We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
new york
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

La Concha is a great hotel-- especially their friendly staff. Felix, who works in the transportation area, always greated us with an enthusiastic hello and made sure we found great restaurants and bars. Since we were on vacation, it was nice to stay in a hotel where the staff is genuinely interested in making sure our stay was relaxing and fun. Thanks Felix!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,280
    1,242
    400
    153
    112
See reviews for
857
1,713
113
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I'm normally not a stay-by-the-pool-and-order-drinks kind of traveler, but on this visit to San Juan, that's exactly what I did for four days. And it was wonderful, because this hotel is SO cool.

The design of this hotel is like a museum exhibit. Gorgeous, modern, open, clean, with excellent music playing in the background and fantastic lighting....I dare you not to get a bit snobby when you stay here.There are several infinity-edge pools with ample chairs, and the beachfront, although cursed with a strong breaking surf, has a nice bar and bed-like chairs on terraces for lounging. The central bar in the lobby is expensive, but the vibe is great at all hours, especially after midnight on a weekend night when the DJ kicks his set up a notch. Stores along Condado Ave. offer high and low-end clothes and food, with lots of local flavor and style. Old San Juan is a 5-minute drive. And the Perla restaurant is a Mad-Men-ish retro-cool, delicious gourmet experience. Our tower room had floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the ocean, a rainshower, white leather couches and frosted-glass wall-unit closet units. Staff upgraded us upon check-in, too. Fab.

Cons: rough surf at the beach. Food and drinks are pricey. Even though we saw kids there, there aren't a whole lot of things for them to do unless they're at the pool. There is a no-swimsuit dress code in the lobby (I appreciated this, frankly). And there is a somewhat halfhearted casino room (which seems to be largely ignored by guests here). But, if you want to take advantage of Puerto Rico's uniquely hip Caribbean vibe, this place is a great choice. I'd definitely go again....soon, I hope.

Room Tip: Request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at the La Concha. All of the staff were very helpful, from the front desk, to the waitstaff, to the beach guys. The rooms were clean, and we were given extra towels or shampoos very quickly when we needed it. We had an issue with our tv when we first arrived, but they fixed it very quickly!

The hotel decor overall is also lovely. The only complaint we had about the hotel was that the lobby air conditioning was blasting. With the bar in the lobby, it made grabbing a drink at night a bit frustrating.

The location was also great. Easy cab ride to/from the airport as well as to Old San Juan. There are also good restaurants within walking distance to the hotel, so we had good choices for going out for dinner if we didn't want to go into Old San Juan.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Nicely designed hotel with all the amenities, and a fun bar scene in the lobby. The hotel has several pools (some of which have views of the beach), including a beautiful infinity pool on the beach itself. The hotel is right on a very nice (though windy while we were there) beach. Great drinks and all kinds of food at all hours of day and night. The hotel is also happy to arrange tours to the bio bay and other places for you. A bit expensive, but worth it - arguably one of the nicest hotels in Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the ocean, which was beautiful to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 4 nights last week with my daughter. It was beautiful - impeccably clean and well-kept, excellent service, and generally a wonderful experience. We especially liked the adult pool area where we didn't have to deal with children. However, I would suggest there be more of the couch-like seating in that area so that more people could nap. The sun chairs are not so good for that. It would also be nice if there were some bar service in that area for at least part of the day.
All in all, a great experience - we would go back and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We really enjoy having a balcony, so the suite tower with a city view balcony was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was the destination for a girls weekend trip and I would classify this hotel as average. The TV did not work, and management did not even seem in any way shape or form remorseful - we asked for some form of compensation, and they said the manager would call us back, but never did. The other room that the other half of our group was staying in smelled moldy - they forced maintenance to replace the filter for the AC, but it didn't help. Bathrooms were nice - the "queen" beds were more "full size". The beach was small, but nice. Service on the beach was SLOW however. The pool/patio area was very nice, and service there was excellent. Breakfast was average - $25 for a buffet. Manuel at breakfast was so helpful and nice, and so were the bellboys who got us cabs. The lobby was lively, but DJ was horrible, unfortunately. Location is great - only 10mins to old San Juan. Overall, I'd say this was a decent place to stay, but I wouldn't feel the need to come back, unless there was a phenomenal rate. The staff was very nice and accommodating, but I got the opposite feeling from management!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I pride myself on researching places to stay and reading reviews and knowing what to expect when selecting a hotel. Sometimes it's not a great thing...because when bad experiences happen...you think ...yes, I was aware of that...but thought I was informed and smarter than that!

We stayed 4 nights and spent $1700 with Renaissance. Unfortunately we booked a Jr Suite in the old building instead of the Suite Tower. It was a mistake we made...but still for the amount of money we spent there is an expectation of:

Adequate Housekeeping staff: Every morning we left the room by 8am and put the service sign on the door. Housekeeping never showed up until 4pm or later. The first morning I asked the front desk if they could notify housekeeping that there was mold in the sink and shower. I showed them pictures and they acted very concerned and said right away.. no one ever came up and when housekeeping showed up late in the day and the mold was pointed out they sent a supervisor up. The supervisor said it was the "color of the grout not mold". It was almost comical that a few hours later we'd get a knock for turndown service! Bottom line, the room just needs a through cleaning - light switches were grimy, Hotel info book was stained and sticky etc. Every night there was a lobby full of people trying to check-in and waiting for clean rooms after 3 pm...so clearly there is just not enough housekeeping staff. There are tons of bartenders and other revenue generating employees on the premises.

This hotel is a big wedding destination hotel - so it is not a quiet hotel. Lots of big groups enjoying the pools but sometimes closing pool areas for event dinners and wedding ceremonies. This issue of music from across the street is still a major problem. At 12:30 am on Fri night it sounded like a bad Bon Jovi cover band was playing next to the bed. When we called the front desk a frantic man kept saying "we've called the police, we've called the police, we've called the police." Around 2 the music stopped. The next morning the front desk acted like they never heard of this problem. To give credit, the next night the evening staff were very sympathetic and went out and bought earplugs and brought them to the room! Thank you Hector for making this happen.

Lastly, our TV would go out every few minutes - freeze with a digital signal not available message. We thought it was the Island winds..but on day 3 we were fed up and called the front desk. They sent maintenance up and they fixed it right away.

On Sat night 90% of the lobby bar seats had "reserved" tags on then. Certainly not very welcoming for the guests staying at the hotel. Finally the bartended said we could sit down, he had no idea who they were reserved for!

The merits of the place are well documented below...beach and lobby area are beautiful, concierge lounge is nice & staff is friendly and kind. Food is good. Just be prepared for rooms in need of rehab if you are not in the Suite Tower and very loud evenings and big weekend crowds at the beach. The hotel has a hip, cool vibe...very Miami Beach but peak under the covers and there are issues.

Room Tip: Book in the Suite Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis R, General Manager at La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to ensure guest satisfaction going forward. As a frequent traveler, I also read reviews before staying at a hotel, by reading your experience; I apologize that we failed exceeding your expectations and also disappointed with our timely response to the issues you encountered during your stay. I have personally addressed your concerns with my management team in order to avoid any reoccurrence and to learn new ways to be proactive and enhance our guest experience when unforeseen situations arise.

I hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust and look forward to personally welcome you back at La Concha Renaissance.

Saludos,

Luis R. Rivera
General Manager
lrivera@laconcharesort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#5 Family Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Marriott, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.