We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, would do it again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
My Puerto Rico Experience
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice stay, would do it again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Communication between the hotel before arrival was terrible. As we left the airport, we went to Walmart for few things. We tried calling the hotel before we got to Walmart to ask for directions from there. The front desk had no clue so they transferred us to the concierge. We let it ring until the voicemail came on. We hung up and decided to just try afterwards. Leaving Walmart, we called again and the same thing happened. We started driving after looking at a map etc. we called again and just as we were going to get transferred, we told her what had happened the previous times so she put us on hold for a few minutes. Finally, as we were just about there, the concierge gets on the phone and tries to help. It was a challenge b/c apparently street names are not commonly known, just landmarks. We finally arrived. Check in was quick, although we thought it was odd that no one offered to carry our luggage in for us before we entered the hotel. Rom was spacious, and clean. We stayed on the 11th floor facing the bay/street. We could see the different cruise ships come in throughout our stay. Pretty quiet even though we partly faced the city. Bed/pillows were comfortable but the sheets were a little rougher than what I'm accustomed to. Nice to have a full fridge to store our food/snacks. Stove was great for reheating restaurant leftovers.
Pools were small but they were never too crowded since we weren't there during the busy season. I think it would have been different if we had brought our children and traveled during high peak. Plenty of room on the beach, although rough for swimming. Keep good eye on children. Didnt see an abundance of kids as guests and not sure if I would call it a super friendly family hotel due to the size of the pools, rough ocean and dress codes. BUT, it is a great location with a Walgreens, great ice cream places (Ben & Jerry's), cold stone, frozen yogurt, Baskin Robbins, cheaper options for food than the hotel and shopping all walking distance.
Casino is small but fun. Great games. Great tours offered through the hotel. Booked a zipline adventure and it was great. Found great restaurants and nightlife in Old San Juan. Try El Mojitos for authentic food. Cheaper than Raices and great food. Wouldn't recommend the restaurant right across the street from the hotel, think it was called El Angel. It advertised authentic Puertorican food but found better and cheaper.
Bus stop is right in front of the hotel to the right and it's easy to go to Old San Juan etc. Also try Placita Santurce on Sunday evenings. They have live bands/singers, people dancing to the music in the streets etc. Overall, great stay, nice staff for the most part (Felix is the best), great location, still contemplating bringing the 3 kids here on our next visit but will do if we don't find another hotel w/bigger pools etc.
Recommendations: higher the floor better the room, book a tour w/the concierge (found same price as online directly w/company as w/hotel), visit Castillo and fort in Old San Juan, rent bikes (some companies have age restrictions), buy some food/snacks @Walgreens to save some $$. Have fun!

Room Tip: Higher floor, get a suite, totally worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,276
    1,240
    399
    153
    112
See reviews for
857
1,712
113
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

La Concha has great staff, all bilingual, very friendly and helpful. The lobby is wonderful, modern and often with live music. They have three good restaurants. The rooms are also quite modern and the ocean view is fantastic. My kids loved the WiFi.
The beach is clean a great relaxing spot, the pools are always busy and you might have a hard time finding chairs.
The concierge service was excellent.
The maid service was not ideal, they missed making up the room and cleaning two days in a row, it took several calls to have it done.
Like I said, overal a good experience.

Room Tip: Pick the Ocean Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I wish I could give them 4 or 5 stars, but I just can’t. We were overall pretty happy with our choice to stay at the resort and we would recommend it to friends.

The beach and pool are BEAUTIFUL and CLEAN and there’s excellent poolside/beach side service. The lobby is pretty. The drinks and food were delicious. There was a comfortable atmosphere for guests (all types of people stayed at the resort from families to singles, old to young, etc). The resort is within walking distance of Walgreens, shopping, spas, and several inexpensive and delicious Puerto Rican restaurants. The concierge was really helpful. We used him to make reservations on the Old San Juan/Bacardi tour. The gym has tons of machines and I ran on the treadmill overlooking the beach. The stay comes with complimentary wifi (even at the pools!) and a business center (with free printing).

It’s about a 50 minute walk ($19 and 15 min cab ride) from old San Juan. We walked it our first evening there, but my mom (and one of our cab drivers) would suggest you only walk it in daylight.

However, we did have a few bumps during our stay. We reserved a suite, but they had to give us a regular room because they didn’t have a suite available with two queen beds (and my mom and I didn’t feel like sharing a bed). We settled into our room for the first night, and at 1am, an alarm went off. Meanwhile, while walking around the room barefoot that night, we discovered that there was a major wet spot in the carpet. We thought it might go away, but it didn’t dry up by the morning and it was starting to smell bad. Eventually, we called the front desk, and they tried to “dry” the spot with a large/noisy fan. Obviously the spot didn’t dry after an hour and a half. So we called again and they offered us to switch rooms. But, they took an hour to send up our new keys (as the room smell kept getting worse and worse). The rooms are okay. They showers look a little messy (not horrible) and the sliding doors on the closet are a bit banged up (from the design of the drawers/closet). Also, we thought the reservation came with a complimentary breakfast, but it didn’t.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our hotel recommended this place for breakfast though the selection isn't big, the food was fresh and well prepared. We really enjoyed the casual atmosphere and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

What can I say other than this hotel is the awesomeness of cool, from the suite, to the pool, to the beach, and the lobby nightlife. My better half and I just returned from a perfect five day trip to Puerto Rico, where we stayed at the Renaissance. Our trip was perfect from start to end, in large part due to the hotel staff and this beautiful property.

We arrived to check in to the resort on Friday afternoon where we were met by Felix the bellman. Let me say that this man makes you feel like a part of the family. He welcomed us with open arms, a friendly handshake, and let us know if we needed anything, that he would be happy to help us. Because we were early for check in (check in to the hotel isn't until 4pm, however we pre-registered, left our luggage with Felix, and had some lunch and did some walking around and window shopping until it was time to officially be allowed into our suite). Let me tell you the wait was worth it. Our suite was amazing. We stayed in room 724, had the perfect view of the beach, pool, and everything else on the beach. We had a one bedroom suite, with a dining area, living room, balcony, microwave, you name it we had it, and if we didn't, hotel staff made sure we had what we needed.

Because of our long flight from LA, we decided to rest until later in the evening when we went to the lobby bar. The hotel lobby bar is sleek, crowded, had a sexy vibe, and everyone was just drinking and having fun. If you've ever been to the Redwood Room in S.F. or the Whiskey Blue in L.A., the vibe is similar at La Concha. The bar was so great we didn't leave the lobby bar for the remainder of the evening. FYI, the appetizers were an added treat to the night of fun at the lobby bar.

On Saturday, the weather was ok but it did rain a little so it was mostly a day of hanging by the Ocean Pool. The Ocean Pool is a treat because it is a quiet oasis away from the main pools. This pool is located by the Ocean Lounge which is only for Marriott Gold and Silver members (however the Ocean Lounge is closed on weekends but the pool remains open on weekends). On Saturday evening, we enjoyed Old San Juan and all the nightlife thanks in part to the recommendations from the concierge.

Sunday through Tuesday was spent enjoying the beach and pool, as well as the local restaurants located on the strip of Ashford Avenue. I have to say our hotel stay was special and the staff at La Concha went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay special. A few of the beach and pool attendants like Carlos and Hector, as well as a few others who's names I cannot recall made our days special.

If you are looking to visit the island, make sure you stay at La Concha. You will not regret your stay, I guarantee it!!

Safe travels,
Victor

Tips:

1) La Concha is probably the only hotel where you cannot officially check in until 4pm. So if you are traveling from the west coast to P.R., take a same day flight so that you will arrive to the hotel after 4pm.

2) The lobby has a dress code, it didn't appear to be enforced during our stay, but just to be on the safe side dress smart casual at night, or be escorted by your wife/girlfriend/significant other to avoid any possible hassle.

3) For authentic Puerto Rican food near the hotel, skip the place across the street from the hotel Café del Angel. Visit the restaurant closer to Walgreen's further down.

4) Go to Old San Juan for your nightlife needs. Start off at Sebastian Street.

Room Tip: Choose seventh floor or higher, I had room 724.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I think this hotel is worth the money they asking! Great location right on the beach, decent size room with very comfortable king size bed (with 6 pillows!), staff is always friendly and helpful. Upon our arrival the room was not ready yet, but it was not a problem because they have kept our luggage so we can go out. Keep in mind that there is no lifeguards on duty on the beach and it is very windy there making big waves. When I was looking for this vacation I have gotten a help from Mitch @ TripGuy.com. He made sure that hotel honored all our requests about the room (high floor, ocean view...) I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in the suite tower and enjoyed the living room and separate kitchen. The pools were truly beautiful. Lots of lounge chairs, chaises, covered units(no charge). It is a magical resort. The oceanfront was beautiful from so many angles. Housekeeping was very accomodating. The staff, esp the valet personnel, were so welcoming. We were always greeted by all the staff. They are friendly and so professional. Kudos to Marriott. We want to go back.

Room Tip: Get an oceanview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#5 Family Hotel in San Juan
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Marriott, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.