We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 47 hotels in San Juan
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice resort hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had reserved a junior suite for our last night in Puerto Rico and were pleasantly surprised at an upgrade to a full suite. The hotel is on the beach with a spectacular view. It is well appointed, the staff is very good and you get exactly what you should expect from this type of hotel. We didn't visit the casino so I can't comment on that. if you want all the trimmings, rather than a more local experience, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,929 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,125
    1,173
    380
    145
    106
See reviews for
805
1619
109
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very impressed with La Concha. EVERY member of the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, which is evident as soon as you walk in the chic 50s Modernist lobby, with red chairs and lots of glass and a bustling bar right in the middle. It opens to a lushly landscaped pool.

My 1BR king in the suites tower was perfect: Balcony with table and two chairs overlooking the ocean. Even with the patio door closed at night, I could hear the soothing waves. The bed and linens were the most comfortable I've ever experienced in a hotel. Two TVs, functional (maybe a little dark) living/dining/kitchen area, large and nicely appointed bathroom. In-room safe and large closet.

Very minor downsides were the slow elevator service (only two for this building, so I took the stairs to/from the 7th floor and got points for exercise) and the desk the had small dark spots in the blonde wood. Seriously, those are two small issues.

The beach is part of a small public park with many palm trees and is right near a stone jetty which keeps the water a little calmer. Plenty of beach chaises and umbrellas with beach bar service. Beaches in Puerto Rico are public, but plenty of room all around. There are several lovely pools but I did not swim in them. The large pool off the lobby is surrounded by gardens and cushioned couches and tables/umbrellas for patio cafe service.

My son was staying with his college team down the street at the Conrad Hotel, and from what I could tell, I'm really glad we chose La Concha.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had the most wonderful wedding at La Concha on November 11, 2012. We could not have asked for a more beautiful location -- and with such exceptional service. My husband and I are in NYC and organized everything via email and phone calls with Jessica Rivera and Luz Gonzales-- every detail was exactly what we wanted and much, much more. The team at La Concha made everything so easy and was so prompt with all communication.
La Concha is so beautiful, but also has a very relaxed atmosphere, which we really loved. The food was amazing, the pools and rooms beautiful and the service outstanding.
Our ceremony and reception would never have been what it was without the following people at La Concha- everyone was so kind, professional and organized. We cannot thank them enough for everything.
- Jessica Rivera
- Luz Gonzalez
- Johanna Colon
- George Rivera
- Javier Medina
- Jorge Padille
- Glenda
- Juan Hernandez

Thank you for everything! We will never forget this special day.
Gina and Yoann

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is lovely, the rooms are spacious and the view of the ocean is spectacular. The staff is friendly and helpful, particular thanks to our servers at the main pool: Carlos and Ricardo. Also to our bartender Jonathan at the main lobby bar! The restaurants are excellent and provide options for healthy dining. The location affords you the opportunity to walk to many excellent restaurants and shops. It is convenient to Old San Juan and the airport. Our only criticism was the lack of a in house spa.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Much thanks to Héctor Torres for making mine and my wife's experience exceptional while eating dinner in Solera at La Concha. He made great recommendations on food and was very friendly. The food was of great quality and the drinks were equally as good. We appreciated the helpful and friendly staff and will definitely return to Solera on our next trip to PR!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is right on the beach - exactly what I was looking for since I was only there for 3 days. The concierge staff was so helpful! I didnt need to do any thinking or planning. Every place Frankie referred us to was well worth our time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We had an amazing time relaxing at the hotel... So many different "zones" from beach, to the pools to the hot tub. However, our highlight was Carlos Alverez, waiter upstairs. He hooked us up with great drinks, awesome island recommendations, and overall great ambassador for the hotel. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel

Address: 1077 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Juan
#3 Business Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#5 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the La Concha Resort experience, the stunning renovation of one of San Juan's most elegantly chic properties. On a sun-drenched corner of Caribbean beachfront in San Juan's most prestigious Condado district, La Concha is an icon of modernist architecture replete with spacious exhilarating decor and detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Concha Hotel Renaissance
Renaissance San Juan
San Juan Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Concha Resort: A Renaissance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.