We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Wonderful Pools, Crazy Resort Fee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience PR from $199
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Wonderful Pools, Crazy Resort Fee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Upon check in, go have a passion fruit mojito from the lobby bar. Yum!
We stayed in the Suite tower and based on reviews, it seems like the only part to stay in. Ours felt like an apartment (by New York standards). We tried two of the restaurants. They were good if you just don't feel like going out to explore all the wonderful restaurants in town. This hotel is in a perfect location to get to anything around the city and it's on a great shopping street. The entire staff was helpful: Housekeeping, Front Desk, Valet, Bellmen. The valet guys were especially helpful and so welcoming.
The one or two down-sides
1) The charge 16% of your room rate as a resort fee. Ours ended up being $50 a day.
2) There's also a serious hotel tax
So, basically, more expensive hotels might be cheaper because their resort fees are normal.
Our stay was so lovely that even with the painful surprise on the bill, we chose to just lick our wounds. I guess we should researched the ridiculous resort fee ahead of time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,580
    1,367
    457
    169
    123
See reviews for
955
1,890
121
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,557)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

As an active traveler, this resort is simply terrible. Specifically the rooms are old and the ac only goes as low as 68. Therefore the rooms are hot. The elevators in the resort are very slow and there is no ac in them. It got so bad that people were using the service elevator. Moreover, the bathroom in the lobby was disgusting and the door was hanging off the hinge. There is miscommunication between the front desk and the rest of the resort. I was extremely disappointed as I was there for a wedding of a close friend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, Guest Relations Manager at La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Saludos Glenn F,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our property. Of course we always want to hear good things, however the not-so-good ones are the ones that provide us with the necessary feedback to improve our services. It is really distressing to me to read about your inconveniences and that we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory stay, which is the whole purpose of our business. Please accept my apologies for that and I can assure you that your remarks have been discussed with our Management staff and learn from our mistakes. If the opportunity should be granted to allow us to prove to you that we can do it better, please contact me. My efforts will be focused on guaranteeing you this.

Jose Cepero
Director of Guest Services
jcepero@laconcharesort.com
787-602-6121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Spent July 2-5 here pre cruise. We were in an ocean front junior suite. I was sure when we booked we had paid for a room in the new tower, but apparently not, but for $75/nt we could move.

July 3rd -11:00 pm, huge bang....screaming from the pool area, all the lights go off. It sounded like a bomb, but it was a power transformer that had exploded. Hotel's generator came on, but absolutely no info from the hotel as to what went on.

It is a very busy noisy hotel, but then again we found San Juan to be noisy overall.

Room was ok. We expected a lot more for the cost. It was clean, 4 th floor overlooking the ocean even though we specifically asked for a room on the higher level. Since we booked 10 months in advance you would think this could have been arranged.

Food cost is very high. Solera is good for lunch. Breakfast buffet is far too overpriced. Especially when you feel like you are disturbing the omelette chef when you want an omelette.

Yes - there were lots of weddings, and yes they tend to take over parts of the property, but they were not intrusive. We did get a chuckle to of the wedding where the staff had made a heart in the sand with the initials of the couple, too bad one of the pair of initials was wrong ! Oops !

Overall, good location , decent room, way tooooo expensive for what you get.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My friends and I stayed at la Concha Resort for the July 4th weekend and we will continue to do so from now on for sure... the location, the hotel ambiance, the beach, the rooms... it was all perfect and magical... and since we did not get a chance to thank them on our way out, we would like to thank Alexandra, Delia and Josue for all the assistance, recommendations, plus their funny and positive approach towards everyone 24/7, you guys rock!!!

Room Tip: Book what you would like to have because this hotel is a popular one, therefor they are most of the...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose C, Guest Relations Manager at La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Saludos Jason R,

It’s great to read about your 4th of July weekend and how perfect and magical it was. This is to show that not all magical moments are created in Disney. We have a few here in La Concha. Your thanks have been conveyed to Alexandra, Delia and Josue. It is always comforting to our associates to read positive comments from our guests. It lets us know that we have made a difference and even more so knowing that you will return. Thank you.

Jose Cepero
Director of Guest Services
jcepero@laconcharesort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in La Concha Resort from June 30 to July 6 (6 nights) that were amazing. The hotel was beautiful, the workers were polite, our room was clean every day, our view was amazing, and the food was great at the pool area.
The only concern that we experience in this hotel was that the 16% fee included 2 bottles of water per day and every day we did not receive the bottles of water. We have to leave notes to the maid in order to receive them, sometimes we need to talk to the maid in person. This happen every day, so we think that the manager of the hotel give them the order not to give the bottles of water that are suppose to be included in the fee resort.
This happen too for a few days with the coffee, and mouth wash. If this is included in the service that the hotel provide to their guest, why they don't want to provide them?
If you stay in this hotel, make sure that they provide all of this amenities that are part of the 16% fees that you pay for. They will try not to give you those amenities per day.
Garage charge $15 per day. We hope that the hotel can have free parking in the future.

Room Tip: The Suite Tower Balcony was quieter and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at this Resort from 07/03 to 07/09/2013 . First when we arrived at La Concha, We were so impressed with these two gentlemen, Antonio Moll and Carlos, they both worked at the Luggage delivery Services area of La Concha . They were very polite and gave us most important information of were to eat and shop. All the other guests that we meet at that Resort
said the same things about Antonio Moll and Carlos B. Antonio recommended La Perla Restaurant. The food was so delicious. The waiter recommended Tuna for me and Big Surf for my husband and my son. It was a good choices for our dinner. The services was excellent also. On the 3rd day's we ate at the Sushi bar in La Concha, the sushi that I ordered called island and California rolls. They were terrible and overprice. $14.00 for six very small pieces of Sushi. POOL area was nice and a very equipped fitness center. The beach was beautiful. All those days that we statyed at La Concha, we have a wonderful housekeepers who kept our room nice and clean. We stayed at Room#1069, Nydma, Dora and Krisia did a wonderful jobs on all the rooms cleaning .
If you wanted to have a nice relax , good services and memorize experiments at Puerto RIco .
La Concha is your Resort.

Thanks for reading my Review .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at this resort from 6/29 to 7/4 with my four year old toddler and stayed in the one bedroom suite. The hotel service is fantastic, everything from accommodating our request to stay on a higher floor to the waitstaff helping my son find a tree frog, it was a great stay and the service was wonderful. I was actually pleasantly surprised that although the hotel is very young and hip, I found it very family friendly.

We had a room on the 11th floor of the suite tower and the noise could still be heard down below...thank god for white noise coming from the air conditioner so if you are not used to this, be prepared to have difficulty sleeping.

The restaurants are rather expensive so we would venture out to find food...we particularly liked the Punk Burger Bistro, Ben and Jerry's (which served breakfast/lunch), Pinky's, Ali Baba's and of course Starbucks was a couple of blocks down the road (Subway and Wendy's was also close by).

Also the hotel has a bus stop right in front of it so it is very convenient to get to Old San Juan. We also rented a car for a couple of days and drove out to the roast pork highway to eat at Lechonera Los Pinos...which unfortunately was a bit disappointing.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are coming to San Juan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#5 Family Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.