We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC to P.R. 11-27 to 12-02-12” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 47 hotels in San Juan
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“NYC to P.R. 11-27 to 12-02-12”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great stay at La Concha. Professional managers and friendly staff. Centrally located with-in easy walking distance to bars, restaurants and shopping. The view from the oceanfront upper floor balcony was spectacular. The beach was nice, and the Big waves were fun!! The Resort's Latin sliders were awesome. Puerto Rican foods, along with Pinkys, Buns, Dunkin Donut's, Unos, Starbucks, Wendy's, and Burger King are all available nearby.

Special thanks to Mgr. Orlando Hernandez, Supv. Hector Davila, Great Job Gentlemen.
Thank you to the classy men and women, working the front desk and lobby bar, particularlly Mr. Alejandro Garcia. Thank you to the people who cleaned room 1155 during this time period. GRACIA'S

Room Tip: Less street noise on the upper floors beach side. Off resort restrooms need attention, upscale as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,010 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,170
    1,195
    386
    150
    109
See reviews for
834
1643
109
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just came back from a few days in Puerto Rico where I stayed in three different Marriott owned hotels. I have to say that this one really impressed us. The contemporary style was very attractive and sleek. We were allowed to check in early and were automatically upgraded to a pool view. The adult pool was very relaxing and the breath taking views made for some very cool pictures.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently stated at this hotel. We are a family of 5. The one bedroom suite was great. Our children enjoyed the hotel pools. The beach was a bit rough but still beautiful. We love the location as it is within walking distance to restaurants and entertainment. The down side? Some staff member were extremely rude. Front office guy refused to start check-in process because my husband was still talking with valet parker and figuring out luggage. But the worst was a security man named Carmelo Matos. He didn't want to let us take a picture of our children in a terrace with ocean views because the area was for 15+. I do need to mention that it was 7:30am, there was no one in the area and we were wearing jeans. We explained to him that we only wanted to have a picture taken and that we would leave as we understand rules. This man raised his voice to us, saying that we needed to leave and learn to read signs. He was so ride and ridiculous that it turned funny. We did take the picture and left. For the future, as a person representing the hospitality industry and the island of Puerto Rico (who desperately need tourists), he should work on courtesy and tell to people who only want to take a picture Ina pool/terrace area that is empty, that "it is not allowed but please, make it quick to avoid any troubles".
I do have to say that the bellman and valet parking staff is THE BEST I have even met. Those guys are helpful and friendly. Tips are well earned.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We are a retired couple from Maine who have always enjoyed PR. This was our first time at La Concha. What a find. Louis Cortes at the front desk was so helpful and welcoming upon our arrival. We were so pleased with our beautiful suite overlooking the ocean. During the week, Frankie, the concierge, gave us so many wonderful dining tips. All of his recommendations were spot on, especially the dinner that we had at Rosa de Triana in Old San Juan. Delicious spanish food in a most charming cave like dining room accompanied by stunning flamenco dancers. The beach attendants were always very helpful with umbrella and towels as was the server who brought us drinks and snacks as we lounged.
Our first night's dinner, Halloween night, was in Voga, and servers were in costume. Very fun! Overall, it was more than we anticipated and we would definitely recommend La Concha as a fun, beautifully landscaped resort with great pools, relaxing hotel where exceptional service is a part of the experience. Thank you Orlando Hernandez and to all of your staff. We will see you again.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor of the south tower in a corner suite and it was perfect. Our room was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

First person we met was Victor Rodriguez at the Concierge desk, and our 3 night stay prior to our 7 day cruise began with his capable and patient assistance in acquainjting us with this remarkable property. We are Marriott owners at KoOlina, Oahu, and always prefer their properties. It was our first stay at a Rennaissance property and it will not be our last. You can view the site on the web, and it is a faithful rendition. We choose to acknowledge some of their folks who made our stay unforgettable. We hope the managers of the property continue to attract and maintain such high quality people going forward. In no particular order, we thank the following 12 Star employees........ Ana Marina Lara, Lorimar Ramos, Ms. Rivera, Ms. J. Rivera [servers]; Katarina [Extraordinary Maid rm. 854]; Linette Bauzo [front desk]; Willfred [sp?] Lobby bar. But for you and your colleagues, this hotel would not thrive. God Bless you all! T&B Waggoner; Ventura County, CA.

Room Tip: We ere in an ocean-facing suite, but any ocean-facing room [north] is worth the price. Big Reason? T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My boyfriend's already reviewed this hotel, but I have to chime in because the experience was so fantastic. I was totally expecting a large, impersonal resort. But at check-in, manager Orlando Hernandez came out to greet us personally and even got my last name right (even though he used it on my boyfriend). Throughout our stay, Orlando was super helpful and even helped me track down some souvenirs I hadn't been able to find. The front desk staff was always there waiting to help when the concierge was busy and were also very helpful.

I especially loved the super fluffy robes in the room and all the towels. The dual shower was pretty awesome, too.

The only negative thing I have to say -- and this isn't unique to La Concha but happens with most of the resorts and hotels on the island -- is what's up with the resort fee? You're already paying a ton of money to stay somewhere, then you get socked with a $50-60 fee on top of that. I'd rather just have it built into the room rate.

Overall, though, fab stay and I'd put it top on my list next time we're in San Juan.

Room Tip: Get a high room that overlooks the pools and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
profgjay
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I would give this resort hotel a "10" if I could. From the moment we checked in, the staff was attentive, helpful, and incredibly friendly. My jaw dropped when I walked into our One bedroom King Corner Suite on the sixth floor, with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the beach and ocean. The decor is very stylish and yet comfortable. You have your choice of three swimming pool areas, including the adults only, which we loved. It's in a quiet spot overlooking the sea and has its own bathrooms and a gate to the sea. The location is ideal: walk out the front door and there's lots of restaurants and shops in Condado to enjoy, or a ten minute taxi ride to Old Town. We've traveled A LOT, and all agreed this is one of the great places to stay.

Room Tip: Book a one bedroom king suite in the corner of the original tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#5 Family Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.