We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Safe Hotel with Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 46 hotels in San Juan
Des Moines, IA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun, Safe Hotel with Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My Wife and I spent 5 nights at the La Concha San Juan the first week of December. Much of what earlier reviewers mention is accurate; Amazing service, very clean hotel, very well controlled – safe environment and great food. We stayed in an Ocean view suite in the new tower. Beds were very comfortable and it boasts an absolutely beautiful view from the balcony (my favorite spot for morning coffee). It was very cool at night to look to the West and see cruise ships leaving Old San Juan and look to the East and see hotel and restaurant lights illuminate the beach and coast line.
The beach was clean, supported by many lounge chairs, great service for drinks (although we had our own much of the time) and immediately accessible from the hotel. The waves were active during our stay so if you are looking for tranquil water – keep looking. We had fun with it.
We ate at a few of the restaurants (Voga / poolside grill), both were pricey but worth the freight. The casino had all of the basics, good service continued to be the theme. It was never overly crowded during our stay.
This hotel is in a great location. We walked the beach every morning, then walked the city every afternoon. We stopped in many of the surrounding establishments and felt safe the entire time. Cars drive a little fast making crossing the street sometime scary but otherwise very safe.
Great hotel, great experience, I am a new fan of La Concha and San Juan in general.

Room Tip: Can go wrong with the Oceanview suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,844 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,077
    1,146
    375
    141
    105
See reviews for
782
1593
107
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had our wedding and reception here.

Ceremony was @ the beach and cocktails were by the pool. Reception was on the 12th floor in Salon Mirador. Our guests loved everything from the location to the food. We worked with Fabiola Cruz and I communicated with her 98% via email since I am in Chicago. She for the most part was responsive whenever I had a question. The venue is beautiful and Mirador is all glass and overlooks the beach and there is a nice terrace to hang out on. There is also a private bathroom that isn't shared.

Food portions were large. I think our guests were full after the crab cake appetizer. We did everything ala carte which worked better for us. We didn't do open bar, paid for alcohol consumed because only 70% of our guests drank. My only complaint was my fish was undercooked and had bones in it so I sent it back. The brought me a new fish and it was perfect. Thankfully none of the guests experienced this. The steak option, everyone said was great and HUGE. The truffle risotto was cooked to perfection.

Everyone loved the location being that it is in the middle of Condado, on the beach. The rooms were also very nice. Luz was great to work with with the room block. Only complaint was that house keeping sometimes didn't do a great job with cleaning or making the beds.

LaConcha is a beautiful hotel, friendly staff and great food! It's clean and hip and trendy. It was perfect for our wedding reception. Thanks so much Fabiola! Our wedding was beautiful and I'm glad we decided to have our wedding here.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room and in the new tower side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

we stayed and loved it! Compared to all the other high end places we stayed in Peurto Rico, this was the best. Customer service was amazing, staff were great and our room was awesome! Beach is great right outside our room!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The rooms are spacious, the hotel lobby plays great music and the atmosphere late at night is fun,fun! loved the easy access to the beach and the comfortable beds outside perfect for a relaxing nap after a night out.
Felix at the front door was just wonderful! always in a great mood and full of great suggestions to
make it an awesome trip! Thank you Felix!

Room Tip: ask for a high floor the view of the beach is a great way to wake up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Recently, Nancy and I traveled to San Juan, Puerto Rico, to spend Thanksgiving. We stayed at La Conch Renaissance Resort in San Juan. This was our seventh or eighth stay and it was a WOW- better than ever!

If you are heading to San Juan and want to be on the ocean, close to the heart of the City, or just relax in a beautiful environment, this is the place! By the way, we are golfers and found you can be on several nearby spectacular courses quite easily from this hotel’s central location.

Located on Ashford Avenue, this hotel is a welcoming oasis among a sea of cookie cutter properties. When one arrives, the greeting is warm, genuine and effusive from the high energy door persons (recognizing you, they say “welcome home” instead of “welcome back” - a really great touch).

At La Concha one person handles the bags from the start (not a cast of thousands), escorts you to the front desk, and then brings you and your bags to your room. Along the way and up the elevator, they will brief you thoroughly on the hotel and its attractions as well as the local gossip, or, alternatively, both.

There is a terrific water feature right by the front door entrance. At night it is amazing, but when you first arrive it instantly begins to put you into a state of relaxation. One also begins to realize that music is playing everywhere, and it is definitely not elevator music.

The Lobby is bright and cool. When we arrived, there were Christmas Decorations and Christmas Trees (white) everywhere. (You have to ask a local about the Christmas Holiday in Puerto Rico. They really know how to keep Christmas!) Nifty lobby bar area that leads outside to the pool atrium area, which is awash in giant Palm trees, palm fronds and plantings that are straight out of a Steven Spielberg Movie. (In fact, when you are in the pool atrium area at night, have a Mojito and you will swear you are in a movie set).

The Atrium and the adjacent Ocean are probably the most romantic settings in the evening anywhere in the Caribbean. Should you choose to walk out of the Atrium to stroll the beach; the sound of the waves will provide a backdrop that is breathtaking in its beauty.

And oh yes, one swims in a cove in front of the hotel that is protected from the surf (doesn’t everyone?).

Reception is one of the best. Knowledgeable staff, well trained, friendly and engaged. They truly seem to be delighted you are staying at the hotel (in fact, all the staff seems to be happy that you are a guest at La Concha-isn’t that refreshing?) Reception takes you through the formalities personably and you are off to your room.

If you haven’t already done so, request an oceanfront suite in the Tower, when you check in. Believe me, whatever the charge you will not regret it. The suites (and the rooms) facing the ocean have sliding glass doors. At night you can open them and listen to the ocean’s lullaby. This is why you came to Puerto Rico in the first place, isn’t it?

The suites are spectacular, with fridge, stove top, spacious living room, a really easy coffee maker with which to make coffee, bedroom with bath and a patio ensuite. Bathrooms are spacious, airy and modern with a rainfall shower and plenty of towels. Amenities are terrific and include mouthwash, which I always forget. Of course, the suite has Wi-Fi, gigantic flat screen TVS and stereo radios that will play your IPOD or MP3. So, your choice, if you want to stay connected or just kick back. (By the way, cell phone connection is terrific in Puerto Rico just about anywhere you chose to go).

Restaurants in the hotel are excellent. You have La Perla, the upscale restaurant on the mezzanine overlooking the ocean-well worth drinks and dinner one night (great wine list and seafood), The Italian Restaurant on the Mezzanine (can’t remember the name, but great food and you can dine on the patio at night overlooking the pool atrium area) and our favorite, Solera, the restaurant in the atrium pool area.

Now this restaurant by the pool isn’t just your ordinary restaurant. Not by a longshot. It offers Sushi (from the Sushi Bar, tucked in the corner of the atrium), local Puerto Rican specialties and other plates served in a Tapas format. They serve a wicked good Mojito (ask for the double, it saves time) and we strongly recommend at least a couple doubles on the first night if you are looking to unwind. Have a couple of the Tapas plates and listen to the song of the Coqui, the Puerto Rican Tree Frog (it is enchanting).

Nights in the pool atrium area are extraordinary . People watching (yes people come down to swim at all hours) is fascinating and on weekends there is live music. Toutes San Juan and tourists alike come to see and be seen and the air is full of besos and embrazos. Puerto Ricans in particular are people who love and thoroughly enjoy life. If you can smile, you will fit in.

And the people? Well, we saw geezers like ourselves unwinding and having a great time, as well as young and very young people dancing, listening to the music and chatting up a storm. If you decide to take it down a notch in the hotel, the lobby bar is a great place for a Margarita or, a final-final Mojito. Amazingly, this is also a business hotel with meetings and receptions. Incredibly, the two worlds-relaxed resort and business meetings never seem to get in each other’s way thanks to someone who knew how to design a hotel. Folks with briefcases ride down the elevators in the morning next to people in bathing suits. Typically, most are smiling and everyone is in a good mood.

Now I happen to be a very severe critic of hotel breakfasts because they are, to me, such a critical meal to get the day started right. Well La Concha gets it right. You can do off the menu, or you can partake of a spectacular buffet, that includes all the bells and whistles (presented in really nifty ways-so everything stays fresh-hot or cold, as appropriate. One really gets to enjoy the buffet items).

Ask for a patio table for breakfast, and if Luis is available ask for him as your waiter (he is from Mexico, but that is another story). The coffee is Puerto Rican and is addictive. Also, if you have a sweet tooth (as does most of Puerto Rico) lots of goodies to sample at the buffet. There is also an omelet station on the patio where you can get, literally, just about any type of combination you could imagine.

I have already noted that the staff are by far the best trained and friendliest I have ever experienced in Puerto Rico. Make a minimum effort to engage them and they will respond wonderfully. They are immensely proud of their hotel and their island; let them tell you.

So, if you have been coming to Puerto Rico for twenty five years, like some of us, La Concha will revive and refresh you as well as coddle you when you choose to relax. If this is your first trip to San Juan or Puerto Rico, you just can’t go wrong with this hotel. It will spoil you forever.

One thing it will never do, in my judgment, is let you down.

Room Tip: Try for an oceanfront.room. But guess what, if you wind up looking at the City, it will be spectacul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My room was fabulous and the view was excellent. The staff were all very accomodating, helpfull and friendly.

Not a lot of pool area especially in the sun at this time of year anyway. Not the best beach but still decent.

Room Tip: Walgreens is a 5 min walk away. Not sure if there are better oceanview rooms but my room on the we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Have stayed in this hotel several times and found it relaxing, fun and comfortable. The only down side to it is that there is a noisy road in front of the hotel and all the room doors point to that street. In the 1950's when it was built they did not have the ultra noisy stereos and cars with no exhaust mufflers so the design was fine. today they need to come up with sound proofing for the doors.
Thursday night in the lobby is a blast--Nightclub night!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#5 Family Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Marriott, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.