We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Naughty or Nice Package
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Muskego, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The staff at La Concha were some of the most helpful and friendly we have encountered. We ate at three of the four restaurants and all had excellent service and food. The location was perfect for all of our excursions to other parts of the island. Many stores and restaurants were in easy walking distance. The room was quiet and well maintained.

Room Tip: The ocean views in the tower, adults only, are great. Get a spa room if possible. Lower price with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,406
    1,298
    411
    156
    111
See reviews for
889
1,770
113
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanport, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at La Concha from February 14 - 18, 2013. We stayed in the Tower section on the 4th floor in a one bedroom unit with an ocean view. The hotel is centrally located between Isla Verde and Old San Juan. Check in and check out were a breeze. While the "ocean view" wasn't the prettiest in the world due to the decrepitude of some of the nearby buildings, it was nice to be able to sit on the porch and look at the ocean at the beginning and end of every day. The living quarters are comprised of a nice sized bedroom with a very comfortable king sized bed and TV, a fully equipped bathroom and a large kitchenette living area with a small stovetop, large refrigerator, large freezer, table for four, couch and large, flat screen TV. Closet space is ample. Wi-Fi internet access was complimentary and only a bit spotty during the middle of the day. We only ate lunch and dinner at Solera and the meals were delicious. We think that our vodka martinis were a bit watered down, but the Sangria packed a nice punch. I'm happy to stay any place that is warm and has a bed, so I'm a bad judge of hotels. My wife, however, travels a lot all over the world for business, staying in the finest hotels and she had absolutely no qualms with the hotel at all.

The pools are all beautiful, if a bit warm, and the hotel itself is incredibly well kept and clean. The beach isn't like Turks and Caicos, but it has sand, chairs and nice, clean water and that's about all you need at a beach. There were a LOT of kids at the hotel, so it is a family friendly place. Although not a problem for us, they do have an adults only pool area outside the Tower if you need to get away from the noise.

Service at the hotel's restaurants, around the pool and on the beach wasn't noticeably slow. It wasn't as fast as a Chinese restaurant in New York City, mind you, but it wasn't what I would call "island time" slow. We liked the fact that we could actually get out of the hotel and walk along the main thoroughfare, Ashford Drive, to do some food and clothes shopping. Again, not exactly Rodeo Drive, but there are some nice high end shops and we felt very safe wherever we went. We walked through the casino in La Concha several times. It was very active each time and has five or six poker/blackjack tables ($5/$200 and $10/$1000, minimum/maximum) , a couple of roulette tables and a whole load of slot machines (and we noticed a lot of penny slot machines).

La Concha is about a $20 (with tip) from Isla Verde, Old San Juan and the airport. We ate in Old San Juan at Marmalade and Dragonfly Too --- the former being excellent and the latter above average (both expensive) -- and also ate at Metropol in Isla Verde. Metropol is not a fancy-schmancy place, but it came highly recommended from the locals as a reasonably priced spot with excellent local cuisine. It didn't disappoint on either level. While not the gastronomic experience that is Marmalade, I would recommend Metropol just as quickly because of the simplicity and quality of the food. The nice thing about eating in Old San Juan, however, is that you can walk around the beautiful, clean --- and I mean immaculate --- streets and explore the sights for a few hours after dinner. Metropol, by contrast, is located on a major highway and there is really nothing that you can do after you eat, unless you want to visit the cockfighting arena located next door.

Overall, we would have no problem whatsoever staying at La Concha, although we would probably splurge for an oceanfront Tower unit or an ocean view unit on a much higher floor.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower and get an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Only have positive things to say! Wonderful hotel, lovely staff, great location - easy access to airport, old san Juan, etc. we stayed in the new tower and were pleased with our entire stay. We enjoyed dinner one night at la perla restaurant - divine! I suppose the only negative would be the staff in the Italian restaurant on site - the hostess and waitress were so unfriendly that we left and walked around the corner to the Italian restaurant. One tip: go eat at Ben and Jerry's for breakfast. Delicious and super close!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for one night at La Concha after returning from a cruise. The staff was very nice and helpful upon check in. The rooms are nice and I loved the Aveda products in the bathroom. If you looked closely, though, many things in the room were just a bit on the shabby side. There were some kind of air-conditioning units outside our room and it sounded like someone was vaccuuming right outside our door. This sound never stopped during our stay. The elevator was extremely slow. The beach is beautiful, as are the pools. Night life looks very lively but we were too tired to participate. Overall a nice stay, but if I returned I'd probably check out another place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is the second time my wife and I visited PR - years ago we stayed at The Water Club, which was nice, too - but this time we wanted to stay at a place that had more of everything.

We chose La Concha based on the reviews here at Trip Adv. and let me tell you the place doesn't disappoint. The first thing we noticed upon arrival were all the smiling and accommodating staff which remained all the way up until the second we left. The grounds are well kept with a pool or beach accessible at every turn. Our room, 1020, was stunning (see the pictures) and we were instantly hooked at our ocean view - the window opens, too! We ate at the pool side restaurant Solera a lot and the food never disappointed. They have a great cocktail list, but we stuck to the beer and bubbly - PR can be notorious for their weak mixed drinks.

We never ate La Perla, the high-end restaurant on site, but I'm sure it is quite good compared to the quality of food throughout the hotel. The restaurant itself is beautiful with wonderful ocean views, but like I said, we never ate there. We also didn't try the Italian grill or Sushi restaurant there either, but like the above, I'm sure it is good. The high cost of food here, as it is written throughout these reviews, are accurate, but in my opinion the service, view, pools, beach, make it all worth it for me.

The beach is nice and sometimes wavy, but not so much that you'll feel you can't wade in now and then (I'm no swimmer by any means and I spent a lot of time in the water). The pools are great and warm and you should get to the infinity pool a little earlier to keep in the sun, but that's not a big deal at all.

There is service at every point outside and around the resort, servers waiting to take care of you with a smile. We got drinks and food at the beach, pools, etc. and it was always a premium and convenient experience.

There was a good mix of families with small children (we didn't mind although we did escape our own kids for this trip) and travelers young and old and it never felt out of hand. The whole place maintains a good vibe and like I said, the staff is very accommodating.

The area around La Concha is super safe and well located. The $15 cab ride to Old San Juan is easy and convenient. There are many high end shops in the area (Louis Vuitton, Cartier, etc) as well as affordable restaurants and shops on either end of Ashford Ave. We never, ever felt unsafe as there are plenty of police scattered on foot, bike, scooter, cars throughout without making us feel intimidated at all (this is clearly an affluent part of town and they like to keep it that way). I'm a street photographer and I took many solo walking excursions around Condado night and day and felt safe everywhere. Like any other place in the world, be mindful of your surroundings and you should be fine.

There are many Starbucks in the area, on the left (east) and right (west) of Ashford, but I liked the one in the Conrad traveling west as it was less crowded. Going east is nicer as it has a lot of shops along the way and more hotels which made it very crowded every morning.

There are plenty of inexpensive food options around the hotel, so don't feel like you're stuck eating at the resort. We had breakfast and dinner outside every day, but Solera on site was our luxury.

Room Tip: We were on the tenth floor (1020) facing the water so all we heard was the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in the suites tower of this hotel for a week in February 2013 to celebrate our anniversary. The suites are quite comfortable with separate bedroom and living area. The living area contains eating table, chairs, couch, large screen TV, and lighting, a full size fridge with ice maker, a microwave, two burner stove, and all the necessary utensils if you want to prepare a small meal. The bedroom had a king bed, large closet with hangers and safe, large TV, and a nice sized bathroom with large shower and a lot of counter space for two peoples "stuff". Only downside to the bathroom is the walls are frosted glass between the bath and bed rooms. A little tough if one partner need the bathroom in the middle of the night and turns the light on. The balcony had two chairs and a table and look out directly on the ocean which was a nice place to drink your first cup of Puerto Rician Coffee provided in the kitchen area. Walgreens, walking distance, had most of what was needed for a couple of day stay but we took a cab to the SuperMax supermarket to get a few things we could not live without during our week. Lots of places to eat within walking distance. The Police presents in all the tourist districts will make you feel comfortable. We took the city bus (75 cents and the bus stop is right in front of the hotel just catch the 53 or 21 buses and ride like a local) to Old San Juan a couple of time to walk around, shop, and have lunch on the many plazas in downtown. Being Marriott Gold, we used the hotel concierge lounge for breakfast and dinner/dessert, it was quite nice but lots of business going on inside the lounge. The beach was wonderful and the attendants cheerfully put up chairs and umbrellas where you wanted them and wait staff was available if you need a drink or eats while on the the beach. They have a couple of infinity pools available that are bath water temperature (quite nice actually) to lounge in on the days that the ocean was very rough. Almost all the hotels have small casinos if that is your thing. Starbucks is a three block walk down Ashford Ave with sitting out in front and internet access inside....great for afternoon people watching, especially Sunday. We had a great week in Puerto Rico but had to return to a snowy Ohio for the rest of winter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This review is a little late but La Concha deserves the review. I stayed at La Concha in 2012 with 3 other females to celebrate a birthday. We had a wonderful stay. The hotel was quite stunning. The room was very modern and a good size with a queen bed and a full size pull out sofa. The living room TV area was a great space to chill out and relax. The bathroom was quite interesting with the shower on one end and toilet on the other yet privately closed off. The pool area was quite large- get there early to get a chair! Service at the pool for drinks and food was excellent. The staff was amazing! Many thanks to Vladimir and Felix Perez for their great smiles and hospitality!! There are many local restaurants in the area with great food. The casino was fun as well. I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Juan
#2 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.