 10 months in advance you would think this could have been arranged.

Food cost is very high. Solera is good for lunch. Breakfast buffet is far too overpriced. Especially when you feel like you are disturbing the omelette chef when you want an omelette.

Yes - there were lots of weddings, and yes they tend to take over parts of the property, but they were not intrusive. We did get a chuckle to of the wedding where the staff had made a heart in the sand with the initials of the couple, too bad one of the pair of initials was wrong ! Oops !

Overall, good location , decent room, way tooooo expensive for what you get.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My friends and I stayed at la Concha Resort for the July 4th weekend and we will continue to do so from now on for sure... the location, the hotel ambiance, the beach, the rooms... it was all perfect and magical... and since we did not get a chance to thank them on our way out, we would like to thank Alexandra, Delia and Josue for all the assistance, recommendations, plus their funny and positive approach towards everyone 24/7, you guys rock!!!

Room Tip: Book what you would like to have because this hotel is a popular one, therefor they are most of the...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, Guest Relations Manager at La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Saludos Jason R,

It’s great to read about your 4th of July weekend and how perfect and magical it was. This is to show that not all magical moments are created in Disney. We have a few here in La Concha. Your thanks have been conveyed to Alexandra, Delia and Josue. It is always comforting to our associates to read positive comments from our guests. It lets us know that we have made a difference and even more so knowing that you will return. Thank you.

Jose Cepero
Director of Guest Services
jcepero@laconcharesort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in La Concha Resort from June 30 to July 6 (6 nights) that were amazing. The hotel was beautiful, the workers were polite, our room was clean every day, our view was amazing, and the food was great at the pool area.
The only concern that we experience in this hotel was that the 16% fee included 2 bottles of water per day and every day we did not receive the bottles of water. We have to leave notes to the maid in order to receive them, sometimes we need to talk to the maid in person. This happen every day, so we think that the manager of the hotel give them the order not to give the bottles of water that are suppose to be included in the fee resort.
This happen too for a few days with the coffee, and mouth wash. If this is included in the service that the hotel provide to their guest, why they don't want to provide them?
If you stay in this hotel, make sure that they provide all of this amenities that are part of the 16% fees that you pay for. They will try not to give you those amenities per day.
Garage charge $15 per day. We hope that the hotel can have free parking in the future.

Room Tip: The Suite Tower Balcony was quieter and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#5 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.