We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Short of the Perfect Pampered Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nothing Short of the Perfect Pampered Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We only stayed one night before going on a cruise out of San Juan, and we wished we were able to stay another night or two. La Concha is absolutely beautiful. Amazing lounge area with horizon pools and colorful lights at night while listening to the sounds of the Coqui frogs chirping along to the live jazz music with a caribbean twist. Romantic, contemporary rooms with spectacular views of New San Juan and the beach right behind the resort. It seemed to be right in the middle of everything. Walgreens down the street, restaurants right out of the hotel. The beach was amazing. Although a little crowded, it was large enough to hold everyone comfortably. A beautiful park with swaying palm trees, locals selling coconuts, and if you're lucky you can spot an iguana strolling the grasses and sands. Also right around the corner was the delicious Ben & Jerry's restaurant. The La Concha staff was incredibly friendly, helpful, generous and professional. We won't stay anywhere else in San Juan going forward. Loved every minute of it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,899 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,105
    1,165
    380
    144
    105
See reviews for
796
1608
109
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

OK, I have finally found my go-to hotel in Puerto Rico. I’ve tried the Conquistador, the Embassy Suites, the Marriott Stellaris AND the Hilton Caribe. No more sleeping around… this is the one.

The location in Condado is terrific. Lobby is clean and bright. Check-in was friendly and efficient, and I was off to my suite in their Ocean Suites Wing. The room layout was very similar to an Embassy Suites, but for a Renaissance, it was a delight to enjoy. It had a sitting room with large sofa, big flat screen tv, large table and good sized kitchenette with full size fridge.

The bathroom had a very large glassed in shower. The bedroom had a king bed, with great views looking East down the Condado Beach, towards the Marriott.

For Concierge Lounge, they have the Ocean Room on the ground floor of the Ocean Suites Tower. This was a very large lounge, with a great array of food and beverage, both for evening service and for breakfast.

For food, there is a pool bar (where I used my free drink coupon for a large pina colada) and a Sushi Bar… which is unfortunately hidden off to the corner of the lobby.

On the second floor of the lobby, there’s an Italian restaurant (Voga?). I had two visits here. Once for dinner, which was excellent. Extensive menu, very good food, and attentive service. I also enjoyed a private reception there one night, and the canapés they passed around were fresh and hot… very well done.

I also must note that I was speaking at a conference here, and the conference facility (located above the porte cochere) was well done. Nice rooms, great tech support, and terrific aircon… all important in Puerto Rico.

Verdict? I’m already scheduling my next trip to PR in September, and have already booked another five night stay at this terrific property. For family time? Hmmmm. The beaches at Condado have a very strong current… not prime beach for family swimming. Good location for getting around, and a vast improvement over the Hilton and the Marriott. Yeah, I’d book my family in here, but I’d really prefer the Conquistador if I just wanted beach time. For visiting San Juan, the Renaissance La Concha has it locked down for me from now on.

Be sure to book into the Suites Tower!

Room Tip: Rooms in Suites Tower are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

If you're drawn to La Concha and still trying to decide where to vacation, opt for South Beach Miami. South Beach has tons of Puerto Rican influence too, and the entire area is full of beautiful resorts. This resort is pretty, but it's awkward in thd middle of industrial San Juan. If you are drawn to the history and culture of San Juan, opt for Old San Juan or head to the smaller islands out east where all the locals go. Culebra and Vieques are so pretty and relaxing, and very Caribbean. I'm all about big resorts where the local infrastructure can properly support them, but in PR, resorts like this feel out of place at best.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Leaving today, sadly, after spending four nights. Had a great time. Loved all the pools, though spent most of the time by the ocean. Beach service for drinks is nice, though they need more waiters there. There was always someone there to help with chairs and umbrellas. Especially need to mention Hector- great waiter on the beach.
Had a 5th floor tower room oceanfront with great balcony. Even had a light for reading and an outlet for using laptop.
Morning buffet was great. Omelet station was nice. Plenty of food available.
Dining- went out most nights to local restaurants, within walking distance. Loved AliBaba(Turkish)and Orozoc's(Puertorican). Ate one night at the Italian rest. Voga- was delicious. Ben and Jerry's around the corner from the Fitness Center was yummy, great view of the beach.
Can't disagree more with the
Negative reviews. Every one at the hotel was very nice and helpful. Hope to come back again.
We did walk down to the Marriott which we had been considering. LaConcha has much nicer beach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite type room with a kitchenette that was really neat. More like a one bedroom apt. Modern decor. Comfy beds, huge balcony facing the city. Pools are smaller, but nice. Right on beach, though water was rough. Food was good. Much better value than the other hotels we stayed in and worth the short drive to old san juan.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

What an amazing place to stay!! Two infinity pools (one for adults only) along with a two tier pool in the center court. The bar area is clean with a very modern and inviting vibe. The food here is great for something quick. Priced reasonably but we had a room with a fridge, freezer and stove top and microwave so running to the Walgreens down the street saved us a fortune. Its one of the only places around that we noticed with a sizable beach, there are lounge chairs and umbrellas for the hotel guests and free towels. $15 cab rides will get you anywhere including Old San Juan and there is also a public trolly/bus that will take you there much cheaper.

In all the first time to Puerto Rico was exceptional. The people here are so friendly and there are police on every corner so safety was never a concern. We have already started looking at coming back to La Concha in the fall and bringing our 6 year old with this time. Thank you to the staff for making us la familia!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a "kitchen" in it. Makes a great way to save money by making breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsearched
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I will try to answer all of the questions I had before coming to La Concha Resort.

Transportation to La Concha:
Taxi from the airport was about $20 to the hotel. Taxi from hotel to Old San Juan (or the Historic Fort, same area) was also about $20. There are taxi stands at the airport and Old San Juan (also a Trolly Station in Old San Juan).

Restaurants near La Concha:
One question I kept seeing on the boards was whether or not La Concha had an ala cart breakfast. They do, but if you want even a lighter breakfast, just coffee and a pastry, they have that right at the lobby bar. You will pay about $3.75 for a coffee and $3.75 for a great danish. Really no need to go anywhere else for breakfast if that is all that you are looking for. Safety? We felt very safe walking the streets. There was a police officer about every 2 or 3 blocks just walking around. We didnt stray too far, but I never had any safety concerns.

There are tons of local, and chain, restaurants within walking distance. All restaurants I mention are within a 5 minute walk. I havent figured out the coffee yet. I have ordered coffee at several places and so far it has been different everytime. One time it is coffee like what you would get at Starbucks, another looks more like a latte, another time I ordered "coffee" and it came out as an espresso. Also, it seems like you will not get a check when you are done eating unless you ask for one so when you are ready to go, make sure you let your waiter know.

Punk Burgers, which was awesome. Great burgers and even though it is not listed on the menu, they have 3 different veggie burgers (Salmon, black bean, and soy based). Great burgers in Puerto Rico, who knew?

Cafe Del Angel: The good- Great local food and service. It is directly across the street from the hotel. The bad- keep an eye on the check. They added a 15% tip to the first check, then when I got the check back with my credit card to sign I noticed the tip was gone, the food costs changed, and they requested another tip. Restaurants have been saying that is how the system rings up, but I find that hard to believe.

Restaurante Cielito Lindo: Awesome traditional Mexican. Probably the best chicken burrito I have ever had.

Waiters: Another local place. If you didnt know about it, you would walk right by it. Gave me the feel of a speak easy. Small cozy place with traditional PR food. Very good. Definitely recommend.

Il Postino Condado: Huge plates of Italian food. Probably our favorite restaurant. Split a plate so you can save room for the homemade Tiramisu. It's the best.

Ben & Jerrys: What? Yup, not only is there a Ben & Jerrys, but they serve breakfast too.

Latin Star: Ate there for dessert and breakfast. The dessert Les Tres cake was really good. The breakfast was eh, nothing special. Egg sandwich and pancakes. I wouldnt go back for breakfast.

Orozco's: Very good traditional lunch. Chicken and rice and Skirt steak were great.

Need a Starbuck fix? There is a Starbucks just down the road past the Walgreens.

We ate at the La Concha Solera Restaurant by the pool and bar in the lobby so I cant comment on the other La Concha sit down restaurants. The food was delicious and they had great drinks. Best mojito I have had in years. You will keep hearing about how expensive it is but the local restaurants were in the same range for similar quality food.

The La Concha Resort:
It is beautiful. Very clean. Everyone is very friendly. There are a lot of common areas for you to grab a book and relax. They supply towels for the pool and beach. There are several pools including one adult pool, 15 or older. The beach is a few steps away. Nice fitness center. One night the bar had a local band. The other nights had a DJ and played anything from techno to 80's and 90's. The only negative, as others have mentioned, are the elevators. We were on the 9th floor and it would sometimes take several minutes for an elevator to arrive and then it would stop on several floors on the way down. No A/C on the elevators.

Room
We ended up in a tower suite on the 9th floor, ocean front. Pay a little more for the ocean front if you can. Not just for the view but open the sliding door and hearing the ocean while you are resting is freaking awesome. The Tower room we had has a balcony but it only goes about a foot out. You can stand on it, but no room for chairs or anything. The room has a coffee maker and a small refridgerator, no microwave. Has a hair dryer, iron, and iron board as well. No need to bring shampoo or anything, they supply that as well.

If this review helped you in any way, please click "Helpful," thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#5 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.