We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Concha: The perfect hotel and resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
#BeachPlease Package
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“La Concha: The perfect hotel and resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

What can I say other than this hotel is the awesomeness of cool, from the suite, to the pool, to the beach, and the lobby nightlife. My better half and I just returned from a perfect five day trip to Puerto Rico, where we stayed at the Renaissance. Our trip was perfect from start to end, in large part due to the hotel staff and this beautiful property.

We arrived to check in to the resort on Friday afternoon where we were met by Felix the bellman. Let me say that this man makes you feel like a part of the family. He welcomed us with open arms, a friendly handshake, and let us know if we needed anything, that he would be happy to help us. Because we were early for check in (check in to the hotel isn't until 4pm, however we pre-registered, left our luggage with Felix, and had some lunch and did some walking around and window shopping until it was time to officially be allowed into our suite). Let me tell you the wait was worth it. Our suite was amazing. We stayed in room 724, had the perfect view of the beach, pool, and everything else on the beach. We had a one bedroom suite, with a dining area, living room, balcony, microwave, you name it we had it, and if we didn't, hotel staff made sure we had what we needed.

Because of our long flight from LA, we decided to rest until later in the evening when we went to the lobby bar. The hotel lobby bar is sleek, crowded, had a sexy vibe, and everyone was just drinking and having fun. If you've ever been to the Redwood Room in S.F. or the Whiskey Blue in L.A., the vibe is similar at La Concha. The bar was so great we didn't leave the lobby bar for the remainder of the evening. FYI, the appetizers were an added treat to the night of fun at the lobby bar.

On Saturday, the weather was ok but it did rain a little so it was mostly a day of hanging by the Ocean Pool. The Ocean Pool is a treat because it is a quiet oasis away from the main pools. This pool is located by the Ocean Lounge which is only for Marriott Gold and Silver members (however the Ocean Lounge is closed on weekends but the pool remains open on weekends). On Saturday evening, we enjoyed Old San Juan and all the nightlife thanks in part to the recommendations from the concierge.

Sunday through Tuesday was spent enjoying the beach and pool, as well as the local restaurants located on the strip of Ashford Avenue. I have to say our hotel stay was special and the staff at La Concha went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay special. A few of the beach and pool attendants like Carlos and Hector, as well as a few others who's names I cannot recall made our days special.

If you are looking to visit the island, make sure you stay at La Concha. You will not regret your stay, I guarantee it!!

Safe travels,
Victor

Tips:

1) La Concha is probably the only hotel where you cannot officially check in until 4pm. So if you are traveling from the west coast to P.R., take a same day flight so that you will arrive to the hotel after 4pm.

2) The lobby has a dress code, it didn't appear to be enforced during our stay, but just to be on the safe side dress smart casual at night, or be escorted by your wife/girlfriend/significant other to avoid any possible hassle.

3) For authentic Puerto Rican food near the hotel, skip the place across the street from the hotel Café del Angel. Visit the restaurant closer to Walgreen's further down.

4) Go to Old San Juan for your nightlife needs. Start off at Sebastian Street.

Room Tip: Choose seventh floor or higher, I had room 724.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,703
    1,433
    484
    177
    130
See reviews for
1,028
1,974
126
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,642)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I think this hotel is worth the money they asking! Great location right on the beach, decent size room with very comfortable king size bed (with 6 pillows!), staff is always friendly and helpful. Upon our arrival the room was not ready yet, but it was not a problem because they have kept our luggage so we can go out. Keep in mind that there is no lifeguards on duty on the beach and it is very windy there making big waves. When I was looking for this vacation I have gotten a help from Mitch @ TripGuy.com. He made sure that hotel honored all our requests about the room (high floor, ocean view...) I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in the suite tower and enjoyed the living room and separate kitchen. The pools were truly beautiful. Lots of lounge chairs, chaises, covered units(no charge). It is a magical resort. The oceanfront was beautiful from so many angles. Housekeeping was very accomodating. The staff, esp the valet personnel, were so welcoming. We were always greeted by all the staff. They are friendly and so professional. Kudos to Marriott. We want to go back.

Room Tip: Get an oceanview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a spa suite in November for 5 nights to celebrate my 50th. We loved having a private hot tub on the very large balcony which was ocean front. The only problem was that the music from the weddings and parties that were held in their banquet room was really loud and annoying. The bass just went right through the room (even with a noise machine and the tv on). We did complain to the manager who was very understanding and offered to move us, but then we would have lost the hot tub. We decided to put up with the noise rather than change rooms. I think the majority of the parties are on the weekends, so it might not be a problem if you stay during the week. The hotel itself is very modern and we loved the lobby lounge for cocktails and people watching.

The beach was really nice and kind of private as it is the last beach on the "strip" but there was also a lot of seaweed and debris in the water. We loved jumping the waves and that was one of the main reasons we chose to stay here as opposed to Isle Verde where the water is much calmer.

The gym was great with a beautiful view of the beach and even the little casino was fun.

Tapas at the El Convento hotel was fantastic....if you like tapas, you have to try it. There are stores and restaurants that are close enough to walk to, so we didn't have to rent a car. Overall, we had another great time in Puerto Rico!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff, rooms were clean, spacious, quiet. The only issues i found concerns with were getting housekeeping to clean your room and food/drinks costs were thru the room. Ocean staff were excellent. Concierge desk and valet personnel definitely made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed in the new tower which was nice, but the shower's tile was black with mold and mildew. The pool was nice and the wait staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Would recommend the hotel, but will warn about the rudeness of the casino. Felix at valet was very friendly, high energy, and seemed to really enjoy his job. He made us smile with every interaction. Maybe he can be used to train the casino staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the new tower with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very cool hotel. The lobby is excellent as it opens up to the pool area. The bartenders really care about making a good drink there also,which is important for vacation. The pool area is excellent with multi-levels. The pool area restaurant has excellent food from burgers to salads, and the pool service is top notch. The upstairs restaurant Vogel, has just horrible service with abnormally long wait times. I would highly recommend staying away. Perla, the other restaurant is pricey, but the food and service were top notch. Worth the one special dinner.

Room Tip: Do not choose a city room. It looks like Beruit from the balcony and the noise at night is difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#7 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.